We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Met our Needs”
Review of Salamanca Terraces

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Salamanca Terraces
Ranked #13 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Met our Needs”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Spacious accommodation in a great central location. We shared a two bedroom unit with friends and were mindful of our friend's snoring, however we were delighted to find that we both had large bedrooms which were separated by the bathroom and hallway.
You need to be aware that you need to traverse a rather large bath to have a shower, something that could affect people with physical impairment.
Unlike some other reviewers we didn't find noise an issue, however found it a litlle disconcerting that we had to cross the road and walk up the hill to the reception at it's sister property "The Lenna".
Overall I would recommend staying there as it is only a short walk to Battery Point and Salamanca.

Room Tip: If you want to be assured of a quiet room ask for one that doesn't face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stew_rol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    81
    37
    12
    5
See reviews for
41
86
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The Salamanca Terraces are in a great location a 2 minute walk from the Salamanca Markets and all the eateries. The apartments are modern with all the conveniences and a great place to stay in Hobart.

Room Tip: Get One facing water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezzastrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Quite a cheap studio room - clean and nice bed/sheets, but in a noisy spot located over the top of the hotel driveway and against the road. Also the room was one that could be opened up to join with another room, and there was no sound proofing so when the other room had the TV on it was blaring in both rooms. The small kitchenette was not well equipped - it did not have a sharp knife of any kind, and I needed a bread knife. I wouldn't stay here again, but only because that particular room was not well located - I am sure the hotel is fine if you get a well located room. My suggestion - ask where the room is located, and make sure it is not an 'adjoining' room and make sure it is not over the drive way.

Room Tip: Ask where the room is, and do not get one near the entrance to the drive way
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anchor228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culburra Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
312 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Over the past 4 years, my partner and I have spent 4 weekends in Hobart. We have now stayed at 3 different accommodations and this was the best. We know we will stay here again in the future. Our room was neat, clean and pleasant with a little balcony that offered views of the Derwent River and the Tasman Bridge. The small kitchenette was great as it increased our options for "in-room dining". Best of all is the fact that the hotel is located about a 30 second walk from the Salamanca Markets and about a three minute walk to the Battery Point village and its cafes.The staff was pleasant. Free on-site parking is a definite plus. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grammark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton St Philip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed here as family of 4 with 2 teenagers aged 19 and 16. Everything was great. We had a 2 bedroom apartment on Salamance Terrace. Did not like the hot air blower in the sitting room but otherwise this is great family accommodation. Not sure what it would be like in the summer as there is no air conditioning.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brisbanemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 km away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#9 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.3 km away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.8 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#4 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.7 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 km away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Terraces

Property: Salamanca Terraces
Address: 93 Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Price range (per night): $150 - $319
Hotel Class:4 star — Salamanca Terraces 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamanca Terraces offers modern self contained and fully serviced accommodation located right on Salamanca Place in the picturesque and historic Sullivan’s Cove waterfront precinct of Hobart.The stylish contemporary apartments include Studios, 1 Bedroom apartments, 2 Bedroom Townhouses, 2 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom apartments and 1 Bedroom Penthouse apartments. The 1 Bedroom, 2 Bedroom and Penthouse Apartments have fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities. The Penthouse Apartments and 2 Bedroom Townhouses also have balconies.Rooms are serviced daily and we cater for both overnight and long term stays. Foxtel TV and High speed Broadband Internet is available in all rooms. Salamanca Terraces also offer FREE off-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Salamanca Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Terraces Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing