We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
123
49
18
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
49
18
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews complimentary port battery point listed building beautiful building historic house spa bath salamanca place bed and breakfast main road cooked breakfast busy road sourdough bread sandy bay rd access code b and b huge bedroom guest lounge
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2018

I booked via Qantas. It stated full breakfast. I had read reviews warning a continental only offered so was prepared and OK with that.. Pre arrival information was good to access residence. Our room was unheated on arrival and very cold. Heater turned on and then we warmed up. The rest of the house from main entrance was very cold.We prepared our breakfast and drinks next morning in the kitchen. The choice was yogurt , cereal, toast. The kitchen taps were very loose and dripping badly overall not a very nice space and totally outdated.Carpet stains were present in the breakfast room and the entrance hall. Everywhere was very tired. The essence of a bed and breakfast is the presence of a host, their charm and enthusiasm is usually infectious not to mention their tips on things to do. We saw no-one and the place felt lacking heart and soul. I was pleased to leave , it was not a good experience.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank margaret k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Margaret,

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your impressions of Gattonside with the online community.
I was so sorry to ready that you didn't enjoy your stay. Gattonside offers guests a home away from home with independent access, however we are only a call away if guests need anything at all. We are at the property each morning as well as housekeeping during the day.

We recently changed from a hot breakfast to a complimentary light breakfast offering, which guests are very pleased to be able to help themselves to at a time that is convenient. Many guests really enjoy the freedom of being able to prepare breakfast and other meals in the kitchen and dining room as well as enjoying all the wonderful cafes and restaurants in the nearby Salamanca and Battery Point areas.

Again, I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay and hopefully for your next stay to Hobart you may like to give us another opportunity to show you how wonderful Gattonside is.

Kind regards,

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Well situated just on the edge of the Hobart CBD Gattonside started life as a wealthy merchant's mansion back in the 1800s. Now a B&B we enjoyed our HUGE bedroom (with ensuite) which was the old parlour. Massive amount of room and very well furnished in line with the age of the building. The only downside was they has recently downgraded breakfast from a hot one to self serve cereal and toast. maybe because it was winter. That lost half a star in my mind.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jeffreywilken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Jeffrey,

Thank you for your review of Gattonside, and for taking the time to share your impressions with the onine community. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay. The guest suites are very large and well appointed and still have the charm of the 1880's.
We recently changed the breakfast from a hot breakfast to a complimentary light breakfast option, for guests to help themselves to at a time that is convenient. We are finding that guests are really enjoying this flexible option and also being able to prepare snacks and cheese platters in the kitchen of an evening.

Thank you again for your review, and we do look forward to welcoming you back to Gattonside again

Kind regards,

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

We arrived for a 3 day stay. We were impressed by the exterior and after punching in a code entered the building to find it completely deserted. Not a sole to be found, just a cold, lifeless, unwelcoming historic house. Our room had a tiny heater but the whole house was cold. The lounge areas were well appointed but sitting in a cold room did not appeal to us at all. We bought our stay through wotif and were sold a 3 day stay with full breakfast. The first thing we saw was a sign saying they provided a continental breakfast until 9am only. This was NOT what we paid for, an empty, cold unmanned house with a continental breakfast. There wasn’t even tea & coffee in the room! We have travelled all over the world and stayed in plenty of places without reception but never stayed in a place with such little atmosphere. We complained to wotif and the person who managed the property off site and got a refund. We immediately went to the Grand Chancellor and now have a beautiful corner room with views of the harbour and the mountains, full buffet breakfast and parking and all the hotel facilities for the same price.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
7  Thank KimF859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Kim,

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your impressions of Gattonside with the TripAdvisor community.
I was so sorry to ready that you didn't enjoy your stay. Gattonside offers guests a home away from home with independent access, however we are only a call away if guests need anything at all. We are at the property each morning as well as housekeeping during the day.

We do offer a very well appointed guest room which has a tea and coffee tray, with tea, coffee, hot chocolate and complimentary shortbread. In some suites this is located in the side cupboard next to the fridge, perhaps you did not see it.

We recently changed from a hot breakfast to a complimentary light breakfast offering, which guests are very pleased to be able to help themselves to at a time that is convenient. Many guests really enjoy the freedom of being able to prepare breakfast and other meals in the kitchen and dining room as well as enjoying all the wonderful cafes and restaurants in the nearby Salamanca and Battery Point areas.

As you mention in your review, we responded to your concerns straight away and as the property did not meet the expectations that you had we were happy to arrange a prompt refund.

Kind regards,
Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

This is a beautiful historic building that has been turned into a B&B.

The beds are great, room was huge, lovely view of the gardens, spa bath in room and full breakfast included. At night there is a TV room with port and chocolates at disposal as well as the largest crystal solitaire game I have ever seen. It was the extra touches that made this a wonderful stay and hats off to Jimmy for making a magic coffee each morning for us.

4 minute walk to Salamanca and Battery Point easy walking distance to city. Restaurants all around or short wander to port. It was a fabulous stay and we will be back.

Room tip: We had Room 7 which was towards the back with a view of a 120 year old Oak tree.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BCFishie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear BCFishie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of Gattonside Heritage Accommodation with the online community. It's lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that your comments have also been passed on to our team, Jimmy in particular, who are always thrilled to look after our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Gattonside,

Kind regards,

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

We stayed two nights at the start and one night at the end of our trip to Tasmania. Two different rooms, nicely furnished overall. We had a dripping sink tap in the first room, and the carpets throughout were badly in need of a deep clean. Breakfast was fine, but lacking in choice. Great location an easy walk to the city and harbourside, and local restaurants. Port and chocolates were very nice touch in the evening. Overall a little pricey, and could do with a little more cleanliness and tidying up. We also were aware of building work going on next door during our stays, which wa a little noisy.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews