We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel.- would stay again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Causeway 353 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Causeway 353 Hotel
Ranked #81 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel.- would stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Although this hotel is down a side street - it is a nice hotel. Our room overlooked an office block? which blocked out a little daylight first thing in the morning but overall a very nice room with plenty of space to store our luggage and lovely king size bed. Plenty of tea and coffee in room - very small fridge though. Room quiet. Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer, TV, dimmable bedside lights, desk with mains sockets,minibar/fridge, safe, and microwave. plus a launderette on our floor - which was handy and used a couple of times. Overall staff very helpful and very friendly. We had a walk-in shower which was handy and had air conditioning which we used a couple of times. Overall a small lovely hotel with continental breakfast and very central to the shops and station. Would stay again and good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    510
    163
    56
    37
See reviews for
124
430
71
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed for 5 nights, mostly for shopping and sightseeing around Melbourne. Great location, close to shops, fed square, trams etc. Room was a good size and staff friendly. Room smelled slightly smokey so not sure if we had a smoking room too by accident. View of an office block but is to be expected in a city centre. Room was also remarkably quiet for the location. Small fridge and microwave in room and complimentary water per day which was a nice touch for the budget price.
Took advantage of the free breakfast, which was continental as described but well stocked and good saving of $30+ in cafes for too many eggs per day.
Staff were cheerful, only critism was that a room service plate was left in the coridoor for prob 2 days before it was cleared.
Overall good experiance and would prob stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fairey_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

me and my best friend went to Melbourne as a farewell trip. the hotel room was nice (the wall is dirty), bed was comfortable. but poor air-conditioning.
the little cafe was the highlight of our stay. good coffee, great barista. good service.
when we booked the hotel, we informed the reservation coordinator that we want to stay at high level. however, that wasn't orginaised when we arrived.
secondly, the front office staff service was diappointing, unhelpful, we tried to upgrade to the breakfast inclusive package, got declined and were told that it was because we didn't do that when we did the booking with the agentcy. When we asked for high level again, he just said 'I will see what i can do', without checking the system, or write down a note. That was very upsetting.
if you are after location, with fair price, good choice.
if you are after service with good memories at your stay, better choose others.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We needed somewhere to stay for a couple of nights prior to departure from Melbourne airport, and found this via Lastminute.com

The premises are compact but clean despite the slightly "urban" environment outside. Our bags were looked after with special care taken over any valuables (eg laptop) prior to our room becoming available later on that day. Reception staff were polite and efficient.

The room on the second floor (cardkey lock) was not large but contained all we needed - comfortable bed, TV, dimmable bedside lights, desk with mains sockets, hairdryer, minibar/fridge, ironing board, safe, !!Microwave!! - that's a first !

The bathroom was modern, tiled floor to ceiling, fitted shower over bath with good separate thermostatic control, provided shower gel etc and plenty of towels.

Room had good air-conditioning but when we entered initially there was a slightly musty smell as if previously occupied by a smoker - do hotels allow people to smoke in rooms any more ?

There was a "computer/internet" room with printer on the same floor but this was chargeable.

There was also a basic gym, with steam room on the second floor which we checked out but did not have time to use - if I remember it had a couple of treadmills, cross trainer, rowing machine etc. just enough to work off some stress before a hot soak !

The inclusive "continental" breakfast was fine - choice of cereals, toast, tea, coffee etc, with extra paid option of cooked breakfast. Though we heard one ignorant guest berating the reception staff because "the continental breakfast means cooked !" - sorry no it doesn't !! The staff handled the incident with patience and restraint, but the guest stormed off - there's no pleasing some people.

Only omission really was free wifi, though I think you could probably pay for it but if they could have supplied that it would have been 5* ! In any case you can walk down to Federation Square for free wifi if you need to use it, there are seats and an (expensive) pub there which you can use.

We were told there was an airport ferry service (by Skybus) for AU$15 per person which was 20 minutes later than scheduled but otherwise quick, and picked us up from the main street next to the hotel.

If you are staying in Melbourne for a few days then might be an idea to get a Myki travel payment card (get one at the rail station at Fed Sq) for use on the trams and buses, which guarantees to charge the minimum fare for any set of journeys and saves time fiddling for change, you can buy it and top it up with your credit card.

There are fast food shops and a 7-11 just round the corner from the hotel so you can pick up a quick bite to eat or a drink if necessary at short notice.

The location is very central to the shopping zone and South Bank area on foot, and convenient to drop back in during the day if you want to recharge. We walked down to the "NGV" - National Gallery Victoria. A tram ride took us up to the (Percy) Grainger museum near the University medical buildings.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikewhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

good: comfortable bed, quiet, good position
bad: bad air condition system , so air is not fresh and smell not good just like in a bus which is leaking oil.
breakfast is very very simple.
not worth the price.
but if you want a quiet room in good position ,it is the best choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#121 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#97 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway 353 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway 353 Hotel

Property: Causeway 353 Hotel
Address: 353 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $127 - $298
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway 353 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular 4 star hotels in Melbourne CBD, Causeway 353 Hotel is ideally located on Little Collins Street. Close to shopping and the corporate offices, the hotel is equally accommodating to both leisure and corporate visitors alike.Positioned amongst an extensive array of international eateries, cafes and quirky shops, Causeway 353 Hotel offers you an opportunity to experience the best of Melbourne's shopping right at your doorstep. Bourke Street Mall is within walking distance offering an assortment of retail icons such as Myer, David Jones and Zara department stores plus much more! The close proximity of public transport makes getting around town or visiting Melbourne's attractions easy, with both trams and trains departing nearby regularly. Entertainment and sporting venues such as The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Etihad Stadium, Crown Casino, Princess Theatre, Regent Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria, Eureka Tower, Melbourne Gaol, and Melbourne Aquarium are all easily accessible on foot, whilst it takes only minutes on a tram or train to visit attractions such Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and the Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit. Shopping destinations such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and the DFO South Wharf shopping centre are just a quick tram ride away.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.Causeway 353 Hotel is contemporary in style, fitted with modern facilities, designed with a rich warm decor with an ambience of comfort. The hotel offers 142 rooms comprising of Deluxe King and Twin Rooms, Spa Rooms and Deluxe Suites. All rooms feature an LCD TV with select Foxtel channels, in-room safe, en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, minibar, ironing facilities, as well as wired and wireless internet access (at a charge). Amongst the other facilities within the Hotel, a fully equipped gym and steam room are available on the 2nd Floor along with a separate business centre with internet access and printing facilities. Causeway 353 Hotel also provides a 24 hour reception and tour desk, as well as a guest laundry. Continental buffet breakfast is served daily from 6.30A.M. to 10.30A.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Causeway 353 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway 353 Melbourne
Hotel Causeway 353
Causeway 353 Hotel Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing