We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great apartment in Hobart.”
Review of Salamanca Terraces

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Salamanca Terraces
Ranked #13 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great apartment in Hobart.”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed one night here and loved it. We had a view to the water, the apartment was fitted out well, very clean and comfortable, on site parking and best of all, at the end of Salamanca Place and easy walking to all the great coffee shops, bars and restaurants in the area. We would stay here again for sure!!!

Room Tip: We didn't experience any noise problems and slept well. A room on the corner recommended if poss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianneandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    81
    37
    12
    5
See reviews for
41
87
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom townhouse which suited us well as we have a young family. The Terraces are at the end of Salamanca Place which was great for visiting the Taste of Tassie festival. Staff were friendly. Room was clean with a functional kitchen.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Great location down the end of Salamanca Place, so a very short walk to the markets on Saturday. The hotel had a separate bedroom and living room which is nice if one of you gets up early or stays up late. The Kitchen is well equipped too. The rooms were hot and you were given a fan in the bedroom only, no air con. Probably not a problem usually but we had a couple of hot days. As we were on the first floor and facing road that quiet a few people walked past to get to the next hotel it was a little noisy if the window was left open.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

It was a busy weekend in Hobart when we were there recently, so wasn't many accommodation options left. I didn't really want to pay $285 a night for a small 1 bedroom apartment but after paying that much I expected better. Our room was on the street side and on a Saturday night was really noisy. No double glazing on the windows so we heard every sound. Soundproofing between rooms isn't good either. It was hot few days in Hobart and for the money I expected air-conditioning, not just pedestal fans in the room. The location is good (on Salamanca) but this place isn't good value for the money, next time I would choose to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard0067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Spacious accommodation in a great central location. We shared a two bedroom unit with friends and were mindful of our friend's snoring, however we were delighted to find that we both had large bedrooms which were separated by the bathroom and hallway.
You need to be aware that you need to traverse a rather large bath to have a shower, something that could affect people with physical impairment.
Unlike some other reviewers we didn't find noise an issue, however found it a litlle disconcerting that we had to cross the road and walk up the hill to the reception at it's sister property "The Lenna".
Overall I would recommend staying there as it is only a short walk to Battery Point and Salamanca.

Room Tip: If you want to be assured of a quiet room ask for one that doesn't face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stew_rol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 km away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#9 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.3 km away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.8 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.7 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 km away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#3 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Terraces

Property: Salamanca Terraces
Address: 93 Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Price range (per night): $150 - $321
Hotel Class:4 star — Salamanca Terraces 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamanca Terraces offers modern self contained and fully serviced accommodation located right on Salamanca Place in the picturesque and historic Sullivan’s Cove waterfront precinct of Hobart.The stylish contemporary apartments include Studios, 1 Bedroom apartments, 2 Bedroom Townhouses, 2 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom apartments and 1 Bedroom Penthouse apartments. The 1 Bedroom, 2 Bedroom and Penthouse Apartments have fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities. The Penthouse Apartments and 2 Bedroom Townhouses also have balconies.Rooms are serviced daily and we cater for both overnight and long term stays. Foxtel TV and High speed Broadband Internet is available in all rooms. Salamanca Terraces also offer FREE off-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salamanca Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Terraces Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing