We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as good as it gets”
Review of Islington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Islington Hotel
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Islington Hotel for our 30th wedding anniversary It was amazing . The staff could not be more welcoming, the beautiful grand old building situated with majestic views over the organ pipes on top of Mount Wellington. The breakfasts were made to perfection by their own chef using only fresh local produce nothing was too much trouble. The beautiful atrium with its open fire, heated floors, fresh flowers from the garden is a wonderful place to relax and have breakfast .The rooms with beautiful furnishings ,linen and artwork were so comfortable we would have been happy to stay in instead of doing the tourist thing. The bathroom has lovely toiletries huge bath huge shower rose thick thirsty towels bathrobes ect. they have certainly got it right. we have stayed in many Five Star hotels around the world and this is absolutely my favorite

Room Tip: we were in room six
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McPherson_Boorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-General-Managers, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2011

This is a wonderful testament to the Islington’s relaxed elegance, attention to detail and seemingly effortless hospitality. I am continually thankful to my entire team delivering what I consider to be the best hospitality in Tasmania, possibly Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
There are newer reviews for Islington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 401 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed here for three days in a courtyard room to explore Hobart and visit MONA. The hotel is gorgeous, as are the staff, and our room was absolutely luxurious (especially the bathroom). The view of Mt Wellington and the hotel garden through full length windows was lovely, the bed ultra-comfy and the furnishings a delight. Dinner was available only one night we were there (Wednesday); the food was superb, and the dining room completely beautiful. This is an ideal hotel for couples; children would definitely spoil the ambience. Next time I will make sure we stay between Wednesday and Sunday so we can eat in every night, as the hotel is not close to the city centre and restaurants. However, if you hire a car as we did, it is no problem.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aandslewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-General-Managers, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

It’s true we do only open the restaurant for a la carte dining Wednesday to Saturday but there is a light supper menu available all other nights that includes delicious seasonal soups and chowders, made to order sandwiches, gourmet pies and there is always some fresh local oysters just waiting to be shucked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We have just returned home from staying 3 nights at this beautiful hotel in Hobart. From the moment we were greeted at the door by Tom to when we were farewelled yesterday, we just loved every minute of our stay at this hotel. The staff are friendly without being intrusive.

We were in a Garden Room, number 7 on the top floor with the most fabulous view of Mt. Wellington. Our king size bed was very comfortable, we loved the two easy chairs for sitting and the bathroom was great with the bath, separate shower, separate toilet and the big long vanity unit housing the basin. There was room to put all our toiletries which is often so hard to find. There were plenty of towels and the light was great for make up.

There are numerous gracious sitting rooms with fires blazing around the hotel but we loved the Conservatory with its views, great light and the comfortable settees by the fire. We enjoyed talking to Jonathan who is a brilliant chef and Patrick, as well as the other guests and we liked the idea of the honour system for drinks.

Breakfast was a treat each day as we could order whatever we wanted. We particularly enjoyed the muesli, yoghurt and fresh stewed fruits. We had one delicious meal at Islington which was outstanding, especially the cheeseboard with incredible cheeses from Bruny Island and the Thorpe Farm.

This was a special 3 day visit to Hobart to visit MONA and celebrate my birthday and staying at the Islington was the icing on the cake. We will certainly return as I doubt there is anywhere in Tasmania or even Australia that treats their visitors so well.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 and 7 are large and have great views without being over the top in price.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiegal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-General-Managers, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

What a fabulous review, there’s not much more for me to say other than we always put an emphasis on personal relaxed service. The fact that Hobart, and Tasmania in general, is such enticing, diverse environment makes our job of guiding guests towards fabulous day trips of discovery that much easier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Boutique hotel hounds should consider themselves incomplete until they have stayed here. The Islington is probably one of Hobart's least well kept secrets, having won a string of accolades and awards over recent years. Sometimes though you stay in places like this and you're left wondering what all the fuss is about. Certainly this is not the case at Islington.
More than anything else the people make it special. They are relaxed and lovely, welcoming and warm. They don't 'over service' or 'fake talk'. They just make you feel at home.
As far as the rooms go - they are everything you could want and some - the heated bathroom floor being a delicious touch for a winter stay.
The restaurant is superb with Chef Jonathan Alexander at the helm. The Conservatory and kitchen are also a lovely appealing aspect of the hotel, with guests being able to engage with the chef as he prepares their meal, warm themselves by a lovely open fire, or take a seat at an understated yet elegantly set table. It's so casual and relaxed, yet so decadent and luxurious all at once.
As a travel professional, specialised in food and wine I can highly recommend this one to my clients and readers alike.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but there are only 11 of them - book well ahead!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodandWineTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-General-Managers, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

It is always with some trepidation one invites professional critics into your establishment, especially when they 'just turn up'. I'm pleased to see we can stand up to the scrutiny of the trained eye, and even dazzle in their spotlight without altering our day to day routine. And I promise we did not pay them to write this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Visitors to Hobart are absoutely spoilt with the choices of hotels available.

To choose between Mona,Henry Jones and the Islington is one you'd prefer not to make but we managed to stay in 2 of those.

The Islington is absolute perfection in not just the beauty and style of the small boutique hotel but the service is impeccable.

Having not been to Hobart for 20 years, we needed help with a choice of restaurants and the staff were not just helpful and knowledgeable about different styles of food but thena arranged a taxi for us to make the trip.

The rooms were a good size, tastefully decorated and the lounge rooms gave you a chance to relax and enjoy some downtime.

Definitely recommended - have been to some in Europe which attempt the same boutique nature, I would rank this higher.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-General-Managers, General Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

I agree that visitors to Hobart are spoiled for choice, not just with the three excellent properties mentioned above but also the galleries, restaurants, historical buildings, gardens and world heritage wilderness just minutes from the breakfast table. Tasmania is such a potent and diverse island with a rich cultural history just below the surface and passionate artisan producers everywhere. It really is great bang for your buck when you consider how close everything is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
2.5 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
2.4 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
2.5 km away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 48 in Hobart
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 48 in Hobart
399 reviews
1.8 km away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 48 in Hobart
580 reviews
1.8 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islington Hotel

Address: 321 Davey Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#4 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $271 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Islington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1847, Islington is a fine example of Regency architecture recently restored to showcase its original glory and including 5 star luxuries such as 100 sq/ft glass conservatory with under floor heating throughout, a fine dining restaurant and extensive wine cellar. Surrounded by great service and presentation it has an atmosphere of serenity, luxury and tranquility. Islington’s recent awards include winner, ‘Best Boutique Hotel in Australia’ by Australian Gourmet Traveler and winning entrant into the prestigious ‘Kurosawa Collection’ for small luxury accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Islington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islington Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing