We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“welcoming, spotless, relaxing - so close to the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hobart, Greater Hobart, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
susanmary...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“welcoming, spotless, relaxing - so close to the shore and to Hobart - fabulous!”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We spent a lovey 8 days in this apartment. Everything about it suited us to a tee. If we had planned a holiday apartment of our own this would be it. The added bonus of welcoming tea/coffee and a few provisions in the pantry meant we could relax as soon as we arrived.
There are walks along the shore very close by, and it is on the bus route straight into Hobart.
The towels are soft and fresh, we just needed to ask for an extra couple as we stayed more than a few days.
The photos on Tripadvisor made me feel a bit homesick for this apartment! And the gardens are very pretty too, they are maturing and changing daily. I'm a bit jealous of Tom and Pam's veggie patch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: soft towels, the warm welcome, the privacy
Liked least: a few more towels would have been great (but we only had to ask)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renatasyd...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation close to Hobart centre”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Gardens Apartment in late March-early April 2016.

The apartment is located about 10 minutes drive to Hobart centre, and 20 mins to Hobart airport. There's a bus stop close to the house, so if you're planning on staying in Hobart, there is no need to rent a car.
It is situated just off Channel Hwy, surrounded by a beautiful garden. Although this busy road is nearby, you don't see or hear it once you're inside.

This loft style accommodation is suitable for 2 people, and consists of a small sitting area, fully equipped kitchen, bathroom and a separate toilet on the ground floor, and a spacious bedroom on the first floor.
It's equipped with a gas heater in the sitting room, and a ceiling fan in the bedroom. Warming up the cottage takes literally a minute.
There's a large TV, DVD player, 2 comfortable leather chairs and a small coffee table in the sitting area.
Kitchen has a mini fridge, a microwave with a grill function, a gas stove top, small dishwasher and a full size washing machine. There's also a coffee pod machine, with some pods provided by the owners, a toaster and a mini-grill.
The kitchen has all crockery and cutlery you might need for your stay, as well as pots and pans.
Black and herbal tea, sugar, salt, pepper, flour is provided for guests' convenience. Hosts have also provided milk, yogurts, butter, some jams and marmalade for the first couple of days.
There's dish-washing liquid and powder for the dishwasher, as well as some laundry powder available for guests to use.

The king (?) bed is very comfortable, with high quality bed linen and a beautiful quilt. There's an extra blanket for guests' convenience, if it's too cold. Fluffy towels are provided in the bathroom, as well as good quality shampoo and conditioner, liquid soaps (in both bathroom and toilet), and shower gel. There's also a professional hairdryer provided for guests' use.

There is undercover parking available at the house, and guests are welcome to use the garden, which has a gorgeous sitting area.

The apartment is of a very high standard, with high quality finishes, furniture and bed linens provided.

WiFi is free and worked well.

The hosts Pam and Tom are very attentive, friendly, yet very discreet.

I would definitely recommend this accommodation to my friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ease of booking, comfort
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myalls
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

What a find!
A really lovely place to stay with everything we needed and all kept in beautiful condition.
We were greeted by Tom who was very welcoming. He gave us ttop tips for where we wanted to visit.
Tom and Pam had kindly provided milk, coffee, jams, breakfast cereal on our arrival which we hadn't expected and which we really appreciated.
Our four night stay at The Gardens was excellent and we would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone looking to visit Hobart.
Thank you Tom & Pam.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet in lovely accomodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen S
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“NICE QUIET LOCATION, EASY BY CAR AND EASY BY BUS INTO HOBART”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Stayed two nights in this delightful garden apartment, truly set in a pretty garden. Tom our host was most helpful in every way. He had thought of every little thing a visitor would desire. We just loved the cosiness of the downstairs lounge and the gorgeous kitchen and the loft bedroom with its light airy feel and glimpses of the Derwent River through the garden trees. Off street parking was provided for our car but we used the convenience of hopping on a the
bus from just outside for the short trip into Hobart to catch the ferry to MONA.
This is an amazing place to visit and has surely put Hobart on the map as a top destination to visit if only to experience this wonderful building in its most spectacular setting, as well as all Hobart's other tourist treasures. We also had a great Italian meal at D'Angelo's in Battery Point recommended to us by friends. What a wonderful, busy and buzzy place with loads of atmosphere.
We've spent three or four visits to Hobart over the years and this one as enjoyable as ever,
didn't even mind the "inclement" weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim W
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Hosts”
Reviewed 4 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed here for 2 weeks in Jan 16. The Apartment was decorated to the highest standard with much thought put into the needs of its occupants, many of whom arrive by plane. It's a joy to find basic essentials in the cupboard and fridge, more than enough for breakfast. Instructions on the use of appliances were clear and concise. The seating was most comfortable and the bed equally so. The use of bikes was a welcome addition. Tom and Pam are the perfect hosts, there when needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing