We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”
Review of Causeway 353 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Causeway 353 Hotel
Ranked #84 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed four nights and we were pleased with our choice. Room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast included in our price but we didn't eat there as there are so many other wonderful places to try within a stones throw of hotel. What lets this hotel down is the reception area which in my opinion was grubby and the couches need cleaning or replacing. The staff never make eye contact with you when coming or going, though pleasant enough when approached. Overall we were delighted with the location of Causeway 353.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    552
    175
    62
    40
See reviews for
137
472
73
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

First impressions last, and unfortunately the service at the Causeway from check in to check out was poor. Staff appear more suited to staffing the lobby at the local Backpackers. Service was slow and unhelpful. At times it was too difficult for the staff to even grunt at us, let alone smile and say hello. Very disappointing and cold to say the least.

Dont bother with breakfast (even if its complimentary) as it is poor and again the service is lacking, with dishes stacked all around the room and the breakfast bar messy and unattended.

If this was purely based on just the hotel room, then I cant speak highly enough. A nice small quiet clean room, fitted out well made the stay comfortable.

There are certaintly better places to stay for the price.

Unfortunatley, this hotel needs to realise that many people purchase on the quality and level of service by staff received, not just the hotel's four walls.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicole h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We were due to stay in this hotel for 2 weeks but found it a small and cramped. This hotel is clean and well maintained and in an excellent location for the cbd. However for an extended vacation there was barely any closet space for our clothes. The dark decor was depressing and the view from my room of the industrial type building was horrible. We had to move because I was beginning to hate my stay in Melbourne. I would recommend this hotel for business trips only AND NOT FOR FAMILY VACATIONS..However the staff were fine and if you do not mind smaller rooms and black decor and wish to be at the centre of things then this is the hotel for you,

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravens_Wallet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I've stayed here many times.
Being off the main thoroughfares means it is quiet, which is rare for a centrally located hotel.
However, it is only footsteps away from all the shopping action of Melbourne.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuJo-a-GoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and were delighted with this hotel. The king room was perfect for a weekend getaway for two and was great value compared with everything else we saw online. Like most similar acommodation in the city, the rooms aren't huge, but the king sized bed was extremely comfort. The location is great. It's in a lane way which has little cafes open on weekdays. Friday breaky at Barista Espress five doors down was fantastic , and we were out each day, so didn't bother with eating at hotel. DeGraves Lane and a million other wonderful eateries 5 mins walk away , as is Flinders Street station. No view from our 7 th floor window other than the offices next door, but really didn't care as we were here to walk, shop and eat! Will return, no complaints.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forestfamilySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#127 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#103 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#91 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway 353 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway 353 Hotel

Property: Causeway 353 Hotel
Address: 353 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $129 - $274
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway 353 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular 4 star hotels in Melbourne CBD, Causeway 353 Hotel is ideally located on Little Collins Street. Close to shopping and the corporate offices, the hotel is equally accommodating to both leisure and corporate visitors alike.Positioned amongst an extensive array of international eateries, cafes and quirky shops, Causeway 353 Hotel offers you an opportunity to experience the best of Melbourne's shopping right at your doorstep. Bourke Street Mall is within walking distance offering an assortment of retail icons such as Myer, David Jones and Zara department stores plus much more! The close proximity of public transport makes getting around town or visiting Melbourne's attractions easy, with both trams and trains departing nearby regularly. Entertainment and sporting venues such as The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Etihad Stadium, Crown Casino, Princess Theatre, Regent Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria, Eureka Tower, Melbourne Gaol, and Melbourne Aquarium are all easily accessible on foot, whilst it takes only minutes on a tram or train to visit attractions such Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and the Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit. Shopping destinations such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and the DFO South Wharf shopping centre are just a quick tram ride away.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.Causeway 353 Hotel is contemporary in style, fitted with modern facilities, designed with a rich warm decor with an ambience of comfort. The hotel offers 142 rooms comprising of Deluxe King and Twin Rooms, Spa Rooms and Deluxe Suites. All rooms feature an LCD TV with select Foxtel channels, in-room safe, en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, minibar, ironing facilities, as well as wired and wireless internet access (at a charge). Amongst the other facilities within the Hotel, a fully equipped gym and steam room are available on the 2nd Floor along with a separate business centre with internet access and printing facilities. Causeway 353 Hotel also provides a 24 hour reception and tour desk, as well as a guest laundry. Continental buffet breakfast is served daily from 6.30A.M. to 10.30A.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, lastminute.com.au, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Causeway 353 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway 353 Melbourne
Hotel Causeway 353
Causeway 353 Hotel Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing