We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jm M
Tasmania, Australia

Blissful escape

Review of Islington Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Apr 2024
We love everything about our experience in Islington Hotel.

The interior design, ambiance, lighting, soft music captured all our senses. Every area has an element of escape that tells a story. We especially love reading about the century old history of Islington. The location, view of Mt. Wellington and the garden was gorgeous.

We very much appreciate the thoughtfulness and warmth of the hosts. Jacob has given us a tour of the property when we arrive and made sure that all our needs are met. Tea and the sweet treats were a delight. Breakfast was delicious.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 16 Apr 2024
Dear 346jmm

Thank you for taking the time to review Islington Hotel. We always love hearing from our guests and are delighted that you had a blissful escape during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Marc Dille
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$209
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$209
  • Expedia.com
    AU$209
  • Vio.com
    AU$209
2.4 km from Islington Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Executive Twin Studio photo 1
Booking.com
AU$165
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$165
  • Agoda.com
    AU$132
  • Expedia.com
    AU$165
1.1 km from Islington Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$300
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$300
  • Agoda.com
    AU$240
  • Expedia.com
    AU$300
2.5 km from Islington Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$159
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$159
  • Agoda.com
    AU$132
  • Expedia.com
    AU$159
2.1 km from Islington Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$175
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$195
  • Agoda.com
    AU$152
  • Expedia.com
    AU$195
2.1 km from Islington Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$195
  • Movenpick
    AU$195
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$176
  • Hotels.com
    AU$195
2.0 km from Islington Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Travelodge.com.au
AU$123
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    AU$139
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$130
  • Hotels.com
    AU$139
1.6 km from Islington Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$232
No prepayment needed
  • The Henry Jones
    AU$232
  • Agoda.com
    AU$202
  • Hotels.com
    AU$232
2.5 km from Islington Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$169
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$169
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$157
  • Expedia.com
    AU$169
2.5 km from Islington Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$155
  • ibis Styles
    AU$155
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$148
  • Expedia.com
    AU$155
1.5 km from Islington Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Hobart
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveller rating
636
51
18
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
636
51
18
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room glass conservatory art collection a small boutique hotel open fire turn down service in house beautiful hotel breakfast was delicious mt wellington little touches hotel experience each morning central hobart visit hobart salamanca place tasmania
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 718 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2024

My wife and I stayed at the Islington for our 15th wedding anniversary. Whilst our impressions of our stay may be inflated by being our first trip away sans children in 12.5 years, we are confident that anyone would agree with our experience. To say that it was a magical experience would be like saying Nicholas Cage’s performance in “The Rock” was only okay. This place blew our minds (and souls). Set in the foothills of Mt Wellington, our Garden Room was tranquil and peaceful. Whilst disappointed our room didn’t provide a view of Cradle Mountain (it is after all, about 300km away and in a different direction), the crisp and clear blue skies gave us an immaculate view of Mt Wellington. The mountain called us, and on our first day we ventured up. Having 3 needy children at home, we chose the more cost effective option of getting an Uber up the mountain with the intention of a romantic walk down… which we did, resulting in very sore shin muscles and a cranky wife, when we struggled to get a ride back. Fortunately, our room provided an extremely comfortable bed to rest upon, and a large soaking tub to immerse in. The weather was as cold as a mother-in-law’s hug, which made the warmth of the fireplace that much more inviting.
Location is a little out of town, which suited us perfectly. Morning brekky was elite. Coffees on call- first class. I felt like I should have been wearing a monocle whilst staying there. I’m sure if you scroll though, you’ll find a negative review, but don’t believe that guy- he is an obnoxious swine with unrealistic expectations. Well done to Marc and team.

Room tip: Ubers are cheap into town and probably your best bet.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

Dear B7421YKrobw

Thank you for taking the time to review Islington Hotel. We are delighted that you had a great romantic getaway and enjoyed your 15th Wedding anniversary with us.

We look forward to seeing you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Marc Dille
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2024

My husband and I had an amazing and memorable stay at Islington Hotel. The accommodation was beautiful and the daily breakfasts were 10/10. On arrival, we were greeted by a very polite gentleman who carried all our luggage to our room.

The view from our room was gorgeous and the property was well kept and manicured.

The welcome snacks and evening tea was such a nice gesture and always excited us when returning from our Hobart adventures.

We highly recommend the Islington Hotel and will definitely stay again when we return to Hobart.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

Dear 359sianm

Thank you for your lovely review of Islington Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed our exceptional customer service and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Marc Dille
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2024

My partner and I had the most amazing stay at the The Islington Hotel!

The hotel itself had a stunning aesthetic, with a French provincial style throughout. It’s also a short walk to the CBD, with direct access to bustling suburbs like Sandy Bay and Battery Point.

The hotel restaurant was also noteworthy, with delicious food served up every day. The staff were all so attentive and accommodating, and this really elevated our stay. A big thank you to the hotel manager Mark, who made us feel at home upon arrival.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

Dear Common93

We love hearing from our guests and are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the fantastic service and luxury setting during your stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to review Islington Hotel and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Marc Dille
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2024

If you need to immerse yourself in luxury then you need to stay here. Wonderful outlook, spacious room with heated floor in the bathroom. Fabulous staff who pamper to your needs. Chocolates and soothing tea at night just to set you off to sleep. Wonderful place to stay.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank keith r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2024

Dear Keithr456

We are delighted that you had a fabulous stay with us and were well looked after by the staff.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Marc Dille
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2024

The rooms are spacious and the hotel very picturesque. Breakfast is in a glass sunroom overlooking beautiful garden grounds. Staff was lovely.
Only down side is it’s a bit far to walk downtown (which we knew) but plenty of parking if you rent a car and Ubers were available easily.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ltoal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2024

Dear ltoal23

Thank you for your review of Islington Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the hotel.

Kind Regards

Marc Dille
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews