We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would visit Hobart just to have dinner here!”
Review of Urban Greek

Urban Greek
Ranked #1 of 611 Restaurants in Hobart
Description: Following on from the authentic experience instilled within our restaurant from the idyllic and culture rich island of Crete, we will continue to build on the atmosphere, memories, and recipes to share with our guests. Food is about sharing, creating a moment in time with your loved ones. We make everything with the finest ingredients following ancient family recipes passed on from generation to generation. This is the concept of Urban Greek: traditional family recipes, using only the best in local and Greek produce, where we aim to offer an authentic Cretan dining experience in a relaxed and comfortable setting. Here, at Urban Greek we create memories and we believe everything tastes better when shared. That is the Greek way! Kali orexi.
Restaurant details
Description: Following on from the authentic experience instilled within our restaurant from the idyllic and culture rich island of Crete, we will continue to build on the atmosphere, memories, and recipes to share with our guests. Food is about sharing, creating a moment in time with your loved ones. We make everything with the finest ingredients following ancient family recipes passed on from generation to generation. This is the concept of Urban Greek: traditional family recipes, using only the best in local and Greek produce, where we aim to offer an authentic Cretan dining experience in a relaxed and comfortable setting. Here, at Urban Greek we create memories and we believe everything tastes better when shared. That is the Greek way! Kali orexi.
Reviewed 22 June 2019

AAAAAAAAAA++++++++
This was the highlight of our recent visit to Hobart!
Chose restaurant purely on ratings and omgooooodness, it was EXQUISITE!!
Delicious!!
The food, the service, did I mention the food.....
Go there now!!!

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank Karissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LiamACD, Manager at Urban Greek, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Hi Karissa L

thanks for taking the time to make a review

we are glad that we could live up to and exceed the expectations that you had based upon our well deserved high online ratings and thank you for your enthusiastic recommendation to others.

hopefully we will see you again soon
kind regards
Urban Greek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

629 - 633 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2019 via mobile

Leave plenty of room for the amazing food you will have at urban Greek. Spoil yourself with an amazing banquet and excellent wine selection.

Note - if your after a quiet dining space then this is not the place for you

Date of visit: June 2019
3  Thank jessicalS5375DO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LiamACD, Manager at Urban Greek, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Hi jessicalS5375DO

thanks for taking the time to make a review

we think you are spot on about the need to bring a healthy appetite!

we appreciate that it can get a little noisy here when we are full, but we believe that our restaurant still facilitates conversation and a environment conducive of a good experience.

hopefully we will see you again soon
kind regards
Urban Greek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2019 via mobile

Always wanted to try this place and tonight I finally did. Expectations were high and maybe too high. Great venue and atmosphere. Excellent and efficient service. The food was okay.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank AndrewBa-2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LiamACD, Manager at Urban Greek, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Hi AndrewBa-2019

thanks for taking the time to make a review

we are disappointed that we couldn't exceed your expectations this time. we are glad that you enjoyed the venue and atmosphere though. if you would like to contact us at info@urbangreekhobart.com to let us know what we could to improve on your experience as we are always aiming to improve
kind regards
Urban Greek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2019

Eight of us were treated to a fantastic experience! We had a private area on the mezzanine level of the restaurant, with a fantastic waiter who couldn't have been more attentive. The food was amazing and the timing of each course was perfect!
If your ever in Hobart this place is a must, you won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KatrinaO321
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LiamACD, Manager at Urban Greek, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Hi KatrinaO321

thanks for writing a review

we are glad you enjoyed the experience of our private dining room. we think it is perfect for intimate little gatherings.

hopefully we will see you again soon
kind regards
Urban Greek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2019

This restaurant ticked every single taste bud box I have. I have a geek background and have visited many greek restaurants and this was by far the best Greek food I have ever eaten. I’m from Melbourne and would travel to Hobart just for this food.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Nataliawhe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LiamACD, Manager at Urban Greek, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Hi Nataliawhe26

thanks for taking the time to make a review

We are glad you had such a good time and are happy to know that another Greek has discovered our little piece of Tasmania.

hopefully we will see you next time you visit Hobart

kind regards
Urban Greek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Urban Greek also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Urban Greek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.