We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer garden in the heart of the city”
Review of Trunk

Trunk
Ranked #186 of 5,066 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: USD 3 - USD 27
Cuisines: American, Italian, Mediterranean, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Welcome to Trunktown, home of Trunk's Bar, American Diner, Honey Garden, private dining Restaurant, Rintel Function Room and Melbourne city's largest Outdoor Beer Garden. The Diner is open every day from 7:30am-11pm weekdays and 8:00am - 11pm weekends. The Restaurant and Bar are open from 12pm - 10pm every day. The Diner, Restaurant and Rintel Room are available for private events.
Reviewed 3 June 2016

I really love this little place, I visit Melbourne a lot and I go to relax and have a beverage while sitting in their cute beer garden.

The staff are lovely and very helpful, just this week I visited again and they went out of their way to get the external heaters working for me. They had run out of gas from the weekend and it was Monday afternoon, so they ran around looking for gas bottles.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SchelleT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 363 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2016

Awesome food, good service and great vibe.
Perfect for lunch, those cheeky afternoon beverages and dinner, Trunk caters for all dining experiences with both its outdoor and indoor settings.
Having been a few times when in Melbourne, I recommend trying their arancini and salted caramel coffee cocktails

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sabina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 May 2016

Beautiful restored synagogue added to the charm and atmosphere of the evening. The place was a buzz with noise but you could still easily have a conversation. Service was attentive and quick; no smug attitude or over zealous waiting staff. The food was fantastic, from the seafood linguine to the gnocchi to the lamb, everyone was really happy with their choices. They have a good, moderately priced wine list, as well as cocktails and beers. Great place to go with a bunch of friends for a Saturday night.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VBzovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

The service was definitely friendly.

The food was OK, but nothing great and I just didn't like how it was presented.

An OK dining experience, but I won't be back.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank highburychampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

Service was pretty terrible. We walked in and were ignored, despite meeting eye contact with at least three of the waiters (all of whom were cleaning/clearing - it wasn't even busy.) Had to ask to be seated.

Order took a long time to be taken and then served. We ordered two milkshakes, but the waiter only brought one out (then left the other sitting at the bar. We then asked for it five minutes later - by that time it was barely cold).

Both shakes were lukewarm and overpriced. Would not recommend.

We were planning on ordering food but decided against it after the above negative experience.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank O7386OGadamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Trunk also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Trunk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.