We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
AU$249
Fully refundable before Thu, 7 Mar
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
AU$249
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
AU$220
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,303)
Filter reviews
1,303 results
Traveller rating
718
445
97
30
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
718
445
97
30
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea old world charm victorian era historic hotel superior room murray street step back in time continental breakfast old style family room salamanca markets central location reception staff salamanca place stayed for nights comfy bed constitution dock
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 1,303 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2021

Location was most convenient, great history and architecture, excellent continental breakfast were all the pluses.
Minuses were in the quality and comfort of our room.
We chose to take advantage of the upgrade offered, for extra cost, but were disappointed with the room’s size, which was the minimum size I would have expected in the ‘standard’ category.
The advertised parking provided was one of the main reasons for choosing this hotel but the complicated directions to get to it and it’s distance from hotel was too great so we ended up organising our own.
Lighting, only provided by lamps, great ambiance, but were useless for reading.
The king size bed were two singles pushed together resulting in a hard ridge in the centre (suggest others requesting queen, not king).
Also suggest requesting a room away from the street as traffic noise was most obvious until after midnight, even on a Tuesday.
The very small bathroom had a shower over the bath with inadequate partition to stop spray over floor.
Toilet roll, which also suffered from shower spray, was placed very inconveniently on opposite wall to toilet.
And finally, amazed to be asked to pay $3.50 for a bottle of water, which even the cheapest motels offer for free.

Room tip: Ask for a queen bed and away from street
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meganr518
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marc Dille, General Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2021

Dear meganr518

Thank you for taking the time to review Hadley's Orient Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all feedback as it allows us to continually improve our facilities and services.

Kind Regards
Marc Dille
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2021 via mobile

Great old hotel full of history. Excellent service very friendly staff. Rooms quirky and clean.
Free continental breakfast or upgrade for a cooked breakfast. Hotel bar offers an array of choice and also offers afternoon tea which although we didn't try is reported by other guests to be great

Room tip: Only street parking near hotel but they do offer off street parking nearby. Hotel is accessible but check when booking as some rooms have stairs to the ensuite
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank penguinsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marc Dille, General Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2021

Dear penguinsmum

Thank you for taking the time to review Hadley's Orient Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our Heritage Hotel and found the service excellent and staff very friendly.

Kind Regards
Marc Dille
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2021

I will try to be short with this outstanding review:
Location: perfect.
Food/Breakfast: very average
Rooms: slightly outdated but classy, prefect location of Aircon/heater - does not blow into your head
But me and my 2 younger kids could forget anything due the the staff!!
Helpful, funny, kind, right to point details and advise where to go, what to see, honest if they do not know - everything about them was perfect and that made our stay great!! - THANK YOU.
Kids said that they do not mind coming back!! - You know kids are honest!

Room tip: the room was near lifts and we still did NOT hear much - so, it's all depends on your budget
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGV123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marc Dille, General Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2021

Dear RGC123

Thank you for your review of Hadley's Orient Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the awesome staff and customer service and that both yourself and your kids enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards
Marc Dille
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2021 via mobile

Our recent stay at the Hadley's Orient Hotel was a memorable one. We recommend this luxury hotel to anyone who wants to have all the comforts. It's a hotel with do much of character. The bed was amazing so was the very friendly staff. It was so convenient to get to any place in Hobart from the hotel. We will definitely stay there during our next visit to Hobart.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ashades1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marc Dille, General Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2021

Dear ashades1960

Thank you for taking the time to review Hadley's Orient Hotel. We are delighted that you had a memorable stay with us and thank you for your recommendation.

Kind Regards
Marc Dille
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2021

We stayed here for the third time and as always it was a delight. This time in a Room on the first floor overlooking Murray St. So close to everything especially with Dark Mofo in mind. Walking everywhere is easy - waterfront, Salamanca Place, Battery Point, the city arcades, coffee shops, cafes, pubs etc. The staff are always on hand to help and with a happy attitude The room was spotless and facilities perfect. We would not stay anywhere else.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marc Dille, General Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2021

Dear Ruth E

Thank you for your review of Hadley's Orient Hotel. We are delighted that you had a charming stay with us and found the room spotless and facilities perfect.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards
Marc Dille
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews