We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing ”
Review of Urban Greek

Urban Greek
Ranked #1 of 611 Restaurants in Hobart
Description: Following on from the authentic experience instilled within our restaurant from the idyllic and culture rich island of Crete, we will continue to build on the atmosphere, memories, and recipes to share with our guests. Food is about sharing, creating a moment in time with your loved ones. We make everything with the finest ingredients following ancient family recipes passed on from generation to generation. This is the concept of Urban Greek: traditional family recipes, using only the best in local and Greek produce, where we aim to offer an authentic Cretan dining experience in a relaxed and comfortable setting. Here, at Urban Greek we create memories and we believe everything tastes better when shared. That is the Greek way! Kali orexi.
Restaurant details
Description: Following on from the authentic experience instilled within our restaurant from the idyllic and culture rich island of Crete, we will continue to build on the atmosphere, memories, and recipes to share with our guests. Food is about sharing, creating a moment in time with your loved ones. We make everything with the finest ingredients following ancient family recipes passed on from generation to generation. This is the concept of Urban Greek: traditional family recipes, using only the best in local and Greek produce, where we aim to offer an authentic Cretan dining experience in a relaxed and comfortable setting. Here, at Urban Greek we create memories and we believe everything tastes better when shared. That is the Greek way! Kali orexi.
Reviewed 14 July 2019 via mobile

Unfortunately all the mains were disappointing. Salmon was over cooked and lacking taste. Accompanying vegetables were soggy and lacked flavour. Slow cooked lamb rump was overcooked, dry and drowned with a congealed and unappetising sauce.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LiamACD, Manager at Urban Greek, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Hi Harobb

Thanks for taking the time to make a review

We are disappointed that you were unable to enjoy your meals when you dined with us.
It should be noted however that from your arrival and throughout the night there were several unfortunate miscommunications. When you arrived, the table that the system had allocated you wasn't to your liking and you let us know that it was a special birthday celebration which hadn't been communicated to us previously. We made our best efforts to move you to a different table, even though the restaurant was fully booked and this required several modifications to our service layout. Once you had received your meals and had eaten a suitable amount we enquired as to how they were and you let us know about the salmon, but not the lamb, a replacement was offered to which you declined. When you ordered dessert, a complimentary dessert (galaktaboureko) was given which had a candle in it to help celebrate your birthday and we also gave you complimentary mastiha liquer. We appreciated your comments to your server at the end of the meal, but we feel that the attitude you displayed to her and the other staff members for the rest of the evening was disappointing.
Again we are disappointed that you didn't enjoy your experience with us, but we feel that we did everything we could to make your evening as enjoyable as possible.

Kind regards
Urban Greek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

619 - 623 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2019

We were suggested this restaurant by the front desk staff of our Hotel in Hobart.

The urban greek is an amazing restaurant and amazing food and great service.

All our dishes were super delicious and the best part was the desserts. Simply amazing.

Even though they were extremely busy, the food came out super fast and we really appreciated this as we had two young children with us.

a must try in Hobart ....don't miss this restaurant....

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank romil388
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LiamACD, Manager at Urban Greek, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Hi romil388

thanks for taking the time to make a review

we are proud that you had such an amazing experience and we always appreciate the recommendations from local hotels. as a family owned restaurant we always aim to help those with young children have a great experience with us.

hopefully we will see you next time you are in Hobart

kind regards
Urban Greek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2019 via mobile

Full house on a Tuesday night in Hobart and we are booked in for the second sitting. Something good must be happening. Dining with two vegetarian teenage daughters so mixed it up with mostly taster plates and my one spiced up lamb. It’s was special.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank ianc43334
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LiamACD, Manager at Urban Greek, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Hi ianc43334

thanks for taking the time to make a review

we are glad that you enjoyed your dining experience and our consistently busy restaurant shows that our drive to perfect authentic Cretan cuisine is on the right track.

we look forward to seeing you again soon
kind regards
Urban Greek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2019 via mobile

Superb food, delightful service, and a wonderful overall vibe in the restaurant. Will definitely be back when I'm next in Hobart.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank BJ_Cole
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LiamACD, Manager at Urban Greek, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Hi BJ_Cole

thanks for taking the time to make a review

we are proud that you enjoyed your dining experience and we would be glad to welcome you back in the restaurant next time you are in Hobart.
kind regards
Urban Greek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2019

Table of four chose one of the banquets. Delicious and memorable. Perfect meal. Great atmosphere. Suggest best to eat in off-peak times if you prefer quieter time. As with banquets fabulous way to taste a wide range of the menu. Take your appetite the courses kept coming!

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank AFBiLL27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LiamACD, Manager at Urban Greek, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Hi AFBiLL27

thanks for taking the time to make a review

we are glad you enjoyed our banquet menu as we feel this provides the opportunity to try the widest selection of dishes and includes all of our most popular items.
we think that dining at any time will still provide the same experience, but even if you do dine at a peak time you will still be able to hold a conversation and enjoy yourself.
we hope to see you again soon
kind regards
Urban Greek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Urban Greek also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Urban Greek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.