We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Helston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Noisy Nights”
Reviewed 3 April 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in an excellent location within easy walking distance to the harbour, Salamanca market and city centre. Parking is a bit of a problem but on check in the receptionist was helpful. The room was roomy with a large comfortable bed but other facilities were very poor - no hanging space except an extending arm out of the wall with a few odd assorted wire and cheap plastic hangers. This arrangement is only good for shirts, trousers not for dresses. The included one item from the menu for breakfast was excellent although the self service tea and coffee was poor. We stayed 3 nights over a weekend and although the waterfront view looks great during daylight hours the teenage revelling and noise from the nightclub opposite was awful and kept us awake until 5 am on 2 of our 3 nights. I suggest you request a room on the back if staying on a Friday or Saturday night.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    217
    58
    20
    20
See reviews for
42
254
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed in a Waterfront twin room booked on wotif.com, clean but very basic. No wardrobe, just a peg on the wall and no aircon, just a fan. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. Because it is an old building, after getting the lift up to the second floor, we then had stairs to manoeuver with our luggage. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayLover006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My husband I stayed here for 5 nights in March. We were able to walk to all the sights in Hobart from there. We especially enjoyed the included breakfasts and the dinners were awesome. Best food we had in Hobart. The seafood was superb.
The front desk staff were extremely helpful.

Room Tip: We selected a room in the back of the hotel which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

My partner and I stayed in March. The best thing abou this place is the location - right across from Salamanca Square and the wharf, and a short walk to the CBD. Probably one of the best locations to stay in. We had a room on the 3rd storey overlooking the wharf. The view was fabulous. Place was clean and tidy, the bed comfy and most of all was surprisingly quiet given that there was a band plaiying downstairs, we couldn't hear a thing. My only complaint was that the hot water in the shower kept turning cold then hot again. Wasn't enough to put me off staying here again. Definitely value for money given that it as much cheaper than alternative accommodation and in a much better location.

Room Tip: Try and request a room that has a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiney_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Discovered this venue by chance and we were attracted by the busy dining room. The staff were friendly and attentive. Meals were a good size, well presented and delicious.. Good selection of wines by the glass.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.5 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.7 km away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 48 in Hobart
1,207 reviews
0.5 km away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Customs House Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Customs House Waterfront Hotel

Property: Customs House Waterfront Hotel
Address: 1 Murray St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price range (per night): $114 - $284
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Customs House Waterfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Customs House Waterfront Hotel est 1846, located on Hobart's waterfront, walking distance to Salamanca, historic Battery Point and the CBD. This hobart Hotel has 23 rooms, 2 bars and a popular seafood restaurant and VUE. All Rooms have queen beds, internet access, fridge, hair dryers, ensuite bathrooms, tv, desk and coffee making facilities.Some rooms have views overlooking the waterfront & docks. This Hobart hotel is heritage listed, but has been upgraded to a 3.5star level, keeping many original features including it's convict stone walls.The restaurant is very popular selling the local seafood aswell as local meat and produce. Vue is our new cocktail lounge and is available for private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Customs House Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Customs Hotel Waterfront
Customs House Waterfront Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing