We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$95
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
AU$92
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Chris D
Devonport, Australia
No highlights
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Mar 2020
Room was advertised as a triple self contained. No plates or bowls were provided. Microwave was so small that the plate eventually supplied did not fit. Fridge was too small and inadequate. There was no plug for the bathroom sink. Exhaust fan in the bathroom was hanging out of the window pane. Carpet was dirty and stained. Wallpaper was peeling from the walls. An oddly placed picture on the wall concealed a hole. Seating was an old hard backed chair and one very low arm chair. There was no table so one could sit and have a meal. Each time the television was turned on the antenna cord had to be gently wiggled at the rear of the TV and the wall socket to obtain a picture reception. A request was made for the room to be made up each morning. The bed had to be remade twice at it was noticed that the doona had merely been pulled up and flattened out. The room was not dusted during the 5 night stay. The daily re-supply of milk was provided in a recycled glass jar so it was assumed the milk was still in date. The water pressure in the shower was very poor. The shower arm and head at full extension sprayed water onto the middle of this guests chest. Management refused to provide a refund for the final nights accommodation despite being offered an explanation of extenuating circumstances. It is difficult to say anything positive about the Mayfair other than the view of Hobart is lovely. I would not recommend this place.
Date of stay: February 2020
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$219
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$198
  • Expedia.com
    AU$219
1.6 km from Mayfair on Cavell
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$239
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$193
  • Expedia.com
    AU$260
1.4 km from Mayfair on Cavell
Free Wifi
Booking.com
AU$203
  • Movenpick
    AU$203
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$190
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Mayfair on Cavell
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$470
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$470
  • Agoda.com
    AU$376
  • Expedia.com
    AU$470
1.8 km from Mayfair on Cavell
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$220
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$217
  • Agoda.com
    AU$188
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Mayfair on Cavell
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$149
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$149
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$149
0.9 km from Mayfair on Cavell
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
AU$145
  • ibis Styles
    AU$145
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$142
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Mayfair on Cavell
Free Wifi
Pool
HIGH RES Room bedroom bath and tulips
Booking.com
AU$257
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$218
  • Expedia.com
    AU$251
1.8 km from Mayfair on Cavell
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$158
  • Hotels.com
    AU$179
1.6 km from Mayfair on Cavell
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$159
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$127
  • Expedia.com
    AU$160
2.6 km from Mayfair on Cavell
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hobart
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
43
67
30
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
43
67
30
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet location motel wallpaper parking laundry mt waterfront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2020 via mobile

We arrived in Hobart and after getting out of the airport, I was called to confirm check in.
The room was supposed to be self contained, microwave and fridge isn’t self contained.
The room looked clean but old and run down. Staff very rude and we had to argue for a part refund.

Do not risk staying here

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Terryholbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2020 via mobile

Colonial decor was a mixture of old and new furniture and carpets need to be ripped up and replaced but generally clean and tidy. Small refillable both bottle of milk in fridge instead of small, thimble sized plastic throw away milk containers. Tick for helping our environment. Close to centre of town and eateries. Could walk to Shamrocks pub for excellent, cheap meals.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JenPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2020 via mobile

We started our trip around Tassie here. The room was fine, the bed comfortable. The bath apparently had a recent makeover so was impeccable but the furniture in the room looked like it had been there since the Victorian age. Nonetheless it was all clean. If you’re planning to eat downtown, this location is up on a steep hill so you may want to consider driving. Wouldn’t mind staying here again but for a few days in Hobart I probably would look for something a bit nicer.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank mix579
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2020

We stayed for 6 nights in room 12 and generally the stay was ok with a single positive but unfortunately more negatives.
Positive – The room is a triple room and has plenty of space for two people.
Negatives – The décor is tired. The room doesn’t get cleaned. Only towels replaced and bed made – well sorta made. The bottom sheet just reaches the end of the bed so gets ruffled up pretty quickly. They didn’t replace the empty tissue box or provide extra toilet paper. I had to go and ask for them. Being here for 6 days, I would expect that some sort of cleaning would take place like a quick vacuum or even wipe the bench down. The bed is just ok but will need replacing soon.The benchtops are all worn badly and coming apart
Overall, it’s a good location with a great view of the harbour and some shops nearby but management need to spend a few dollars on the place. Not a lot but enough to look clean and tidy.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank carnabombers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2019

We had driven from Launceston to Campania on Christmas Day to visit friends. We got a text that said we needed to be to the motel by 6:00 before the reception closed. The text was sent at about 1:15, but we received it at 4:45 and we were an hour away! We cut short our visit and raced to Hobart from the countryside. The place is so hard to find that we drove by it three times before we saw it. We pulled into the courtyard, and it was so cramped for vehicles that it took five minutes to park, and then we had to move and other vehicles were flying in to also meet the 6:00 deadline. What a nightmare. We finally extricated ourselves and drove around the block one more time in order to enter our parking area. Too much stress. We chose this motel because it was the only one available that had accommodations for five. One single bathroom, sleeping for six.. The decor was dated and worn. Poorly repaired plaster work around the living room chandelier. It comes with a kitchenette and burn marks on the counter top. A sign informs you that if you don't wash your plates/silverware and put them up on the "bench" you may be charged a fee. The beds were comfortable enough, but the furnishings were worn, and of an unusual decor like something out of Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom era. A TV was included that took a little finagling before channels became available. I'm glad we didn't have to spend any time there. It was close to our church, and our early morning activity, which is the best thing I can say about the experience. Our total time was about 12 hours, including being away at the service, and that was more than enough.
+

Room tip: Get a suite in the back to help avoid the parking nightmare.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews