We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Streetart explained by the street artists”

Melbourne Street Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 55.27*
and up
Melbourne Street Art Tour
More Info
USD 55.27*
and up
Fitzroy Street Art Tour
Ranked #24 of 263 Tours in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Melbourne Street Tours is the first tour company in Australia to be run by artists. Our tours provide an overview of the Melbourne underground street art scene and each tour is led by one of Melbourne’s elite street art stars. With local knowledge on just about everything, our guides will treat you to some of Melbourne’s best hidden treasures. Our CBD STREET ART TOUR, takes you on a journey through the city’s, both famous and secret laneways to explore the CBD’s vibrant art offerings. The tour finishes with an exclusive visit to the famous Blender Studios in Docklands where guests can explore our huge art warehouse. Date: Tue, Thr, Sat. Time: 1:30 – 4:30 Tour includes: Beer, Wine or Soft drink and a Cheese platter at the Studios. Our FITZROY STREET ART TOUR, offers an exciting new look into the colourful and alternative urban hubs of Collingwood and Fitzroy. Street after street is dripping with paint. Discover the huge outdoor street art gallery that Melbourne’s trendiest district has to offer and delve even deeper into our City’s incredible secret urban art culture. Date: Saturday Time: 11am-1.30pm Includes: Coffee, Beer or Softdrink at Young Bloods Diner in the Rose Street Artist Markets The STREET ART WORKSHOP is perfect for beginners wanting to learn the basics of stencil creation and spray painting. Designed by street artists to give you a chance to experience working within these mediums under the guidance of a renowned stencil artist. Dates: First Saturday of each month Time: 10am - 12.30pm Includes: All materials
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Streetart explained by the street artists”
Reviewed 17 January 2017

It was a very interesting walk through the lanes, opening our non expert eyes to the détails, the works you do not spot just walking around alone. @Junky gave us a good insight on what it is all about, what the point of streetart is, and how it evolves in Melbourne, the three in our group could easiy share and the visit to the studio was the opportunity to meet more artists. Had a great time, thanks !

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank maiwennvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne S, Manager at Melbourne Street Tours, responded to this review, 17 May 2017
Thanks for coming along on the tour and thanks for the review! We will pass on your kind words to Junky Projects :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    24
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 15 January 2017

From the minute we met our guide David, right through to the end of the tour, we found him engaging, friendly and extremely informative. My 16yo daughter hasn't stopped talking about the tour since! For her it was the highlight of her stay in Melbourne. Walking the city and seeing the artwork and learning about the history from someone who loves and breathes it makes it so refreshing. You know you're getting value for money and a true interpretation of the environs. To finish the tour at Blender studios was a great way to see where the guides create from and got to meet a few of the artists. Thankyou for an unforgettable tour. Definetely recommend it.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Kerryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne S, Manager at Melbourne Street Tours, responded to this review, 17 May 2017
Hey Kerryl, Thanks so much for coming along on the tour. David is certainly passionate about the street of Melbourne. We love to inspire the younger minds as well so thrilled to hear your 16 year old daughter enjoyed it so much!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Laneways are Alive in Melbourne”
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We knew we really couldn't visit Melbourne without a local taking us around the streets. Melbourne's street artists are world renowned and we were lucky enough to have David as our guide. It was obvious he knows these streets and artists personally. The tour was informative and took us to places we would not have found ourselves. One of the highlights was gaining access to some of the artists working in their studios at Blender, seeing the process was as interesting as the product.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank ArtLoversAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne S, Manager at Melbourne Street Tours, responded to this review, 17 May 2017
Hello ArtLoversAustralia!
Thanks for coming along on the tour, it was a pleasure having you and welcoming you into our studios. Glad to hear you had an informative tour and hopefully lots of fun as well :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Cool way to see the city!”
Reviewed 13 January 2017

With 3 kids its hard to please everyone......they LOVED this tour and workshop.
Our guide was a professional artist with all of the inside scoop on the streets,scene,artists and their works. After the tour the kids enjoyed the workshop and created their own pieces of art in the studio. This tour was a highlight of our trip down under and the artwork is a treasured memory of AU.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank betsy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne S, Manager at Melbourne Street Tours, responded to this review, 17 May 2017
Hey betsy - Glad to hear the kids enjoyed it so much! We actually do lots of tours for school students as well so most of our guides are pretty good at pleasing the younger art lovers in the group :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Private tour of CBD for family of five; three hard-to-please teenagers also enjoyed”
Reviewed 9 January 2017

James was a very good tour guide. A bit shy at first, but then he warmed up to our group. He is a professional artist and street artist, and he has worked in the streets of Melbourne and Brisbane. He talked about the different art scenes, technique, materials, where it is legal and is not, how artists make money, etc. Very informative.

We did a private, 2.5-hour small group tour of the Melbourne Central Business District. It was obviously more expensive that way. But the money is going to a good cause -- to the artists and to the studio to support the artists.

We were able to schedule the private tour with 24-hour notice. Your results may vary.

The tour finished in the studio / gallery, which was in a bit of disarray because it is moving to a new location shortly. But it was still worth it and fun to see where the artists worked.

Our teenagers can be stinkers (you know, depending on the day) about both art and city walking tours. So we were obviously concerned about mashing up the two. But they really enjoyed it and were engaged the whole time.

And I personally enjoyed it, too -- even though in Chicago I am very opposed to graffiti and tagging. In Melbourne, in contrast, street art is legal, generally more artistic, and appreciated. Take the tour and you can find out what the unspoken rule is for when artists can cover other another artist's work...

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank MichaelTheWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne S, Manager at Melbourne Street Tours, responded to this review, 17 May 2017
Hi Michael
Thanks for leaving such a detailed review! Private tours are a good option if you have a limited timeframe or other special requirements :-) I'm glad to hear you got to see the old studios, if you're ever back in Melbourne you should come and see the new studios, they are even bigger than our last space!
Thanks again for the awesome feedback,
All the best
J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melbourne Street Tours also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Melbourne Street Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing