We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
AU$330
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
PullTheLeverKronk
Brisbane Region, Australia

This is a bench mark in 5 star hotels

Review of Islington Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Nov 2023via mobile
Everything about this place is exceptional. I genuinely believe the service is worthy of a high level worldwide. You’re made to feel so welcome, but it isn’t pretentious. The little details are done so well, to the point where you look anywhere and you’ll likely see something beautiful and intentional. The grounds send you back to the last century and you do not feel like you’re only a 4 minute drive to the heart of Hobart. The view of Mount Wellington. Just everything. This is world class. Thank you so much for having us. David and Jo
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 17 Nov 2023
Dear David & Jo

We love hearing from our guests and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed the little details and the gardens.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Marc Dille
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$260
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Islington Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$202
  • Hotels.com
2.4 km from Islington Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$261
  • Hotels.com
2.5 km from Islington Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    AU$216
  • Expedia.com
    AU$240
2.1 km from Islington Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Twin Studio photo 1
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$107
  • Algotels
1.1 km from Islington Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$192
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Islington Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$146
  • Algotels
2.1 km from Islington Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$170
  • Hotels.com
2.5 km from Islington Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Travelodge.com.au
    AU$123
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.6 km from Islington Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$164
  • Hotels.com
2.5 km from Islington Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Hobart
Reviews (717)
Filter reviews
717 results
Traveller rating
635
51
18
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
635
51
18
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room glass conservatory art collection a small boutique hotel open fire turn down service in house beautiful hotel breakfast was delicious mt wellington little touches hotel experience each morning central hobart visit hobart salamanca place tasmania
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 717 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2023

We visited Hobart & stayed at The Islington for our 20th wedding anniversary last week. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. It is beautiful & intimate. The service from Marc Gille, General Manager & his team is discreet & efficient. The Hotel is a short Uber from the action in Hobart; it is removed from the bustle & tourists & that is a good thing, not bad. I would not hesitate to stay again.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2023

Dear Glenn F

Thank you for taking the time to review Islington Hotel. We love hearing from our guests and are delighted that you enjoyed your 20th Anniversary stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Marc Dille
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2023

My partner had arranged a birthday surprise for me with a stay at The Islington, a place I had eagerly anticipated due to its reputation for a relaxing environment and top-tier service. However, our initial encounter left much to be desired. When we buzzed the front gate intercom, we were met with an ungracious "who are you" from the speaker – not the warm welcome we expected. Inside, we were confronted by the same discourteous individual who promptly requested our license and credit card information. For an establishment boasting a 5-star status, this was far from our expectations, making us feel uneasy and questioning our choice.
The situation continued to disappoint when the same staff member gave us a brief tour before directing us to our room. Upon entering, we found a cheese platter wrapped in cling wrap and laminated signage marred by unsightly marks. At this point, my partner's frustration had reached its peak. He had paid well over a thousand dollars for our stay, and he believed that any other hotel in Hobart would have provided superior service at a lower cost.
In an attempt to address our grievances, my partner sought out the same staff member but found him absent. Resorting to a phone call, he expressed his disappointment, but instead of an apology, he received a response that left much to be desired – an offer to leave, with the stipulation of contacting Luxury Escapes for a potential refund. The entire experience left us disillusioned and questioning the 5-star rating. Three stars at best, especially given the quality of service provided.
While the grounds were indeed pleasant, the interior furnishings clashed with the building's heritage, giving the impression of hurried assembly from an IKEA catalog. In summary, I would caution anyone considering a stay here to think twice before investing their money in an experience that falls far short of the advertised luxury and service quality.

Room tip: Don’t stay here.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank D7760ONst
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2023

Dear D7760Onst

Thank you for taking the time to review Islington Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are well known for our great service and on this occasion have fallen short. We thank you for your feedback as it allows us to continually improve our facilities and services.

Please do not hesitate to contact me on 03 6220 2123 if you wish to discuss your stay further.

Again, thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards
Marc Dille
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2023

I could not fault any detail about our stay at the Islington! The attention to detail and the warm staff made our experience even more special! Without a doubt, we will be back. Thank you to Marc and the staff for contributing to making our time in Hobart an unforgettable experience. Looking forward to seeing you all again soon! Xx

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2023

Dear arH2814CY

We love hearing from our guests and thank you for your review of Islington Hotel. We are so pleased that you had an unforgettable experience in Hobart and loved the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Marc Dille
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2023

Whilst the beautifully, thoughtfully appointed rooms of this historical home are of a quality that deservedly earn the luxury boutique hotel moniker, guests are additionally surrounded by immaculate gardens and a view to Mt Wellington that makes your soul smile. In a great location to explore Hobart and surrounds, with secure off-street parking, the Islington is blessed with a staff whose commitment to a welcoming, warm, personalised service is beyond parallel. Every request was catered for in a way that exceeded expectations. Next visit, I will be bringing the whole family and hopefully we can stay a little longer. The Islington deserves to be shared with the people you love.

Date of stay: August 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 386cathb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2023

Dear Cathb

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your luxurious longer weekend getaway and we exceeded your expectations.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Marc Dille
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2023

Very cute house just outside the town, about 5 minutes drive to the harbor. It is "outdated" but in a good way, exactly what I was looking for. I could feel the history of the house every second during my stay, the charm of the house is irresistible, I spent one of the afternoons read my book in one of the rooms downstairs, the best time I would say during my stay. It is the place to stay if you are looking for - small property, superb service, quiet stay and unique character, then you found it!

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FlyShort
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2023

Dear FlyShort

Thank you for taking the time to review Islington Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and loved the charm of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Marc Dille
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews