We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tasting Menu”
Review of Maha

Maha
Ranked #14 of 4,298 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 23 - USD 47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Excellent selection of flavours and textures in the 6 course tasting menu. We decided against the matching wines to allow the food to speak for itself and it did. The portion sizes were just right it left you full but not struggling to finish. Would go again if in Melbourne for a special occasion

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KiwiTraveller063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 October 2017

HI KiwiTraveller063. Thank you for this lovely review. Our 6 course menu is definitely an experience to remember and we're so glad to hear you enjoyed it. We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 76 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

This is perfection on a plate. So many flavours on their tasting menu. We thoroughly enjoyed every mouthful and the service was thoughtful subtle and friendly. Our gluten free daughter had her own tasting menu and we really appreciated her special attention from the Maha staff. She felt very special.
This was one of our best Melbourne experiences. Thank you very much.

2  Thank sarahJ5662OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 September 2017

Thank you for the stellar review sarahJ5662OR. We're glad you had a wonderful time at Maha. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Our recent experience at Maha would be 6-stars, if awarding that rating was possible. As a surprise for a special occasion, I took my other half to Maha and it was one of the best decisions I had ever made. It was indisputably the best gastronomic experience that we have had in years!

To distinguish Maha as ‘sensational’ or ‘classy’ would be to make an understatement. Maha is, of course, one of Chef and TV Presenter Shane Delia’s restaurants; and unsurprisingly, it was excellent. However, at the time of booking, I had no idea just how fabulous it was going to be.

We have had our fair share of dining at restaurants, from the humble local cafe to silver-service establishments, serving varied cuisines including Middle-Eastern. Maha stands at the apex above the rest, going by our dining experience in recent years.

So why Maha? Simply... I searched the internet for the best degustation restaurants in Melbourne. Maha came up quite consistently as one of the best, particularly within the Melbourne CBD. Following that, a review of their website revealed sumptuously-appealing menus. Maha’s menu prices felt a little high initially, but they are pretty much in the median price range for Melbourne. Trust me... they are still far from the most expensive degustation restaurants within Melbourne.

Maha offers four dinner options, namely the 2, 4, 5 and 6 course menus; each with a further option of matched wine. Initially interested in the 6 course, we decided upon the 4 course Soufra dinner after consulting with waiting staff. Kudos to the lady waiter for not steering us towards a higher-priced menu or pushing the matched wine option. For light drinkers like us, the latter made little sense. So we ordered our drinks individually.

Waiting and bar staff were absolutely top-drawer. Warm and friendly, yet completely professional. They knew the menus, dishes and drinks inside-out, and additionally, enquired as to whether we had any dietary requirements. Maha appeared to be fully sympathetic to those with special needs and capable of producing dishes to suit.

Dinner was truly a delight, with delicious food elegantly cooked and presented. Words cannot adequately describe our experience with the dishes. Incidentally, don’t be fooled by the ‘4 Course’ as it includes several plates within each course. It was certainly large enough to satisfy most diners.

The restaurant’s ambience is wonderful with a well-designed interior and lighting appropriate to fine dining. Diners are able to converse well and quietly.

Should you love middle-eastern food or degustation dining, consider the Maha. It presents a splendid option. If you have not ventured into this cuisine, I would highly recommend it and there is no better place than the Maha to start.

Maha was excellent with communication. Emails were replied to promptly and booking confirmation received by text message. Book online via their website.

Recommendations:
(1) Reserve a table as the restaurant can get busy.
(2) Book a table for 7pm or after, if you prefer a leisurely evening.
(3) Read their reservation conditions and cancellation policy to avoid any issues.
(4) Consult waiting staff for a comprehensive description of dinner menus prior to ordering.

Lunch : Mon-Sun, 12pm-3pm
Dinner : Mon-Sun, 6pm until late

Our compliments to Shane Delia and the team at Maha for a wonderful evening...

We’ll definitely be returning to dine there... hopefully soon!

Thanks for reading this review and my gratitude should you rate it as helpful. Life is short... make plans today and go travelling and dining! Enjoy life... you deserve it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank sand2skis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 September 2017

Hi skis-gitz. Thank you for taking the time to review our venue. We are so happy to hear your experience at Maha exceeded expectations. We will make sure to pass your wonderful feedback on to Shane and the team. We cannot wait for you to visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We don't do this sort of thing often so we didn't know what to expect, but we were amazed with the quality and the presentation of the food at Maha - one word, yum!

We ordered the 6 course option, with smaller portions of the food over a 6 course taste explosion. My favourite was the fish, as well as the slow cooked lamb main, and of course - dessert!

We'll definitely be back one day :) thanks again Maha.

1  Thank JeronimKrsto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 September 2017

Thank you for the lovely review JeronimKrsto. It's great to hear you enjoyed our 6 course menu. We cannot wait for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

The last time I came here was 5 yrs ago and as I have an international visitor, I decided to take her to this restaurant again as I remember it to be of great middle eastern cuisine.

Unfortunately, this time, it is not as good as it used to be. I'm not sure if it's because they are making the food more "fusion", but having lived in the middle east for collectively 6 years, I know my middle eastern food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LC888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 September 2017

Hi LC888. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry to hear your visit was not as good as your last. We are not a traditional Middle Eastern restaurant. We describe the experience at Maha and our cuisine as 'unrestricted Middle Eastern'. If you'd like to share any more details, we welcome you to contact us directly at admin@maharestaurant.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maha also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Maha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing