We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Exceptional sea food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mures Upper Deck

Mures Upper Deck
Reserve with
Mures Upper Deck is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 587 Restaurants in Hobart
Price range: USD 7 - USD 35
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Jill & George Mure opened Tasmania's first licensed seafood restaurant, Mures Fish House, in 1973 in Hobart. When they struggled to source quality, fresh, local seafood, George went fishing. More than 40 years on, now owned by Will & Jude Mure, Mures remains a favourite of locals and visitors alike, located in Hobart's working fishing port at Victoria Dock. Mures' philosophy of fresh Australian seafood, sourced from sustainably managed fisheries still rings true from the ocean to the plate. With an international reputation for Tasmania's world class seafood, Upper Deck is the ultimate seafood experience in Hobart.Enjoy expansive dockside views and a la carte dishes, often changing daily with the freshest catch, featuring the finest seafood and very best local produce. Perfectly complement your meal with their award-winning exclusively Tasmanian wine list. Reservations are recommended. Upper Deck specialises in functions from private dining for small groups to large corporate events and are experienced in tailoring an event to suit your needs.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
274 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Exceptional sea food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Exceptional seafood, beautifully executed. Great views of the harbor. Service was kind of slow, although when we visited the place was not full.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SophiaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    368
    226
    148
    114
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antarctica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New years eve special”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We booked the new years eve special for $120.00 per person (Excluding drinks). What we were served was less then desirable: Frozen oysters, Kilpatrick oysters were wasted by extravagant amounts of worcester sauce, re-heated old bread, undercooked fish, tasteless prawns, only four marble sized potatoes, creme brulee was like porridge. The waiters were rushing through the orders and we had finished the whole menu in less than 1.5 hours.
Way too expensive!
We have been to Mures upper deck before but never again. Very disappointed with the whole experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Luc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the best in Hobart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

If you are after fine dining, I'd say that this restaurant is one of the best in Hobart. It was so good that we went twice during our recent trip here.

The service is great, and the food is spectacular. The lobster is fresh and sweet (much fresher than what you can get in Sydney/Melbourne), the seafood basilica (pasta) was great, as was the seafood platter. I'd also recommend oysters with chilli and wasabi caviar

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth a Visit But It Could Be Better.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

The Upper Deck is the smart dining area of Mures. My son and I were split by our opinions. My Beetroot and Vodka Gravlax, good, my sons Mussels Tomato was drowned with too much tomato and bland. The main course, Catch of the Day with Tamarind and Lime was very good whilst my sons Seafood Jambalaya lacked taste. Obviously I can't make a comment on all the staff but the lady serving, initially forgot about us and had little personality throughout the evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BigT49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not impressed with the seafood platter”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

We ordered seafood platter for two, unfortunately we were not impressed. A lot of fried fish from a restaurant like this, average oysters and prawns. Would not recommend it!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GoneSomewhereLovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mures Upper Deck also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Mures Upper Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing