We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #24 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Modern Hotel, good location”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

A very comfortable hotel with sylish room and around the corner from the Southbank restaurants. Just be careful not to get lost in the maze of the casino orientated complex.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iandsops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,155
    1,108
    315
    120
    69
See reviews for
638
1,519
124
825
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a lovely new hotel in a good location, the rooms are very modern, the bathroom is visible to the lounge room for those that are so inclined. Great gym and pool area and view from it !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passport_Stamps2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I was in Melbourne on business and spent 4 nights at this hotel. I was on the 26th floor with an amazing view over the city. The room was to very high quality (I do not need a bath like some other reviewers).

My room included breakfast each morning on 28th floor where the food and staff were really good.

I had room servcie one night and again was impressed with the quality of the food.

I have one complaint and I hope the GM takes note. I still find it incredible that hotels charge for WIFI and in a world where you have a smartphone and a laptop (and an ipad as well in my case) that the hotel expects you to pay per individual device per day. Metropol like your hotel but find your WIFI policy a rip off!!!!!!!!!!!! For an International Visitor like myself we need better rates and per room or better free!!!

PS on 26th floor smell of chlorine for pool above was a little overwhelming in hallways.

Would have given you an excellent but for two items above

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhysjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a fantastic hotel with a comforting cool feel to the entire property. Fantastic service, great atmosphere and decor, delicious food, inviting rooms and an ideal location prove to be a perfect mix for the Metropol.

The hotel provides easy access to the Crown Palladium where an event was being held that my group and I were attending. The walk to the Southbank fine dining cuisine area is approximately 5minutes with great shops along the way.

The hotel provided a beautiful breakfast and just a near perfect experience. Our one concern is that the entire hotel is decked out in dark colours, from the carpets, the marble and the walls. This on its own is fine but my partner found that lighting in the toilet of the room was not bright enough, because of the dark tones, and she found it difficult to apply makeup.

Overall I definitely recommend you stay at this hotel as you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Recommend rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loz-1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed here for one night with my teenage daughter and her friend. We got a very good price that included a buffet breakfast at Mr Hives Restaurant (which I wasn't very impressed with as the staff are unfriendly and the food was cold) The rooms are great, very clean and comfortable. The room service is very over priced, would be the only other negative, other than that it was great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#25 of 159 in Melbourne
2,376 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,263 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#80 of 159 in Melbourne
1,438 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Property: Crown Metropol Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $208 - $545
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne
Crown Metropol Melbourne Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing