We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Hobart”
Review of Salamanca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salamanca Inn
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We have to agree with Archie1999 about the beds, they're not the most comfortable, but the remainder of the stay in the rooms for us and our friends was great - rooms are huge (especially the deluxe apartments) they have everything you could ask for and a bit more - we were very impressed. The first thing I checked was the fridge, and believe it or not, there was REAL milk, none of the UHT long life milk that most of the hotel chains use, it certainly got my thumbs up and I particularly like the fact that some of the pictures on the walls are done by local artists, including the amatuer ones. If you can put up with a bed that doesn't suit everyone, then you can't go past this place, it's so close to the markets and all the sights of Hobart, I would have given it 5 out of 5 if it wasn't for the beds! - good on you staff, because you I know you are probably monitoring this sight - Lynne from Wynyard

Room Tip: Two couples travelling together should ask for a Deluxe apartment - very roomy
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wynlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
There are newer reviews for Salamanca Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 473 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

After reading previous reviews I was looking forward to my stay here. When I arrived I was welcomed by a friendly receptionist. The apartment itself was clean and tidy. The major issues I had during my stay were the bathroom had no exhaust fan so everytime somebody had a shower the bathroom would be left moist. The master bedroom upstairs had a cold draft that came through the window and the heating in the apartment was not adequate enough to keep the room warm.

The bed had to be the most uncomfortable bed I had ever attempted to sleep in. It was like sleeping on a park bench it was that hard. I ended up sleepIng on the bedroom floor as this was more comfortable. Also bring along a set of ear plugs as all the street noise from passing traffic and the patrons from the pub down the road can be heard all night.

Overall I was very disappointed with my stay and won't be coming back in the future

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Archie1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed at Salamanca Inn for 3 nights 27-28-29 July while we attended the Doll house and miniature fair. The room was very spacious and clean. The staff were very helpful and polite. On the Saturday night we decided to order room service, we ordered the cob loaf (average) hot chips (nice) and 2 meatlovers pizza (not edible) the pizza's were soggy, very greasey and hard to tell what exactly the meat was. When we checked out on the Monday 30th July my wife communicated our concerns regarding the meal to the receptionist on the desk. We will stay at the hotel again but will not be ordering room service again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed for 3 nights & were very pleased we picked Salamanca Inn. Great position, good sized rooms, heated bathroom floors, galley kitchen, good breakfast & great staff. It was lovely to have a lounge & dining table so that you could stretch out & have something other than the bed to sit on.
The position is very handy to everything...Salamanca market is a couple of minutes away, handy to Mona ferry, the CBD & great restaurants. All in all I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussiemerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We can't say enough great things about this place.
Our first time to Hobart and were really impressed with the location of this place. Exactly what we wanted - able to step out of the hotel and just a few steps to the cafes, restaurants, ferry & salamanca market.
We arrived at 7.30am in the morning and although we knew check in time was not until 2pm, we asked if we could leave our bags there while we explored and they gave us our key and said the room is ready waiting for you so please go up and enjoy. The staff were absolutely lovely, couldnt do enough for you. Very attentive staff who greeted us every time we walked past reception with smiles :)
The room itself was huge, much better than what we had expected when we booked over the internet.
Heated flooring was great.....nice to go to the bathroom without gettign cold feet on the tiles!
Have absolutely no complaints about this place - it was clean, comfortable & extremely quiet, not to mention amazing location.
We will certainly be back for another visit & have recommended this place to everyone we know.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yoohoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.7 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.8 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 48 in Hobart
399 reviews
0.4 km away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.4 km away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Inn

Address: 10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#5 Family Hotel in Hobart
#7 Business Hotel in Hobart
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $188 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Salamanca Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamanca Inn is a 4.5 star all suite hotel located on the doorstep of the iconic Salamanca Place on the colourful waterfront of Hobart. Indulge in the historical ambience of this area, lined with plane trees and 1830s sandstone Georgian warehouses converted to Hobart's best restaurants, cafes, bars, galleries & speciality shops. All of Hobart's famous landmarks are within a short stroll of the hotel including, historical Sullivans Cove & Battery Point, Salamanca Market (Saturday only), St David's Park, Parliament House, and the city centre. Salamanca Inn offers the intimacy of a boutique hotel, but with the facilities of a much larger establishment. This includes the licensed bar and restaurant, 24 hour reception, swimming pool & spa, dry cleaning service, undercover & secure parking, laundry, wireless broadband internet, conference rooms and secretarial services. All suites offer a superior level of comfort featuring contemporary spacious open plan living area, Fully Equipped kitchen, luxurious bathroom, beautiful Tasmanian Oak and leather furnishings, Tasmanian Artwork, full size desk and 15 Foxtel Channels. Two bedroom suites offer a mezzanine floor and private balcony. One Bedroom suites contain personal computers with access to wireless broadband and 46 inch LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Salamanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Hotel Hobart
Salamanca Inn Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing