We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$126
Fully refundable before Sat, 20 Apr
Priceline
AU$140
Fully refundable before Sat, 20 Apr
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
AU$127
Fully refundable before Sun, 21 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
140
36
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
140
36
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared bathroom lovely lounge taxi rank comfortable beds we loved our stay central location a great place to stay three nights soap balcony fridge accommodation hostels supermarket furnishings laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2020

We stayed at the Alabama Hotel for about a week and first we thought the shared bathrooms could be a small issue for us, but the shared facilities were clean and had no line-ups in the morning. Our room was small but very comfortable, clean and had everything you could ask for. The hotel 'living room' / public area and bar is fantastic and the staff is more than helpful and very nice. This hotel is highly recommended if you are on a budget and are after a fun and friendly environment to call home for a few days.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sunny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2020

Massive shoutout to the team at the Alabama Hotel in Hobart. Everyone that I met was incredibly friendly and helpful, it’s kept absolutely spotless and the entire atmosphere is very relaxing. 11/10 can’t wait to visit again :)

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Adam_rthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2020

Tip: Woolsworth is a quick walk down the street. There are many shops there including a nail salon, coffee, and a liquor store.

I like the glass bottled water they offered.

Shower was hot. I never had to wait to use the shades bathroom.

There are stairs, no elevator.

The room was very spacious. It had a fan, fridge, plenty of lights, electrical outlets.

I liked the main lobby area. WiFi worked well all over the building.

The guests looked mature. It wasn’t a hostel vibe. It felt like a European hotel.

Workers were very friendly.

If you do selfies, check out all of the great walls in the hotel. They shoot nicely.

If you arrive late, be sure to get the door code! They use WhatsApp. It saved my life when I realized I was flying into Hobart after 9 PM. The staff got me the check in details within minutes. There was no need for me to panic when I realized last minute that I might not be able to get inside the hotel so late! Bless them.

Love the soap. It’s a very eco-conscience spot.

Place smelled so good!

Be sure to stock up on food. Shops close early and you may be stuck hungry without snacks in your fridge.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank snowm148
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2020 via mobile

Really impressed with this little gem.
Location- Easy walk to everywhere in town
Super clean and large rooms. Shared bathroom is also very clean. Complimentary soap that was Devine and free water.
The lady that was at the front desk was super friendly and very helpful.
Place has a chilled hostel vibe. Would absolutely stay again!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 346hannahd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 December 2019

Had such a pleasant stay here, great value. Super funky interior, staff are incredibly friendly and offer great recommendations of places to eat, things to do etc. Room and shared bathroom were clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay again! Wish I could have stayed longer to properly check out the bar at the reception/lounge and socialise.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soniadodd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews