We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
192
129
40
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
129
40
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station chapel street great location large balcony bedroom apartment these apartments self catering secure parking public transport washing machine rooms are modern great apartment per night full kitchen botanical gardens a great place to stay comfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Great location next to the train station, service is also friendly and the rooms are really well laid out with a kitchenette and a balcony. Beds are really comfy although some would say too soft and all this comes at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RichardMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PunthillManager, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear RichardMelbourne,

Thank you for your review of Punthill South Yarra Grand and the lovely comment with regard to our staff.

The location of this apartment hotel is amazing with so much of what South Yarra has to offer within walking distance from the property. The team will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodation so suitable for your recent stay in Melbourne.

We do have mattress toppers on our beds which are supposed to make you feel as if you are sleeping on a cloud. We do however understand that everyone’s level of comfort is different and we can very easily remove the topper. Next time you make a reservation, please advise that you do not wish to have the topper on your bed and we will have it removed prior to your arrival.

When you have a moment please visit our website and join our Punthill Rewards program. Once you have joined, you will receive a code which will enable you to access our best available rates, enjoy member priority access to all sale events and you will have free wifi for all future stays.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Well equipped apartment with everything one could need for a stay in Melbourne, in a wonderful area with many good restaurants and travel options a short walk from the hotel. The owners were super friendly and helpful would definitely stay here if we were to visit Melbourne again.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Hammers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PunthillManager, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Hammers19,

Thank you for your feedback – this is exactly what we love to read. The Managers will be pleased to learn you found them super friendly and helpful.

How great is our location..... in the heart of the most amazing eateries, shopping precincts, so convenient to all tourist venues and access to the CBD.

When you have a moment please visit our website and join our Punthill Rewards program. We would be more than happy to sign you up if this is something that you would prefer us to do for you. Once you have joined, you will receive a code which will enable you to access our best available rates, enjoy member priority access to all sale events and you will have free wifi for all future stays

We look forward to being able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

This hotel was not for us. The charcoal decor of the room's fixtures and furnishings against white walls might be contemporary but we found the room depressing especially as our room looked onto the neighbouring steel and concrete apartments opposite. The kitchenette with oven, cooktop, microwave etc was handy but there was no table and chairs to sit at to eat a meal, so we had to sit on the bed! As there was no recess for the shower the water spread all over the bathroom floor. Unfortunately we didn't find the bed comfortable either. The mattress topper was great but the mattress seemed to be foam so I tossed and turned as my hips ached on the hard bed night and I didn't get a good night's sleep. The room was very small and cramped with no place to put one's luggage. The staff were great, very helpful, friendly.

Room Tip: As our room was depressing we asked about a city view room but told by staff that the rooms overlooking the train line were noisy
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PunthillManager, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear Gleyns S,

Thank you for your review however I am disappointed that you felt our property was not for you. I note you booked a studio apartment through a 3rd party website. A studio combines the bedroom and living room. I have spoken with the managers who advise they offered to upgrade you to a one bed apt at a minimal fee however as it was for a one night stay you decided against that option.
Studio apartments are excellent value for money and are compact however we believe they have all the inclusions for an enjoyable stay.

On your next visit I suggest you stay in a one bed apartment as they have views loooking toward the CBD or over South Yarra. They are larger in size, have a large balcony and are light and bright.

When you have a moment please visit our website and join our Punthill Rewards program. Once you have joined, you will receive a code which will enable you to access our best available rates, enjoy member priority access to all sale events and you will have free wifi for all future stays.

We do look forward to being able to welcome you back to stay again soon

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

This place is divine!

Fantastic customer service.

Amazing public transport links so if you need to go on the train , it’s right next door, but still quiet enough to not bother you at night.

Will absolutely stay here again when next in Melbourne.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank MissPixieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PunthillManager, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Dear Miss Pixie B,

Thank you for your great review- this is exactly what we love to hear. All staff will be pleased to hear that they contributed to the enjoyment of your stay.

When you have a moment please visit our website and join our Punthill Rewards program. Once you have joined, you will receive a code which will enable you to access our best available rates, enjoy member priority access to all sale events and you will have free wifi for all future stays.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Went to Melbourne for 3 days and this was first time to stay here and was not disappointed. Front office staff were polite, very helpful and friendly. The studio room was comfortable, clean and modern. Close to South Yarra station, trams and good restaurants. Will definitely stay again and would use for business too. Thank you

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank RichardDTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PunthillManager, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Dear RichardDTS,

Thank you for your great review- this is exactly what we love to read!

The team will be pleased to hear that they contributed to the enjoyment of your stay.

When you have a moment please visit our website and join our Punthill Rewards program. Once you have joined, you will receive a code which will enable you to access our best available rates, enjoy member priority access to all sale events and you will have free wifi for all future stays.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews