We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$209
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
No prepayment needed
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
AU$179
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Ross H
Adelaide, Australia
City Hotel with real character
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Nov 2023
Historic hotel with real character but dated. Rooms extremely dark/poorly lit making reading difficult. However, rooms otherwise comfortable. Great location but unloading luggage awkward and minimal help. Reception and service staff excellent.
Date of stay: November 2023
Room Tip:  Must be prepared and able to totally manage own luggage. Hotel car park essential.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$219
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$198
  • Vio.com
    AU$204
0.6 km from Hadley's Orient Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$227
  • Priceline
    AU$260
  • Agoda.com
    AU$193
  • Expedia.com
    AU$260
0.5 km from Hadley's Orient Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
AU$320
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$256
  • Hotels.com
    AU$320
0.7 km from Hadley's Orient Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$203
  • Priceline
    AU$203
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$192
  • Movenpick
    AU$203
0.2 km from Hadley's Orient Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$241
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$270
  • Agoda.com
    AU$205
  • Expedia.com
    AU$270
0.8 km from Hadley's Orient Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
    AU$142
  • Hotels.com
    AU$149
0.2 km from Hadley's Orient Hotel
Free Wifi
Room service
HIGH RES Room bedroom bath and tulips
Booking.com
AU$251
  • Priceline
    AU$288
  • Agoda.com
    AU$226
  • Expedia.com
    AU$283
0.8 km from Hadley's Orient Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$161
  • Hotels.com
    AU$179
0.6 km from Hadley's Orient Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$145
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$145
  • Priceline
  • ibis Styles
    AU$145
0.3 km from Hadley's Orient Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$159
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$159
  • Agoda.com
    AU$127
  • Expedia.com
    AU$159
2.2 km from Hadley's Orient Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hobart
Reviews (1,335)
Filter reviews
1,335 results
Traveller rating
741
452
99
30
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
741
452
99
30
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea old world charm victorian era historic hotel superior room murray street step back in time continental breakfast old style family room salamanca markets central location reception staff salamanca place stayed for nights comfy bed constitution dock
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 1,335 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2023 via mobile

Ok, so a beautiful venue that is full of history. Great service. Good food.
But, location is perfect for walking in the city. Difficult if you have a vehicle as paid parking is in another area in a car park on lovel 8. So you need to check in, put bags in your room then go park with only a 15min park at the entrance. Check out is bit difficult as well.
Also bcz of the age it has wooden floorboards so can get noisy, has with the central foyer eating area of your room faces this area. Dark room that need more light.
Comfortable beds and clean rooms. But a truly beautiful place to visit.

Room tip: Be aware if you have a car.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank getnround
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean White, General Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2023

Dear getnround,

Thank you for your generally positive review and constructive feedback. Regarding the parking arrangements, we are one of the few CBD hotels that offers carparking, albeit not onsite. Unfortunately, much of the city of Hobart has a rivulet running underneath it and so many of the buildings were built without carparking. At Hadley's, we try to make it as seamless as possible for our guests.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our Victorian-era hotel and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Dean White
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2023

I loved Hadleys the moment I walked in. The staff were so friendly and welcoming, explained everything really well and always happy to answer questions and took time out of their busy days to have a chat to the kids when we walked in or left, asking our plans for the day and even remembering what we had planned on our return, asking how it was. The rooms were clean and well set out. House keeping were quick, efficient and friendly, meals and room service were spot on.
Loved the spots of history through the building and the details in the compendium.
Can’t fault Hadleys at all.
The only minor downside, very minor was parking being 100 metres away which my 4 and 6 year old sometimes struggled with after a long day of exploring Hobart but the staff and facilities easily made up for it.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean White, General Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2023

Dear 231nath,

Thank you for your positive review and feedback, and especially for recognising the fantastic service our team provides - it give us a spring in our step!

Regarding the parking arrangements, we are one of the few CBD hotels that offers carparking, albeit not onsite. Unfortunately, much of the city of Hobart has a rivulet running underneath it and so many of the buildings were built without carparking. At Hadley's, we try to make it as seamless as possible for our guests.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Dean White
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2023

Best location in Hobart for quality service by quality staff.
Room was excellent and food was terrific.
This is our go to hotel whenever we are in Hobart.
From our walk through the front door we were treated like royalty.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cullens10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean White, General Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2023

Dear Cullens10,

Thank you so much for your kind review, and we love welcoming you back time and time again. Happy holidays !

Kind regards,

Dean White
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2023

It was only just ok. I am pretty certain I got bedbugs here! I wanted an experience here and I got it! The smoke alarms kept going off in other rooms, doors slamming and the bed bugs. Room needed repairs and was tired. Not recommended.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean White, General Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2023

Hi Nickel17,

Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on offering only the best guest experiences and considering the nature of your review, we would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you. If you’re happy to do so, please give me a call at the hotel on 03 6237 2999.

Kind regards,

Dean White
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2023

We had 3 nights at Hadley’s Orient Hotel and it was fabulous ! If you’re looking for a special treat ..then this is it . Lovely walk down to Salamanca and the markets .
Excellent bar with an excellent variety from fabulous cocktails to beautiful whiskey selection .
Breakfast’s were delicious .
I would highly recommend and would definitely stay again when in Hobart .
Hadley you were amazing !

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean White, General Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2023

Dear annehC15ID,

Thank you for your positive review and feedback. We love it when our guests feel the genuine warmth we strive to provide.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Dean White
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews