We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Peter G

Satisfies the need at a good price.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Mar 2023
Not the first time we have stayed. The rooms are a good size, clean and have all you require. For a stay where you do not spend much time in the hotel the facility is great. Had meal previously at the hotel and again basic but satified the need. Hobart has good restaurants and bars for an eating experience so the hotel does not need to provide fine dinning. Staff friendly. Only issue was the 6.30 am fire alarm. We shall return.
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherlin Verma, Marketing at Best Western Hobart, responded to this review
Responded 24 Apr 2023
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to hear that you had an excellent experience. We really value your feedback and are committed to providing the best possible services to all our customers. We hope to see you again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$199
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.9 km from Best Western Hobart
Pool
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$202
  • Algotels
1.1 km from Best Western Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$172
  • Movenpick
    AU$190
0.6 km from Best Western Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$230
  • Expedia.com
    AU$300
1.1 km from Best Western Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$172
  • VibeHotels.com
    AU$178
0.6 km from Best Western Hobart
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$157
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Best Western Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$100
  • Algotels
1.1 km from Best Western Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$149
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Best Western Hobart
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$156
  • Algotels
2.5 km from Best Western Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$139
  • ibis Styles
    AU$145
0.4 km from Best Western Hobart
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Hobart
Reviews (1,118)
Filter reviews
1,118 results
Traveller rating
259
473
275
69
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
259
473
275
69
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews embers restaurant fourth floor family room small balcony would stay again bit dated free wifi comfortable bed per day within walking distance city centre an upgrade car parking street noise water front salamanca place short stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1,118 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2023

Room was very clean and tidy. Beds were super comfortable. Short walk to the wharf and CBD. Great location to see central attractions. Staff were all friendly and helpful. On-site parking was helpful.

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank HM2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherlin Verma, Marketing at Best Western Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2023

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to hear that you had an excellent experience. We really value your feedback and are committed to providing the best possible services to all our customers. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2023

Best Western was easy to find and check-in straightforward.
Parking was simple an there is easy access from the car.
Bed, linen and towels all good
Breakfast was very good and the staff were pleasant and helpful.
Its an easy walk into the CBD or down to the waterfront

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gwen008
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherlin Verma, Marketing at Best Western Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2023

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to hear that you had an excellent experience. We really value your feedback and are committed to providing the best possible services to all our customers. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2022

Excellent modern hotel near the town centre, within easy walking distance from the town centre. It is a welcoming and spacious modern hotel, and a good addition to the limited options in Hobart. Rooms are of good size, comfortable beds, reliable wifi and most come with balconies. Its family room is a one-bedroom suite essentially and the space is much appreciated for my family. The hotel also has a well-maintained pay-to-use laundry room, and ample space to hang out for guests it never feels busy. The room rate was fair where Hobart has become too expensive.

I didn't give it a full star as we felt while the front desk was fairly helpful, it was rather impersonal and comes across as rather transactional. Eg. we booked our own trip as they simply directed us to tourist brochures and could have further helped. Also, our family room was good but we know could have been better, because other family rooms are larger while our room didn't have a balcony because of the dusty roof outside outside our window.

This said, with the right price-quality I would love to stay here again if we revisit Hobart.

Date of stay: December 2022
Thank WeeKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherlin Verma, Marketing at Best Western Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2023

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to hear that you had an excellent experience. We really value your feedback and are committed to providing the best possible services to all our customers. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2022

The hotel is located back from the centre and water, but Hobart is quite small and this is not a real issue - about 10-15 minutes walk to the waterfront. The hotel looks a little tired from the outside.
Checkin was quick and easy. I had a room on the top floor looking east - I could see the water. The room was big enough.
The room is a little dated, but the bathroom appeared to have been renovated recently. Powerpoints were in the right places for charging and using a laptop. Bed was fine. The fridge was in a cuboard, which was not quite wide enough, meaning that opening the door was a challenge as it got caught on the hinges.
I would stay here again

Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tripping_Taylors
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2022

We stayed for four nights
Room was on the first floor and had no balcony - a convention room is also on the first floor! so, it may not be quite
Our room had a window which could only open 10cm, yet it had a security screen!
Power points for the kettle where all in the wrong places - not by the table in the room!
so we have had to plug in the kettle on the bedside table next to the bed - strange setup!
and the kettle was plastic - for a four-star hotel with plastic kettles in this day come on!
The bathroom was one of the best we have seen in our travels! - it was so new, and we both enjoyed a nice hot bath at the end of the day

Date of stay: November 2022
Thank PeteK570
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews