We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location but for somewhere marketed as boutique I expected better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Terrace

Carlton Terrace
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carlton Terrace
Ranked #8 of 18 Melbourne B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location but for somewhere marketed as boutique I expected better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

This place is in a great spot for walking into the CBD or heading out for dinner in Carlton or Fitzroy but I was a bit disappointed by the room (studio Rathbone).

The kitchenette is tiny and looks like it was installed on the cheap 20 years ago. It also takes up valuable space meaning that the bathroom is also tiny. The main part of the room has a hideous brown carpet with swirl pattern which adds to the dated feel, a shabby sofa and a decent sized bed.

Other reviews have commented on the high standards of cleanliness - I would say that on this front the room reached the minimum standard.

One other minor point: when we arrived mid-morning there was no-one there to let us in and instructions to call a mobile number. This wasn't answered either so we left a message which no-one replied to and it wasn't until we tried calling again half an hour later that we got through to someone.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joseph_Pike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    12
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
14
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey,England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

We loved the Carlton Terrace. The studio rooms are not huge but then , hey, it's a studio! They are stylishly furnished, with a spotless bathroom and powerful shower. The bijou kitchenette is just what you need to make a morning cuppa' and with so many funky restaurants and cafes only steps away, it is a great place to hang out in Melbourne. It is a bit of a walk to the city, maybe 1/2 hr or so and htere are trams and buses if you need them. Being out of the city means you get a great night's sleep in this residential neighbourhood. Carlton Terrace would get my vote for a Melbourne stopover every time.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank genista082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

We stayed at Carlton Terrace August 2010for 7 nights. We were given the Lygon Studio which is very quiet and comfortable for 2 people. Building is an old Terrace which is full of character if you are'nt looking for Modern amenities .
Great location to local Lygon St shopping and walkable to City. Also has free bus handy from Lygon Street doing loop around city.
Would definately recommend

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveller1953_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
147 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

Carlton Terrace is a charming little building located on a quiet street just outside the central business district of Melbourne. It is walking distance from the CBD, the restaurants and cafes on Lygon Street, Queen Victoria Market, and the University of Melbourne. My friends and I stayed in Studio Drummond, which could comfortably sleep three but a little bit too crowded for four. The kitchenette was very basic but one probably would not need to use much of it in Melbourne. The bathroom was tiny but functional. The sofa could sleep two but not particularly comfortable (the bed was great, though). The staff could be reached during office hours but we were mostly not there then. So communicating was a bit of a challenge. The service was friendly and efficiently, though. Given what I have heard about other accommodations (including some of the very pricey ones), I have to say that Carlton Terrace was a great value for money. Therefore, if you are looking for a clean, comfortable, and economical place to stay in Melbourne, I would recommend this.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PH15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

We booked and paid through their website for a 5 night stay in the Pelham suite of this 'boutique ' hotel.

The good...
* Close to town and public transport. 2min walk from lygon street
* 2 bedrooms - linen nice
* Good value for money $965 for 5 nights for three people.
* bathroom / laundry in good working order and nice white towels
* we were able to leave luggage in hallway after check out until 5pm.

The average....
* Kitchen very old ( circa 1970's) and not shown on website.
* Check in was strange ( had to phone someone who came and gave me the keys out of a 'safe' at the front door. )

The bad...
* The office to the establishment is a room at the back of the kitchen (locked ) .
* The terrace house is divided into two independent living quaters ( upstairs / downstairs ) with a staircase that has a baby gate and i assume a locked door at the top.
* the upstairs occupants ( ? renters ) appeared to be nocturnal. You can hear every foot step, toilet break, shower, 2am guitar playing , all of which started around 1.30 and finished around 5am. If you are used to appartment style accomodation you may not find this an issue. we all however found it very difficult to sleep all of the 5 nights we stayed.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank picklesPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,996 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Terrace

Property: Carlton Terrace
Address: 196-198 Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $158 - $171
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carlton Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boutique accommodation in a historic terrace just 5 minutes from vibrant Melbourne CBD. The discerning guest will appreciate the stylish, self contained suites. Well appointed with ensuites, kitchenettes,wireless internet,and free local phone calls. Homely, safe, quiet. All just around the corner from famous Lygon Street eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Carlton Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Terrace Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing