We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quick Lift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
Ranked #24 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Quick Lift”
Reviewed 17 June 2015

We've now stayed at a couple of Art Series Hotels, this was our first time at the Olsen.
Check-in was breezy, front desk is smart and friendly, the lobby was bustling as we were checked into the clerks favourite room.
Arriving in the room it was easy to see why it ranked as a fave, with a night view down Chapel Street, all lit up, our 12th floor room certainly set a mood.
The rooms are a little more subdued than the groups other hotels, Olsen is one of my most admired Australian artists, we landed in a frog room.
Ice in the ice trays would have saved a call to room service, however, room service was at our door within 10 minutes of the call.
Sitting, chatting,gazing down on Chapel Street as the lights slowly meandered like a neon python we sipped our G&Ts, got lost in time together.
The bed was super-comfortable, I slept like a babe (apparently I snore, I doubt it) My bunkbuddy however didn't fair so well in the zzzzzzzs, the constant clatter of the lift regularly breaking her sleep.

Room service breakfast was efficient, the chipolatas weren't the best, but the coffee was good.

GRIPE! We requested a room away from the elevators, ooops.

Room Tip: Levels 11 and 12 have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelcourtenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlsenHotel2015, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 2 July 2015
Hi MichaelCourtenay!

I am very pleased to hear that your arrival experience was an enjoyable one. We always look for special requests for room allocations, so I am sorry to hear we didn't meet yours on this occasion. We love John Olsen's work and it is always lovely to share this with our guests! We hope to see you back soon!

Sarah Garner
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,063
    417
    135
    60
    26
See reviews for
187
671
133
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2015

I'd heard good things about the art series hotel and the Olsen didn't disappoint. It has a great entrance with a giant Olsen painting and prints are hanging throughout the hotel. The room was very comfortable and we had the longest sleep in years!! Great choice of movies and in room snacks and the restaurant downstairs was convenient for breakfast and dinner. It's a bit out of the city but the tram is very nearby and we walked home one day - an easy walk along the river. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herrdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toukley, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2015 via mobile

Such a great location next to so many great eats and shopping! We stayed in room 1105 nice and high room had an amazing view and we'd so well kept.
Pool was really funky and gym was handy and everything modern and up to date.
Only problems we had was my key stopped working a few times was locked out of the room and stranded in the pool area and had to go to reception in my bathers to get it reset. Also we were given terrible directions by someone at the front desk to East Brunswick which left us in a completely unknown neibourhood walking for hours and missing our dinner reservation.
We will defiantly be back South Yarra is such a beautiful place. Enjoyed it much more than staying in the city.
Tip. Go to Zumbo, fancy nance, two birds one stone and einstiens relative just in the laneway next door.

Stayed June 2015, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlsenHotel2015, Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 13 June 2015
Good Morning Sarah-Jane,
I'm so sorry that you had those few issues with the hotel, But i'm glad to hear that you will come back to The Olsen.
I will speak to our Management team and pass onto them the few issues, and will speak to the staff to make sure when they give our directions that they double check them and also print up a map for future guests.
We are lucky to be in such a amazing area of South Yarra. AS you have written there are a large number of places to eat, shop and to just enjoy yourself.

Hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Paul Moylan
Night Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2015

Footy at the MCG and a few nights at the Olsen is a great way to ease into winter in Melbourne. The Olsen is a special place to stay - the rooms are excellent and the employees are so helpful and cooperative. The Olsen is so near all the great shops in South Yarra, Toorak and along Chapel Street. And the nearby nightlife is unbelievable. The Pawn & Co nightclub would be hard to beat in anywhere in the world. Keep it up.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buraq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlsenHotel2015, Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 13 June 2015
Good Morning Buraq,

Thank You for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The Olsen Hotel.
It is a great place just to relax before and after watching a game of AFL at the MCG.
I'm so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and i will pass onto Management your thoughts about the hotel & the staff.
Hope to see you around our parts soon.

Kind Regards

Paul Moylan
Night Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2015

Amazing stay at The Olsen. I was travelling for work and its great to find a hotel that I can’t wait to come back to. The service was fantastic and the rooms are very comfortable. Thanks again Hayley for the upgrade and making my stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
2,087 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,085 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Property: Art Series - The Olsen
Address: 637 - 641 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $162 - $356
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Art Series Hotels, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Olsen Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing