We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$365
Fully refundable before Mon, 26 Feb
Breakfast included
AU$365
Fully refundable before Tue, 27 Feb
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (709)
Filter reviews
710 results
Traveller rating
242
307
94
27
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
242
307
94
27
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast was included custom house great location salamanca markets parliament house seafood chowder mona ferry first floor historic building salamanca place three nights top floor would definitely stay here again room was large visiting hobart city centre battery point
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 710 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2021 via mobile

Rooms are very comfortable with heating which was important this time of year. Was really looking forward to eating there but sadly it was the worst. In a seafood hotspot I expected better than the deep fried scallops they served up, all I could taste was oil. Along with crappy fries and a coleslaw that didn’t beat Woolworths. And this was served within 5 mins from the time of order. It was disgusting. Told them so and they didn’t know what to do.

What a waste it’s has a really nice atmosphere it just needs a chef not a cook serving up slop.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank davidkV6475SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2021

I and a friend stayed here for four nights recently. We had different rooms but had the same experience. This is a fabulous jewel for accommodation in Hobart. Location is unsurpassed - closed to Salamanca Place, across the room from the bustops for the MONA bus, the Airport Bus and other connecting transport for sites. Restaurants are abundant but we ate at Customs House Hotel because the food was excellent.
Part of our accommodation package was complementary breakfast which was a fantastic addition for us - breakfast (and dinner) food was second to none.
Staff were generally friendly but we felt some staff lacked warmth and hospitality .
Our rooms were clean, tidy, with fantastic crisp sheets and comfortable pillows and mattress. The bathroom was clean and modern with hot water in abundance.
What we found difficult is we were in Rooms 7 and 9 on the first floor and we could hear restaurant bar and restaurant noise resonating through our floors until approx 10pm at night. My friend who does not sleep well found this hard to take. When I mentioned this to the young lady on reception, she said no one had ever complained about that before - we had found reviews that did. It would have been better for her to listen to our feelings about this and offer some empathy rather than making us feel like grand 'whingers' of which we are not.
Nonetheless, we loved staying here and to be honest, I would not stay anyone else - just not in the room I had. I am not actually sure if we got the rooms we paid for.
But...thank you Customs House Hotel for a memorable four nights - beautiful place, full of historical charm, gorgeous restaurant and hints of a colonial past.

Room tip: Do not stay on the first floor in Rooms 7 or 9
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bubs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2021

We stayed here April and thoroughly enjoyed Customs House Waterfront Hotel. The included Breakfast was exceptional. We ate dinner here during our stay as well and this was also of a very high quality. The location is central to everything and also handy to day tours and ferry pickups. Loved hour stay here.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Norrie2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and ate here for 3. The location is perfect, close to the cbd, waterfront, many attractions and eateries. The accommodation was comfy and meals perfect and staff fantastic.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 May 2021 via mobile

This is a great place to stay in Hobart. Accommodation is excellent, comfortable and breakfast is included. Harbour view rooms available. Breakfast is excellent, dining room for lunch and dinner is good value. Full bar on-site. Limited parking but easy access to transport, great central location for markets and exploring the city. I will definitely be back. Thank you.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank susansueg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews