We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the negative press! ”
Review of Small-Fry

Small-Fry
Ranked #2 of 680 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Was a bit worried when I read the reviews of this place complaining about poor service but from our visit I can happily say it’s more about customers being rude and demanding than the staff!

We witnessed two occasions were customers were abrupt and rude because they couldn’t get a seat. The staff were more than polite in trying to accomodate them but because they couldn’t be seated now, the customers had a tantrum.

So if you are willing to wait a little bit, and not be a jerk, you’ll love this place!

Food was absolutely delicious, coffee is some of the best we had in Hobart. Would recommend the tartine and the granola, beautifully presented and flavoursome.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank janelledepetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 69 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

This place has an open kitchen design and makes you feel like you are watching master chef live. All his cooking skills, colour of food and display skill are excellent. But honestly the taste of food are just slightly above average.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 36Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Dear Small Fry, you need to really reconsider your attitude towards customers.
Dropping in for a coffee and brunch Easter Monday, my daughter's and I were looking forward to some great food and a respite from the chilly Hobart wind.

At 11am, the place was busy with customers, we entered into the premises which is small as the name suggests, in doing so we where told aggressively to wait outside.
We had no qualms about this other than the manner in which it was delivered.

A great eating experience is centered around food, company, and great service.
Sash coffee in Sandy Bay knows this as does Pollen in Battery Point. Small Fry, yes the food is good, but the sourness of the staff who appear to have utter contempt for their customers suggests it does not deserve the business it garners.

I suggest give it a miss, and try Pigeon Hole, Staight Up, Ginger Brown, just to name a few places that respect their customers.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank sarah15934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

As far as doughuts go, this is one of the best I have ever had. I assume that they change flavours all the time, but on our visit we ordered one classic cinnamon, and one chocolate and salted caramel. they were really fantastic and reasonnably priced.

We were here for breakfast and did not sample any of the savory-brunch items but everything that came out of the kitchen looked really really good.

Important notice: this is a very small place, everyone sits around the counter (~10-12 sits? ), so if you are not here early on a week end (before they open), you will probably need to wait, or order to take out (big take out queue as well on that day). Another downside is that this is a one man kitchen. This guy is really on top of everything which is quite impressive, BUT it is also very slow: we were the second people to sit down, and when we left, the other side of the counter were still waiting for their food. Sercice was a little bit all over the place too, some waitresses were a bit lost and messed up a few orders.

That being said, I am definetely coming back next time i am in Hobart.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank streetfoodlover2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The coffee was the best I’ve had so far in Tasmania. But after waiting 1 hour once we’d sat down for brekky I wouldn’t recommend this place, unless you’ve got hours to spend watching the chef cook and plate one dish at a time. Go for takeaway coffee or for food if you have nothing else planned for the day.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank PostcardsFromParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Small-Fry also viewed

 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Small-Fry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing