We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an outstanding hotel !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Ranked #32 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I've travelled a reasonable amount throughout Australia and this Hotel would have to rate at the top of the lot, it's fantastic ! Right from the booking service all the way through to checking out, it's been a very pleasing experience each and every time. I stayed on the 21st floor which was quiet and the bed was really comfortable. Very roomy apartment (I got the 1 b/r Exec version) in a great location, nice and handy to everything in the CBD. I've never felt the urge to write a review before, that's how good this place is !

Room Tip: go for a high floor
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thestump1469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,164)
There are newer reviews for Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,795 - 1,799 of 2,164 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

if you want a kitchenette style hotel room - this is a great place to stay. Only complaints are that the bed's a little too hard, the room feels just a little bit sterile and there's a lot of work for the service guys to do which makes for average service.
Don't get me wrong, many would love the sterile environment, so maybe it's just me.
Definitely would stay here again if I was after something with a kitchenette if it wasn't for the bed (which may be fine for most).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

clean and good condition, also great location to see town.

Room Tip: walk to eat in china town
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pure_jagerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The hotel itself was good. Exactly what you would expect. I was shocked by the customer service I recieved! I would never stay there again. Customer Service is so important to me as the hotel staff have the ability to make a good stay a fantastic one! No one cares about you. Receptionist's can't even answer basic questions like what should I do in Melbourne or where is the closest Vodafone store! When you walk past the front desk no one even looks up at you or says Hello. I wrote a letter of feedback to management and I did not recieve a reply (at this stage I am not suprised). I wouldnt stay here if someone payed me to.

In case you are interested here is the letter I wrote:
I recently stayed at your hotel between the $%# Dec until the %^# Jan and I would like to pass on some feedback.

Firstly you have a wonderful hotel. The decor and facilities are really excellent. The room was exactly what I expected and it was lovely. What disappointed me on this stay was the service I received. When looking for accommodation the room and facilities are important however I believe it is the service you receive that really makes an excellent stay. I chose your hotel because I know your brand represents a quality product and I was impressed that it was rated 4 and a half stars. But overall.. To be honest I have received better service in three star properties.

Before arrival I sent an email to the hotel requesting a high floor 20 or above. I received a response that was generic (which i do understand as you probably get many emails regarding requests) which stated we can not guarantee anything however we will do our best. Upon check in we asked if our request was granted and the receptionist stated the room type we booked only went up to level 11. This was one of my first impressions of the hotel and I was very disappointed. I do not think it would have taken any more time to simply reply to my email and inform me that it was not possible.

The receptionist who check us is was not very friendly, he was polite but never smiled and sounded very miserable. However he was nice enough to move us from the 8th floor to the 11th when he found out about our request.

After dropping our bags in our room I visited reception again and asked where the closest Vodafone store is. It took to receptionist 15mins to tell me the nearest one is on the corner of Bourke St Mall! That was really ridiculous. How can a front office team member not be aware of a telecommunications store that is literary down the road from the hotel. Other questions I asked during the stay weren't answered that well either. When I asked a receptionist what is the one thing i have to do while i am here, she told me all about the Tutankhamen exhibit at the museum and sold the idea to me! however after 5 minutes of telling me how amazing it is she looked it up on the website and realised the exhibition closed about a month ago. Simply asking for an email address of the General Manager to pass on feedback seems to be too hard to answer as well as I have recieved three different responces!

On New years day we were fairly tired from a long day out, we had a late lunch and wanted to order room service at about 9pm. When i called to order, the GSA informed me that room service was not available as the restaurant was shut. I do understand that its a public holiday but I really wish I was informed about it earlier.

The day after new years day we left the room at 9am and returned at 6pm to find that our room wasn't refreshed. I called front office and they informed me that it was a public holiday and so housekeeping are not working. Once again there was no communication about this. At this point i was furious. The receptionist didn't even offer to have any towels sent up stairs! There was no thought of how can I mend the situation.

I have not written this email for any other reason other than the fact that I work in the Hospitality industry and I realise how important feedback is as this is the only way you can improve. I hope this email will enforce some changes. As for me I am deeply put off staying at your property again nor will i recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: My room faced the wall of another building.. and in my opnion the room is 100 times better then the...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Taronish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suitdude30, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Taronish,

Thank you your recent feedback, and for choosing Citadines on Bourke Melbourne as your “home away from home”.

After receiving your review, we have investigated the concerns which you raised with the relevant staff members concerned.

We share your disappointment that our service fell short of your expectations, particularly as our Guest Service team has received numerous commendations for their friendly professionalism.

Please be assured that your experience is not characteristic of our usual high standard and I am sorry this wasn’t highlighted during the stay so we could address immediately. Nonetheless, we have taken the opportunity presented by your feedback to review the training and supervision of the staff involved as your experience certainly fell short of both your and our expectations. As a serviced residence, we offer daily housekeeping except on Sundays and public holidays, and this was advised to all guests through notices placed on our reception desk.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed other aspects of your stay, particularly the design and facilities of our new property. I invite you to contact me directly when planning your next visit to Melbourne so that I may take personal care of your arrangements.

Thank you once again for your support of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart’Hotel, and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future


Kind regards,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Citadine on Bourke is a tall slender building that fits in between the high rises of Bourke Street. You're more likely to get a view of rooftops of adjacent buildings than majestic views of Melbourne, but if you're only here for a couple of nights as we were then this shouldn't matter. More important are the clean, simple rooms, plenty of space for luggage, comfortable bed, kitchenette for making tea and breakfast and spacious shower. No opening windows unfortunately, but the aircon was quiet and not dessicating like some. Check in/out was fuss free but room hadn't been cleaned by 3pm, which we put down to being on a high floor. Overall this is an ideal base for a short stay in Melbourne at less than $200 per night.

Room Tip: High floor rooms reduce the noise of busy Bourke Street.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lakelogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,542 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
1,875 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 160 in Melbourne
2,274 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $158 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke is the epitome of Melbourne; vibrant and modern. Located in the heart of the city, the Apart’hotel is in the perfect location to experience all the world’s most livable city has to offer. Enjoy some retail therapy in the Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne Central and Emporium Melbourne; discover the magic of Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) and Rod Laver Arena with the Australian Football league (AFL), cricket, tennis, as well as world-class concerts. Relax and take a culinary journey with Melbourne’s unique dining experiences, all this and more, right on your doorstep. Though if it’s business that brings you to town, Citadines is located close to Parliament House, Collins Street and the SX1 and SX2 buildings, right within the Central Business District. Citadines boasts 380 serviced apartments, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchenettes and modern amenities. At Citadines, you will have the privacy of your own apartment, while enjoying the convenience of a hotel. The property also features a fully-equipped gym, indoor pool, sauna and outdoor sundeck; as well as conference and meeting rooms, business corner and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing