We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfy, quality, great views & great location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Built in 1837, this is one of Australia's most historic houses
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Built in 1837, this is one of Australia's most historic houses
Large lounge dining kitchenette area Courtyard with separate entrance to apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Built in 1837, this is one of Australia's most historic houses
Large lounge dining kitchenette area
Courtyard with separate entrance to apartment
Main bathroom with shower and stone bath
Peaceful street
View from the lounge
Spacious lounge with dining area/kitchenette
Twin-bedded bedroom with ensuite shower room
Twin-bedded bedroom, roll-away trundle bed and ensuite shower room
Ensuite shower room
Ensuite shower room
Queen sized double bedroom
c1900
Pleasant river views
Extensive gardens in view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Hobart, Greater Hobart, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vicki D
1 review
“Comfy, quality, great views & great location.”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Comfy, Quality, great location (walking distance to city) & great views.
On site washing facilities, onsite off street parking, central heating for winter comfort.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
Thanks Vicki for your review. Glad you enjoyed you stay with us. Kind regards Rebecca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrummerV
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, well appointed apartment aside the main historic grand home”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely spacious apartment, warm cosy & comfy with quality furnishings. About a 20 min stroll to Salamanca Place and handy for walks around Battery Point. Great view from the living room area. Kids loved the Netflix/Spotify access and the ensuite bathroom. As a family, we usually like a cooktop for some meals but it was worth going without for the stay in this historic home. Thanks to hosts Bec and Dermot & family – We hope to stay again one day.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
Thanks for you review. You're correct there is no cook top or oven within the apartments themselves. This is stated in the apartment description. However we do have BBQ facilities for each of our apartments and a portable stovetop is available for guest us in our OutHouse which also has washing machine and clothes dryer facilities. Many thanks for you feedback. Rebecca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeamerKJ
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing accommodation!”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My parents and I stayed in the Tutor's Apartment for 3 nights in November 2016. First of all, the photos you see online are exactly as it looks. The Tutor's Apt has quite a few modern touches, with great wifi, Smart Tv, Sonos sound system and heated floors. The photos online are exactly as it looks.

It's in Sandy Bay and less than 5 mins drive to Sandy Bay Rd and another minute or so to Salamanca. The owner, Rebecca, was very hospitable and provided a lot of info of what's good in the area. The area is beautifully kept, and road noise is not an issue.

The most impressive part of this place is the price. For what it cost, we could not have got a 4 star hotel for that price. If I go back to Hobart, this will be the only place I would stay at. It really is very homely and comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
Thanks for your charming feedback. Great to know guests have enjoyed their time here. Many thanks Rebecca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pahSydney
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Well located, luxury apartment”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed for 3 nights in the Tutor's apartment which is a luxury modern addition to the original building. The apartment has been incredibly well designed and Rebecca's attention to detail is evident everywhere.

We also appreciated Rebecca staying up late to greet us when our flight was delayed and baking a cake for us to boot.

the apartment has wonderful views towards Sandy Bay so it's perfect if you just want to stay at home and relax. But it's only a short walk to the delights of Battery Point and Salamanca Place if you want to explore.

Highly recommended

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
Thanks for your review. Glad you liked the cake. Many thanks Rebecca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KFC1966
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation.”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I recently had the privilege of staying at the Old Bishop's Quarters with my husband and 2 teenage kids. We all fell that staying here was the best decision we made in our entire trip. We were lucky enough to stay in the House Keepers Apartment, the Old School House and the Tutor's Apartment. I may have the names wrong. They were all unique and beautiful. I honestly cannot fault the design or finishes in any of the apartments. They were spectacular. And they were spotless, which is very important to me. I will be recommending a stay here in any of the accommodation, to anyone travelling to Hobart. Love it. And our host, Rebecca, was fantastic. Very helpful and kind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of accommodation. Design and layout. Cleanliness. Character.
Liked least: Had to leave.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
Thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to perhaps being your hosts again. Kind regards Rebecca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing