We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated”
Review of Salamanca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salamanca Inn
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Dated”
Reviewed 14 November 2005

I first stayed at this property roughly 4 years ago. Having just returned I can report that nothing has changed in that time. Yes its well located in Battery Point which is Hobart's most historic precinct and its walking distance to great restaurants, cafes and shops. However the apartments (we stayed in a 2 bedroom) are in need of an update. The lounge furniture is old and tacky and the beds most uncomfortable to sleep in. For this reason I would not stay there again. And they are charging top dollar too.

There are many apartment alternatives that I will try next time. Namely Somerset on the Pier and also a new development Zero Davey which looks great.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Melbourneguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    235
    41
    10
    4
See reviews for
155
236
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2005

We stayed at the Salamanca Inn for 3 nights from 22 - 25 October 2005. We had stayed there before 3 years ago and had a very enjoyable stay.

Overall I still think this is a good hotel in a great location. We had a 2 bedroom apartment in the complex across the road from the main hotel which was very spacious with 2 bathrooms and a large open plan kitchen, dining and living area. However, I do have some negative comments:

1. We arrived at about 10.30pm on a Saturday night after travelling most of the day from Perth. The restaurant and bar had already closed and the receptionist could only recommend the Irish Murphys bar in Salamanca Place. In fact, that was a loud disco full of drunken teenagers. The only place to eat was a sandwich shop a couple of blocks away. It was only the next day that we found that we could have ordered room service, despite this not being brought to our attention.

2. Salamanca Place is now extremely noisy on Saturday nights with a young, drunken crowd. When we arrived at the entrance to the hotel at 10.30pm a youth was being arrested and handcuffed on the street by police. The noise outside continued until 5am. The next 2 nights were however quiet and peaceful.

It's still a great hotel but I think it is a bit overpriced, and if you are staying on a Saturday night I'd either make sure you have a room at the back of the complex or look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Jet Set Jimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2004

My partner and I have just returned from 3 days in Tasmania. We booked accomodation at a highly acclaimed bed & breakfast in Launceston which was comfortable. On our second night we stayed at Salamanca Inn "WOW". Over the last 12 mths we have stayed in Sydney, Apollo Bay, Gembrook, Daylsford, Wye River, yet Salamanca Inn was the most relaxing accomodation we have had the pleasure of staying in, it had everything that we needed and more and the price was fabulous. Thankyou to the staff and the lovely Tasmanian people.

Helpful?
29 Thank tlb2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.7 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.8 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#5 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.8 km away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.4 km away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Inn

Property: Salamanca Inn
Address: 10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hobart
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#7 Business Hotel in Hobart
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price range (per night): $166 - $380
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Salamanca Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamanca Inn is a 4.5 star all suite hotel located on the doorstep of the iconic Salamanca Place on the colourful waterfront of Hobart. Indulge in the historical ambience of this area, lined with plane trees and 1830s sandstone Georgian warehouses converted to Hobart's best restaurants, cafes, bars, galleries & speciality shops. All of Hobart's famous landmarks are within a short stroll of the hotel including, historical Sullivans Cove & Battery Point, Salamanca Market (Saturday only), St David's Park, Parliament House, and the city centre. Salamanca Inn offers the intimacy of a boutique hotel, but with the facilities of a much larger establishment. This includes the licensed bar and restaurant, 24 hour reception, swimming pool & spa, dry cleaning service, undercover & secure parking, laundry, wireless broadband internet, conference rooms and secretarial services. All suites offer a superior level of comfort featuring contemporary spacious open plan living area, Fully Equipped kitchen, luxurious bathroom, beautiful Tasmanian Oak and leather furnishings, Tasmanian Artwork, full size desk and 15 Foxtel Channels. Two bedroom suites offer a mezzanine floor and private balcony. One Bedroom suites contain personal computers with access to wireless broadband and 46 inch LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Salamanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Hotel Hobart
Salamanca Inn Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing