We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star all the way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #20 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne, victoria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 Star all the way”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed here on business for a couple of nights and could not fault this hotel in the slightest.
King deluxe room was very spacious with lovely modern en-suite. Loved the electric blinds and the bed was exquisitely plush and absolutely amazing! Staff were exceptionally friendly, professional and helpful at all times. Great conference location near Southbank with a superb view of the river and city skyline. Would stay here again anytime.

Room Tip: Room with a City/River view definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsIndependence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travelers!

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spacious deluxe rooms, our lovely beds and of course our great service.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,141
    1,056
    253
    84
    37
See reviews for
459
1,286
204
1,228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (856)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012 via mobile

My partner and I spent 3 days over Easter in a corner Relaxation Suite and were very happy with EVERYTHING - from our arrival, check in, facilities, Executive Lounge and soooooo comfy bed! The floor to ceiling windows do it for me.....watching the sparkle of the city lights to the sun peeping thru as people begin their day on the roads. With the casino over the road and Tramcar Restaurant pick up just a bit further at the corner, we had a totally relaxing time in a luxurious hotel enjoying our wonderful city! We are local, just over the westgate, but don't like the traffic in and about the city on a Fri or Sat night so its less stressful to stay in the Hilton and both be able to drink and enjoy the wonderful food and not have to fight the
traffic. The Hilton is gorgeous, theres something for everyone at this location; shopping, food, entertainment; it just depends on what youre willing to spend. We recommend the Hilton at Southwharf to anyone wanting a break from the day to day busy-ness to relax in sophistication, warmth and elegance.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shala M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
I sincerely appreciate your great review.

I’m sure all your fellow travelers will find this feedback extremely helpful. Thank you for your time. We look forward to welcoming you back to HIlton Melbourne South Wharf soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My husband and I spent 7 nights here over Easter 2012, and we enjoyed our stay. We arrived around dinnertime, and despite pre-paying our entire stay, the King Guest Room we booked was sold out. Fortunately we were upgraded to the next best room, the Deluxe. Not having stayed in a standard room at this hotel, we were unable to compare the two. However, the Deluxe room had an amazing view up the Yarra River to Crown Casino and South Bank Promenade and the Gas Giants put on an amazing show every night.

The Deluxe room was spacious, with a lovely walk-in shower and separate bath, and a toilet behind a privacy door. However, with no door on the shower itself, it was a tad on the cold side in the morning, and had very limited shelving to place toiletries. The adjustable shower head was great, and the mixer tap made it easy to keep it the same temperature every time. Despite having lights on the side, the mirror fogged badly, and it was actually difficult to see well in the mirror with the only real lighting coming from the two on either side of the mirror.

The bed was average, and not what I expected for the price we paid. It was a king mattress on a split-king base, which caused a very large hump in the middle of the bed. I slept on the left side, and found it had a deep hollow, which together with the hump prevented me from getting closer to my husband during the night, and I also had a hard time not rolling right to the edge of the bed (and consequently, off the bed). We had to request a top sheet and a thin blanket as we were supplied only with a heavy and very hot feather quilt and feather pillows (despite requesting a feather-free room when booking), I was grateful I brought my own pillow from home. Housekeeping short-sheeted the bed every time it was changed (four times in our 7 day stay), lowering the blanket and sheet to chest-height so we had to re-make the bed after every change so the bedding came up to our necks! Turn down service is the bomb, though - over the Easter weekend we received baby Lindt gold bunny eggs, and for the remaining nights we received Lindt squares in mint, caramel and dark chocolate. Really nice touch.

The air conditioning was adequate, but the bed would have been better placed in front of the window where the comfy chair was, as it is the coolest location in the room (or warmest, if you need the heat on), and even when the fan was on high, it was not obnoxiously loud, unlike other places we have stayed. The automatic, channelled blockout blind was awesome - the best I have ever encountered. It blocked the light so well, we had difficulty believing it was morning when the alarm went off each day. I loved it so much, we are sourcing one for our bedroom at home when we renovate!

Unlike other Hilton hotels we have stayed at, the lifts were prompt, fast and highly responsive - sometimes they were even waiting for us as we walked up and pressed the button. Rarely did we have more than a 15 second wait! Brilliant.

