We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An entertaining and enlightening tour of Melbourne - a new appreciation learnt for street art”

Melbourne Street Tours
Ranked #42 of 296 Tours in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Melbourne Street Tours is the first tour company in Australia to be run by artists. Our tours provide an overview of the Melbourne underground street art scene and each tour is led by one of Melbourne’s elite street art stars. With local knowledge on just about everything, our guides will treat you to some of Melbourne’s best hidden treasures. Our CBD STREET ART TOUR, takes you on a journey through the city’s, both famous and secret laneways to explore the CBD’s vibrant art offerings. The tour finishes with an exclusive visit to the famous Blender Studios in Docklands where guests can explore our huge art warehouse. Date: Tue, Thr, Sat. Time: 1:30 – 4:30 Tour includes: Beer, Wine or Soft drink and a Cheese platter at the Studios. Our FITZROY STREET ART TOUR, offers an exciting new look into the colourful and alternative urban hubs of Collingwood and Fitzroy. Street after street is dripping with paint. Discover the huge outdoor street art gallery that Melbourne’s trendiest district has to offer and delve even deeper into our City’s incredible secret urban art culture. Date: Saturday Time: 11am-1.30pm Includes: Coffee, Beer or Softdrink at Young Bloods Diner in the Rose Street Artist Markets The STREET ART WORKSHOP is perfect for beginners wanting to learn the basics of stencil creation and spray painting. Designed by street artists to give you a chance to experience working within these mediums under the guidance of a renowned stencil artist. Dates: First Saturday of each month Time: 10am - 12.30pm Includes: All materials
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We were lucky enough to get Dan as our guide. Thoroughly knowledgeable and entertaining he made the laneways come alive and introduced us to the works and names of many different artists. We've now got a new appreciation and understanding of this genre. The additional touches of refreshments and tour of the studio was also great. Good luck in your new space at Docklands.

Thank Naomi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne S, Manager at Melbourne Street Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thanks Naomi! The new Docklands space is looking fantastic now and our gallery is opening soon as well. Exciting times at Blender :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"blender studios"
in 66 reviews
"street artists"
in 23 reviews
"art scene"
in 10 reviews
"tour yesterday"
in 6 reviews
"lane ways"
in 14 reviews
"great tour"
in 21 reviews
"guide david"
in 4 reviews
"studio space"
in 3 reviews
"franklin st"
in 3 reviews
"artists working"
in 3 reviews
"great insight"
in 8 reviews
"local artists"
in 4 reviews
"eye opening"
in 4 reviews
"great street art"
in 3 reviews
"highly recommend the tour"
in 3 reviews
"first hand"
in 3 reviews
"walking tour"
in 10 reviews
Filter

60 - 64 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We did the tour with Dan, travelling through the subways and back alleys of Melbourne viewing a huge variety of street art. Getting this tour from someone with real experience as an artist makes for an authentic experience. There was lots of discussion, we learnt a lot and definitely saw pieces we would have missed on our own. Finishing off at Blender studios was a special touch, so good to see the work of a range of artists in their own studio space. Thanks!

Thank 179emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne S, Manager at Melbourne Street Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Hey Emma, thanks for coming along on the tour! Glad to hear you got something out of your experience. Working exclusively with street artists as our tour guides also helps support the artists and give back to the urban art scene that gives the public so much :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Such a great tour and a wonderful way to see Melbourne. I have done their city lane ways tour and now the new Fitzroy tour and I'd say if you are from overseas and only get to do one - do the city one - but if you want something a bit more raw and edgy do the Fitzroy one. Both are EXCELLENT - the guides are all street artists themselves and it takes you on a deeper level of Melbourne you wouldn't get to see or feel otherwise.I often give it as a birthday gift as we all need less stuff from China and I do love these tours so much.

Thank olivepopeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne S, Manager at Melbourne Street Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Hey Olive - that's fantastic! Sounds like you're a real fan so thanks so much for stopping in here on TripAdvisor to leave us such a lovely review. We would like to thank you for your ongoing custom!! All the best xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Our guide Daniel (Junky) met us at our motel and proceeded to take us into the lane-ways of Melbourne. There was a lot of walking done and heaps of brilliantly interesting bits of information given to us on the art contained in these places.
The history and ongoing changes in the lanes was told and little tips on how to spot special pieces. The mount of awesome stuff he showed and was unbelievable.
We had a solid 2 hours of touring and were continuously blown away buy the excellent information.
Unfortunately the final stop (Blender Studios) was in the process of moving so there was very little to see there. We were the official last visitors to the old space in Franklin St, had our photo taken even. We will be checking out the new digs in Docklands on our next visit.
Cannot recommend this tour highly enough, we loved it.

Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne S, Manager at Melbourne Street Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Hi David - The new space is going really well! We would love to have you back to see the new studio sometime :-) So glad to hear you found the tour and guide Junky Projects so interesting!! Thanks for leaving a review x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

What a fantastic way to see the laneways of Melbourne.. Our tour guide Daniel Lynch (aka Junky) took us on a wondrous adventure walk through the very well known and little known alleyways of his beautiful city. He generously shared his knowledge of local and global street artists in a very enlightened and engaged way ... In future visits I will view Melbourne in a very different way ... and forever look up and down to discover some real gems...

Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne S, Manager at Melbourne Street Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

We often hear that after a street art tour it's impossible to NOT look up, down and all around for more hidden art! Continue your journey of discovery and we hope we've added a dash of inspiration for you along the way :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melbourne Street Tours also viewed

 

Been to Melbourne Street Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing