We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Causeway 353 Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 128*
USD 117*
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 181*
USD 173*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 228*
USD 102*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 209*
USD 114*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 86*
USD 58*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 162*
USD 92*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
USD 280*
USD 198*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crown Metropol Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 236*
USD 187*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Melbourne City(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 112*
USD 68*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 146*
USD 116*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (1,141)
Filter reviews
1,141 results
Traveller rating
236
598
195
66
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
598
195
66
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastequitable placecollins streetgreat locationcold meatslane waycentral locationspa roomyogurtelizabeth stwould stay here againgood sizefree wififederation squarebed was comfortablecoffee machinetwin room
Filter
Updating list...
876 - 881 of 1,141 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2012

First impressions last, and unfortunately the service at the Causeway from check in to check out was poor. Staff appear more suited to staffing the lobby at the local Backpackers. Service was slow and unhelpful. At times it was too difficult for the staff to even grunt at us, let alone smile and say hello. Very disappointing and cold to say the least.

Dont bother with breakfast (even if its complimentary) as it is poor and again the service is lacking, with dishes stacked all around the room and the breakfast bar messy and unattended.

If this was purely based on just the hotel room, then I cant speak highly enough. A nice small quiet clean room, fitted out well made the stay comfortable.

There are certaintly better places to stay for the price.

Unfortunatley, this hotel needs to realise that many people purchase on the quality and level of service by staff received, not just the hotel's four walls.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicole h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We were due to stay in this hotel for 2 weeks but found it a small and cramped. This hotel is clean and well maintained and in an excellent location for the cbd. However for an extended vacation there was barely any closet space for our clothes. The dark decor was depressing and the view from my room of the industrial type building was horrible. We had to move because I was beginning to hate my stay in Melbourne. I would recommend this hotel for business trips only AND NOT FOR FAMILY VACATIONS..However the staff were fine and if you do not mind smaller rooms and black decor and wish to be at the centre of things then this is the hotel for you,

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravens_Wallet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I've stayed here many times.
Being off the main thoroughfares means it is quiet, which is rare for a centrally located hotel.
However, it is only footsteps away from all the shopping action of Melbourne.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuJo-a-GoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and were delighted with this hotel. The king room was perfect for a weekend getaway for two and was great value compared with everything else we saw online. Like most similar acommodation in the city, the rooms aren't huge, but the king sized bed was extremely comfort. The location is great. It's in a lane way which has little cafes open on weekdays. Friday breaky at Barista Espress five doors down was fantastic , and we were out each day, so didn't bother with eating at hotel. DeGraves Lane and a million other wonderful eateries 5 mins walk away , as is Flinders Street station. No view from our 7 th floor window other than the offices next door, but really didn't care as we were here to walk, shop and eat! Will return, no complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank forestfamilySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Although this hotel is down a side street - it is a nice hotel. Our room overlooked an office block? which blocked out a little daylight first thing in the morning but overall a very nice room with plenty of space to store our luggage and lovely king size bed. Plenty of tea and coffee in room - very small fridge though. Room quiet. Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer, TV, dimmable bedside lights, desk with mains sockets,minibar/fridge, safe, and microwave. plus a launderette on our floor - which was handy and used a couple of times. Overall staff very helpful and very friendly. We had a walk-in shower which was handy and had air conditioning which we used a couple of times. Overall a small lovely hotel with continental breakfast and very central to the shops and station. Would stay again and good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews