We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (821)
Filter reviews
821 results
Traveller rating
389
335
67
23
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
335
67
23
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea old world charm grand old hotel restored hotel murray street superior room turn down service family room salamanca markets car park salamanca place comfortable beds reception staff city centre breakfast was included hotel is in a great location short stroll
Filter
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 821 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2016

we stayed there because we liked the idea of the old world charm. we enjoyed the piano in the bar, the food was good, the staff were lovely. The room was a bit small, I wasn't pleased that it hadn't been made more obvious that the parking was off site and would cost an extra $15 a night. which bumped the price up a bit.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1966Suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Dear 1966Suzanne,
Thanks for your review and choosing to stay with us for the heritage style of the hotel. We appreciate your feedback on the Orient Bar along with our friendly team at the hotel.
Our accommodation does vary in sizing and we recommend guests book directly via our website or view the accommodation online which shows our accommodation offerings accurately.
Thanks for the feedback you have provided on the parking and our apologies this was not explained correctly. As a heritage style hotel in Hobart's CBD, we offer secure parking in a multi-story car park located just around the corner from the hotel with additional charges. Our team will ensure all guests booking parking are notified if this at the time of booking, our apologies this may not have been the case for your booking.
Should you have any further feedback feel welcome to contact me directly at the hotel and once again thanks for taking the time to leave a review.
Warmest regards,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

We loved this hotel. Old school grandeur, combined with local charm. The rooms are lovely and have everything that you need. And the food/bar is great. Live music over the weekend and really friendly staff. Be sure to come say g'day to Phoebe. She's the extremely helpful and fun girl that believes xmas is in May. We will be back.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jarrodsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Dear Jarrodsanders,
Thanks for your lovely review after your recent visit for the event you had here at the Hotel. Pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay and thanks for such kind words on our team, have passed this on to Phoebe and the rest of the team.
Hope to see you again.
Warmest regards,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

We stayed in this wonderful hotel for 2 nights and were very glad we did. The location is very close to all amenities, restaurants Cafes and Salamanca Markets. On our second night we were going out for dinner, but passing through reception and the bar we noticed they had a piano player doing modern classics with happy groups of people enjoying the ambiance, so we checked out there dinner menu, which satisfied us and decided to stay in for dinner. It was a great choice, relaxing in the Orient bar enjoying good food, good wine with lovely music and then just toddled up to bed. Perfect

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Dear Robyn H,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review after your recent stay with us at Hadley's Orient Hotel.
So lovely to read you had a comfortable two night stay with us whilst in Hobart, pleased you had the chance to explore the nearby areas on foot including the famous Salamanca Markets. Thank you for your kind words on our resident pianist who plays in the Orient Bar Thursday - Saturday evenings. Sounds like you had a very comfortable evening with us relaxing in the bar.
Safe travels and once again we appreciate your review.
Warmest regards,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

This hotel is in the middle of Hobart within easy walking distance to the water front and Salamanca. We had a suite with a very large living room that was comfortable although the large size made it appear to be sparsely furnished. We were on the 4th floor street facing and it was very quiet.

Room Tip: Our 4th floor room was very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjm47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy M, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Good location, about 10mins walk from Salamanca bars and restaurants.
WIFI good. Only thing that we didnt like is dull lighting in the room. Why dont hotels have a light in the middle of the room instead of just the sides? Seems to be common. All staff were friendly and supplied us with umbrellas when needed. We would stay again if back in Hobart.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwiduo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2016

DearKiwiduo50,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and leave a review. Pleased you enjoyed our CBD location and our fast WiFi we offer complimentary to all guests.
We appreciate your feedback on the lighting and our apologies you found it to be darker than you would have anticipated in the hotel rooms. The lighting is to match the Victorian style of the restored accommodation rooms hence the side lamps and free standing lamps in the rooms.
Lovely to read you found our team to be welcoming and friendly and were able to assist you with umbrellas when the weather in Hobart was a little less than to be desired. We look forward to welcoming you again should you be returning to Hobart soon.
Warmest regards,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews