We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stop!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2016

A fantastically warm welcome at an historic and very comfortable hotel.
Elise was a breath of fresh air after a weary journey and the man sized bath and room service fish and chips were a great bonus!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ongoncatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy M, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

It’s lovely to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 285 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2016

we stayed there because we liked the idea of the old world charm. we enjoyed the piano in the bar, the food was good, the staff were lovely. The room was a bit small, I wasn't pleased that it hadn't been made more obvious that the parking was off site and would cost an extra $15 a night. which bumped the price up a bit.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1966Suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Dear 1966Suzanne,
Thanks for your review and choosing to stay with us for the heritage style of the hotel. We appreciate your feedback on the Orient Bar along with our friendly team at the hotel.
Our accommodation does vary in sizing and we recommend guests book directly via our website or view the accommodation online which shows our accommodation offerings accurately.
Thanks for the feedback you have provided on the parking and our apologies this was not explained correctly. As a heritage style hotel in Hobart's CBD, we offer secure parking in a multi-story car park located just around the corner from the hotel with additional charges. Our team will ensure all guests booking parking are notified if this at the time of booking, our apologies this may not have been the case for your booking.
Should you have any further feedback feel welcome to contact me directly at the hotel and once again thanks for taking the time to leave a review.
Warmest regards,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

We loved this hotel. Old school grandeur, combined with local charm. The rooms are lovely and have everything that you need. And the food/bar is great. Live music over the weekend and really friendly staff. Be sure to come say g'day to Phoebe. She's the extremely helpful and fun girl that believes xmas is in May. We will be back.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jarrodsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Dear Jarrodsanders,
Thanks for your lovely review after your recent visit for the event you had here at the Hotel. Pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay and thanks for such kind words on our team, have passed this on to Phoebe and the rest of the team.
Hope to see you again.
Warmest regards,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

We stayed in this wonderful hotel for 2 nights and were very glad we did. The location is very close to all amenities, restaurants Cafes and Salamanca Markets. On our second night we were going out for dinner, but passing through reception and the bar we noticed they had a piano player doing modern classics with happy groups of people enjoying the ambiance, so we checked out there dinner menu, which satisfied us and decided to stay in for dinner. It was a great choice, relaxing in the Orient bar enjoying good food, good wine with lovely music and then just toddled up to bed. Perfect

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Dear Robyn H,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review after your recent stay with us at Hadley's Orient Hotel.
So lovely to read you had a comfortable two night stay with us whilst in Hobart, pleased you had the chance to explore the nearby areas on foot including the famous Salamanca Markets. Thank you for your kind words on our resident pianist who plays in the Orient Bar Thursday - Saturday evenings. Sounds like you had a very comfortable evening with us relaxing in the bar.
Safe travels and once again we appreciate your review.
Warmest regards,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

This hotel is in the middle of Hobart within easy walking distance to the water front and Salamanca. We had a suite with a very large living room that was comfortable although the large size made it appear to be sparsely furnished. We were on the 4th floor street facing and it was very quiet.

Room Tip: Our 4th floor room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjm47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy M, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.6 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.6 km away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#12 of 47 in Hobart
1,381 reviews
0.7 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.7 km away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadley's Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadley's Orient Hotel

Address: 34 Murray St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#11 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $138 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hadley's Orient Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hadley's Orient Hotel Hobart is the one of the oldest boutique hotels in Australia. Originally constructed by convict labour in 1834, this National Trust listed hotel is a unique place to stay in the heart of the city. The property has been fully restored to reflect the Victorian era under the guidance of heritage experts. Hadley's Orient Hotel offers 71 guest rooms and suites, an onsite bar serving light meals, guest lounge, Traditional High Tea(bookings essential), conference and event space, 24 hour reception including concierge services and complimentary WiFi throughout the property. The property is just 20 min from the airport and 5 min walk from the business and government centre of Hobart, Salamanca Markets, Constitution Dock and CBD shopping. Located right in the heart of the city, directly opposite the beautiful St Davids Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your Hadley's Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Hobart Hadleys Hotel And Apartments
Grand Accor Hadleys Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing