We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor attitude from waiters and food not satisfying”
Review of Trunk

Trunk
Ranked #186 of 5,066 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: USD 3 - USD 27
Cuisines: American, Italian, Mediterranean, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Welcome to Trunktown, home of Trunk's Bar, American Diner, Honey Garden, private dining Restaurant, Rintel Function Room and Melbourne city's largest Outdoor Beer Garden. The Diner is open every day from 7:30am-11pm weekdays and 8:00am - 11pm weekends. The Restaurant and Bar are open from 12pm - 10pm every day. The Diner, Restaurant and Rintel Room are available for private events.
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Went on a Friday night. Had to order meals at the bar and it was ridiculous because we had to yell over the noise. Food not satisfying either. Friend ordered a quesadilla and it looked like it was just flatbread. There was like half a centimetre of filling. Was not something you expect for the price at all -.- Coped a nasty attitude from one of the waitresses too when we asked about wanting to check the menu for a price. Would not go back.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Izzbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 344 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

We attending my sister's wedding reception here. I also have 3 year old twins so was a bit apprehensive about the timings of the food.

I spoke to trunk in advance and they could not have been more accommodating. I was able to select 2 dishes from the menu and also what time would suit for service. They also put together a fruit dessert. And not just melon. It was strawberries blueberries and raspberries. We got the wagyu bolonaise and a pizza. Both of which were delicious.

The staff on the night were brilliant and my two were treated like royalty!

Added bonus was the adult food was delicious too

Thank you to Trunk for making it a great night for us.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank SianFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2016

The combination between bistro/diner and outdoor seating with a bar menu is well worth the visit. Though I found the wagyu burger on the menu average (by Melbourne's burger standards) I would definitely return to either sections of the establishment and order another item.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julss333
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2016

I had forgotten about this little gem in the CBD of Melbourne.The service was fantastic, friendly but helpful.The food was really great for the price and the menu read well. We will definitely be back and hopefully with others as well.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank j0b28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We had been looking forward to our catch up with friends and had booked 4 weeks in advance. 2 days before our booking they contacted us to advise of a change in plans and we needed to be in a different part of the restaurant - the private dining room. It sounded nice but when we arrived it felt like we were in a back room, and it had no atmosphere at all, and dirty tables around us. Our waitress was lovely but it didn't make up for the dull atmosphere of the dingy room we were in. Mains were nice though and dessert was delicious.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kylie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Trunk also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Trunk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.