We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flinders Backpackers
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

These guys advertise themselves as having a 24hr reception which is a joke as they close for 3hours from 1am-4am.So I turned up exhausted from my 10hour flight and they wouldnt check me in!Not only that but they were rude about it and while I waited until 4am to be checked in I had to sit around with all the drunk crazy people from the bar downstairs when all I wanted was to sleep!The bar is on the 2nd floor so if you do have the unfortunate time of staying here then make sure you're high up so you wont be kept awake all night by the loud music.The only thing going for this place is the location and thats it..greenhouse is just around the corner and so much cleaner,friendlier and value for money-take a detour there is my advice!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterbabyga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    74
    81
    31
    51
See reviews for
3
54
92
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freetown, Sierra Leone
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

Nice place, great position. I enjoyed my stay. After returning home sometimes sit and smile at your experiences. This is one of those places.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max4SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

we stay in the private room share bathroom, The hotel located in the great location in the CBD. Close to supper market coles KFC, Mc Donalds and the Train Station. The Room is good the Bathroom is clean for the first day we arrive, after that you have to imagine. There is a pub on the first floor. The kitchen is good we have a lot of cooking while we are there.
The staff is really good.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hktinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wynyard
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

I stayed at this hostel on the night of the AFL grand final so it was a really busy time in Melbourne. We were pleasantly surprised with our twin room considering the reviews we had read. Even had a TV that we werent expecting. Reception area was busy and girl at desk not exactly enthusiastic ... but are they ever at hostels?? All in all a good place to stay but you need to be high up as the bar on the 2nd? floor is very loud. (I always take ear plugs to hostels)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank U2pies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

the 2 nights stay here wasn't really pleasant at all. besides the great location, everything was a nightmare. the toilets and bathroom is dirty and it stinks! i would need to think twice before using it, if not, i was forced to use it. one of the worst hostel i've ever stayed so far. we booked a 4 beds dorm and it was small, doesn't have much space for us to walk after putting our luggage on the floor.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanzlcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#5 of 132 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#31 of 132 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#18 of 132 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#105 of 132 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#104 of 132 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#46 of 132 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flinders Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flinders Backpackers

Property: Flinders Backpackers
Address: 35 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $28 - $74
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flinders Backpackers is located in the heart of Melbourne CBD, which makes it the perfect location for every traveller! Every guest gets a FREE breakfast with make your own PANCAKES every morning to start his or her day off right. We have a HUGE common area for guest to enjoy with a NEW Movie room with a 70" TV and endless movie selection, FREE pool table and ping-pong table and a fully equipped kitchen with walk-in cool room. Staying with us will have you living amongst Melbourne's funky cafe and shopping district while only being a few minutes walk away from Flinders Station, South Bank and Federation Square. We offer great value accommodation across seven floors with 2, 3 and 4 bed dormitory rooms, twin and doubles private rooms all with shared bathroom facilities. After a day of exploring what Melbourne has to offer come home to some great events including bingo with great prizes, trivia, movie night with free popcorn and free meal nights. No free Wi-Fi but some of the cheapest Internet around. Our rooms: Every dorm room has individual security lockers, fan, secure card entry, linen, pillows and blankets provided. Towels are also available for hire. Please take note before booking: All guests must have international government issued photo ID in the form of a driver's license or passport and a credit card at time of check in All guests must be 18 years or older. Sorry no children. Flinders Backpackers is in the heart of the busy CBD. As such, guests may be disturbed by noise due to trams, traffic, and people on the busy streets surrounding the hostel. Friday and Saturday night's guests may also be disturbed by noise from the bar in the basement level ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Flinders Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flinders Station Backpackers Hotel Melbourne
Flinders Backpackers Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing