We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Greek”
Review of Urban Greek

Urban Greek
Ranked #1 of 611 Restaurants in Hobart
Description: Following on from the authentic experience instilled within our restaurant from the idyllic and culture rich island of Crete, we will continue to build on the atmosphere, memories, and recipes to share with our guests. Food is about sharing, creating a moment in time with your loved ones. We make everything with the finest ingredients following ancient family recipes passed on from generation to generation. This is the concept of Urban Greek: traditional family recipes, using only the best in local and Greek produce, where we aim to offer an authentic Cretan dining experience in a relaxed and comfortable setting. Here, at Urban Greek we create memories and we believe everything tastes better when shared. That is the Greek way! Kali orexi.
Restaurant details
Description: Following on from the authentic experience instilled within our restaurant from the idyllic and culture rich island of Crete, we will continue to build on the atmosphere, memories, and recipes to share with our guests. Food is about sharing, creating a moment in time with your loved ones. We make everything with the finest ingredients following ancient family recipes passed on from generation to generation. This is the concept of Urban Greek: traditional family recipes, using only the best in local and Greek produce, where we aim to offer an authentic Cretan dining experience in a relaxed and comfortable setting. Here, at Urban Greek we create memories and we believe everything tastes better when shared. That is the Greek way! Kali orexi.
Reviewed 29 March 2019

Had the Minotaur banquet which I would highly recommend as you get a taste of several amazing dishes - it is a great way to try out their menu. Serving staff were friendly, efficient and knowledgeable about the food and could recommend great wines to accompany the food. They cater very well for someone with food allergies and were able to offer alternative dishes in the banquet.
Will definitely be returning to dine here

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KatielouAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (1,450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

682 - 686 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2019

Dined in on a Monday night for our anniversary. I had read excellent reviews on trip advisor and wanted somewhere special to have dinner and celebrate. What can I say? The décor is stunning. The food and presentation was amazing and the service outstanding. The prices are very reasonable and I highly recommend dining in when in Hobart CBD. Keep up the good work guys. A nice touch with the anniversary desert platter.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 March 2019

Invited out with a group that are regular visitors, they ordered for the table. Thank goodness as we would not had selected the same food. It was some of the best food we have had. Especially as we are not familiar with Greek food.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 March 2019

We went one evening for a snack and did not have to wait very long for service as there were not many people present.
The snacks were delicious and we enjoyed every moment of this. The restaurant itself at the entrance is like a hallway and perhaps needed a bit more lighting.
However, the food was deicious and the service was also excellent.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 March 2019 via mobile

Our first night in Hobart we found Urban Greek, we absolutely loved it, the food was amazing and so were the staff. They were very helpful and made some delicious suggestions. I would highly recommend Urban Greek, make sure to book ahead as they were very busy when we went. Thank you Urban Greek staff for making it a wonderful experience.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Urban Greek also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Urban Greek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.