The ironing board must have been created for little people, because at 5ft 10, it barely came up to my hips and was half the length of a standard board - making it difficult to iron anything. The iron (a Phillips, I believe), however, was one of the best I have ever encountered in a hotel, anywhere we have stayed, even if the steam function was a bit dodgy. Coffee facilities were adequate with instant coffee sachets (both regular and decaffeinated), assorted teas, sweeteners and sugar, and long life milk in the fridge. Real milk was available on request from the Concierge, which was a nice touch. Unlike other places we have stayed, use of the fridge was free, allowing us to store our own cheaply-procured supermarket water (and my insulin) without charge, and we did not have to use the very expensive mini-bar water bottles.

Breakfast was average, especially compared to other Hilton's we have stayed and dined at. The scrambled eggs were tasteless and lukewarm, the poached eggs were cold, the bacon was like wet leather (and the bain-marie it sat in had a broken lid for our entire stay, meaning it was very difficult to serve without putting down one's plate or dropping things), the baked beans were lukewarm, the gluten-free bread was stale and one morning was displayed with mould on it. There was a chunk of gluten-free fruit loaf, but no knife supplied to cut it with (when asked, it took thirty minutes for one to appear, by which time I had finished my breakfast!), and on two of our 7 mornings (over Easter), there was no gluten-free bread at all. The coffee was lukewarm every morning - even the ordered separately long blacks I resorted to were downed in one guzzle. And forget trying to get more than one coffee - we managed it once in 7 days! And there were no gluten free options for waffles or pancakes, and no gluten-free cereals at all. All in all, one of the most disappointing breakfast buffets I have ever encountered at any hotel I have stayed in. We were prepared to give the Kitchen the benefit of the doubt over the Easter long weekend, but nothing changed once the public holidays were over, which was disappointing.

We found the location very good, especially since the function we attended was right next door at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre (MCEC). There's a DFO (Direct Factory Outlets) complex right next door, with some very good shops and an adequate food hall for cheap daytime meals, and there are a number of interesting restaurants in the local vicinity. The on-site restaurant, Nuevo37, was very overpriced with few real choices (especially for those with food allergies like celiac/gluten intolerance) - more cuisine than food. Crown Casino is about a ten minute walk, past the MCEC, and they had a reasonable food hall, expensive restaurants and some mid-range restaurants on the Casino floor. Along the South Bank Promenade were even more restaurants, and visitors are spoiled for choice.

Trams were just a short walk north over the footbridge to Flinders Street (free City Circle and #70 East/West, which both ran to Docklands), or a slightly longer walk down to Clarendon Street (a plethora of trams that run North/South, especially the St Kilda trams, into the CBD), near Crown Casino. The South Wharf Promenade and the South Bank Promenade are both a lovely walk, especially in the cool, Autumn evenings.

All the staff we encountered at The Hilton were cheerful, helpful and caring.Despite its shortcomings, we would have no hesitation in staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Eastern rooms have a great view of Southbank and the Gas Giants on the Crown Promenade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JadziaOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012 via mobile

Overall we had a very good stay at Hilton South Wharf. It was interesting that when we were checking in we were upgraded to the same suite we had booked. Being an HH Honours Gold member we could have booked a standard room for the chance we could have been upgraded to the suite.

The Yarra suite was fantastic, the Magic service attended to all of our needs. Most of all the value of the access to the Executive Lounge was beyond belief. The staff there were very cheery and made us feel valued and at home. Particular thanks to Cara.

We were blown away with out special meal in Nuevo 37. It took us 20 minutes to get through the wine list.

We look forward to visiting really soon!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travelers!

I am glad you enjoyed your stay. With regards to your comment about the upgrade, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be able to investigate this for you.

Once again, thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
656 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012 via mobile

We arrived after a LONG day after flying in from LAX. It was a pleasant surprise to find our room ready at 10 am and the complimentary upgrade. We had access to the executive floor lounge for breakfast, etc. and it is the best we have ever seen around the world at a Hilton. Overall the stay there was absolutely outstanding.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank dil345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,349 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#24 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,052 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,541 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#25 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $191 - $466
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing