We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #20 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb business hotel”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed here for a week while attending the Australian Open on business and had a fantastic experience.

The rooms are of a very high standard with a superb superking bed, excellent blackout curtains and a huge bathroom with both shower and bath and an excellent range of toiletries. The staff here are very attentive and there are some nice extra touches that you don't normally find in a hotel catering mainly for business clients, such as scented gifts left on the bed every day by housekeeping.

The location is a little way out of the centre of Melbourne (maybe a 15 minute walk) so it suits someone who doesn't mind what is a pleasant stroll along the waterfront past the Crown casino to get to the heart of Melbourne. The Olympic Park was approximately a half hour walk.

I ate in the restaurant on a couple of occasions and the food was extremely good but priced as it always is in five star hotels, at least this time it was better than the average food you can sometimes get. The gym is well stocked and very modern.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,183
    1,072
    256
    87
    39
See reviews for
473
1,304
209
1,250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (867)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed here on january 21st with another couple for the Open Tennis. wow, it is a lovely hotel. we received good deals ($225.00 per room) by purchasing a few months ahead on the hotel web site. Arrived to lovely door men and then our checkin was completed by a very friendly and welcoming girl. Our rooms weren't ready as we had arrived mid morming but we were off to the tennis so our bags etc were all ready and waiting in our rooms when we returned from the tennis. We were upgraded to higher level rooms looking out over the Yarra river, so pretty at night. the air conditioning is excellent and the blockout blinds are fantastic for a nice sleep in. the bathroom is spacious with a seperate bath and shower and toilet. lovely bathroom products too. Checkout was easy no problems. we always find that Hilton Hotels are just A1 for customer service. We didnt use the restaurant so can't report on that, we ate out for dinner on southbank which is close by. Overall we all enjoyed our stay very much, and it is nice to see that even when the hotel is busy with a big event on such as the Australian Open, the service and quality of the hotel doesn't suffer. well done hilton.

Room Tip: deal direct with hotel. their web site is really good at explaining your room options. go for a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anny65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that our staff took such good care of you and you found the amenities of the property to your liking. Hope to see you return soon! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My sister and I stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment the night before her wedding. The apartment is smaller than the photos online - the living area is divided into 2 by a couch - one side is a coffee table and TV, the other has a dining table for 4 people and a galley style kitchen. The kitchen contained cutlery, plates, wine and champagne glasses and a dishwasher.
That said, we found the space perfect for our needs. On Saturday the room allowed 4 people to have showers and get ready (2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms), even with the hair stylist, make up artist and photographer there.

Service was terrific, including room service and maid service. They made up the room while we were present and they were very efficient and friendly.

We had dinner in Nuevo 37 and we were all very pleased with the food and service. The hotel bar was buzzing too.

The views over the Yarra and the city are fabulous, especially at night. We spent quite a while gazing out the window watching Crown's fire towers. The location is better than we originally expected - there is a nice place for breakfast or drinks in summer nearby (Boatbuilder's Yard) and it's a 10 minute walk from Crown.

Other family members stayed in bay view rooms on lower floors and I also saw those rooms. They were all of a good size and the views were also great, especially at night. You didn't really notice the West Gate or 'ugliness'.

Room Tip: City view rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Stayed here based on TA reviews.

Short walk from Southern Cross STN. As Hilton Diamond, i booked and on check in was upgraded to the Exec suite. Huge rooms with beautiful fittings. Espresso machine in room.

Huge bathroom, his and hers mirrors, huge bath, great rainfall shower.

Very comfy bed, great pillows.

Excellent gym, and also plenty of access to running tracks along the Yarra river.

The Executive lounge is brilliant! Great breakfast, nice drinks in the evening, business centre. Great views.

I was thoroughly impressed with Hilton SW. I will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed for one night as a treat and we were going on the tram dinner for a friends birthday.

Firstly, parking was easy and we had a spot right in front of the hotel (in the DFO carpark). Yes, the lobby is dark and a little gloomy (but do not let this stop you from booking here). We arrived about an hour or so before check in time and the room was ready to go to straight away (bonus!). Friendly greeting by the staff and all went smoothly. Up we went to level 11, I was a little disappointed at this point, as we had been told it was a 'bay view room' BUT I was really impressed once we entered the room. It had a huge window and really interesting view. My husband spent a fair bit of time watching the cars and gazing out. So don't get too caught up in wanting a 'city view' as I'm sure it's great but our side of the building was just fine too.

I should note, though, that you can hear the traffic hum but it's not intrusive just background white noise, well it was to me and I am used to a very quiet house out in the suburbs.
The room is very spacious with a huge King bed (very comfy and clean) and the decor is modern and calm. The bathroom is very large as other reviewers have mentioned.
It was very quiet and we heard no other guests or staff at any stage.

We walked to the shops in Bourke Street and back quite easily (dodging a thunderstorm and rain) and wandered around in the morning (had breakfast at the Casino food court). It took us maybe 15 mins? But it wasn't a hard slog or anything. We skipped using the gym but it did look really good and we will pack our sports gear again next time.
The 11.00am checkout worked well as DFO opens at 10.00 (closes at 6.00pm).
There is a little convenience store at the bottom for munchies and things but we didn't go in there so not sure on prices etc, but handy to know for next time. And ofcourse, there is DFO and they have a little food court as well.

Checkout went smoothly, the man behind the desk was very friendly and chatting even though we were leaving and he left us with a great feeling and impression of Hilton. We left with smiles on our faces having enjoyed a wonderful night and felt we truly got value for money and then some!

Room Tip: Anything above level 6 or so would be good, both city and bay views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneMum4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your comments. Glad to hear you enjoyed the room and all the other facilities at the hotel. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,475 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 160 in Melbourne
2,289 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#26 of 160 in Melbourne
3,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
7,870 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 160 in Melbourne
2,403 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $130 - $426
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing