We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tripping_Taylors
Australia

Better than it looks

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Dec 2022
The hotel is located back from the centre and water, but Hobart is quite small and this is not a real issue - about 10-15 minutes walk to the waterfront. The hotel looks a little tired from the outside.
Checkin was quick and easy. I had a room on the top floor looking east - I could see the water. The room was big enough.
The room is a little dated, but the bathroom appeared to have been renovated recently. Powerpoints were in the right places for charging and using a laptop. Bed was fine. The fridge was in a cuboard, which was not quite wide enough, meaning that opening the door was a challenge as it got caught on the hinges.
I would stay here again


Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$197
  • VibeHotels.com
    AU$174
  • Expedia.com
    AU$197
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Best Western Hobart
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$272
  • Hotels.com
    AU$320
  • Agoda.com
    AU$242
  • Expedia.com
    AU$320
1.1 km from Best Western Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$169
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$169
  • Agoda.com
    AU$147
  • Hotels.com
    AU$169
1.0 km from Best Western Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$328
  • Expedia.com
    AU$380
  • Agoda.com
    AU$290
  • Hotels.com
    AU$380
1.1 km from Best Western Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$189
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$189
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$187
  • Hotels.com
    AU$189
0.9 km from Best Western Hobart
Pool
Restaurant
AU$185
  • Movenpick
    AU$185
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$185
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Best Western Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$203
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$190
  • Agoda.com
    AU$177
  • Hotels.com
    AU$188
1.2 km from Best Western Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
travelodge hotel hobart exterior
AU$129
Fully refundable
  • Travelodge.com.au
    AU$99
  • StayForLong
    AU$124
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Best Western Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$155
  • Booking.com
    AU$155
  • Expedia.com
    AU$155
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$155
0.4 km from Best Western Hobart
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$142
  • Expedia.com
    AU$150
  • Agoda.com
    AU$130
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Best Western Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hobart
Reviews (1,119)
Filter reviews
1,119 results
Traveller rating
259
474
275
69
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
259
474
275
69
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews embers restaurant fourth floor family room small balcony would stay again bit dated free wifi comfortable bed per day within walking distance city centre an upgrade car parking street noise water front salamanca place short stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1,119 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2022

We stayed for four nights
Room was on the first floor and had no balcony - a convention room is also on the first floor! so, it may not be quite
Our room had a window which could only open 10cm, yet it had a security screen!
Power points for the kettle where all in the wrong places - not by the table in the room!
so we have had to plug in the kettle on the bedside table next to the bed - strange setup!
and the kettle was plastic - for a four-star hotel with plastic kettles in this day come on!
The bathroom was one of the best we have seen in our travels! - it was so new, and we both enjoyed a nice hot bath at the end of the day

Date of stay: November 2022
Thank PeteK570
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 December 2022

We stayed overnight for a meeting in Hobart. Cofirmed and paid booking online and called to check-in late. Morning reception was not a delight to talk to. She bungled up our reservation and was told we did not booked for the day and was booked on the following day. She transferred us 4 x to another service and hunged up 4x. We had to repeatedly call 4 x and had to ask to leave our mobile number for reservation to call us back. Good thing reservation people confirmed booking explaining technical error on their computer not updating. We were worried all throughout drive to Hobart fearing our reservation did not pushed through from the way reception handled it. Poor communication and unnecessary stress on traveling. Night staff was excellent though. Fast easy check-in. The rest of the facilities were great. Near the city, parking is convenient and breakfast room service was great. So call to confirm booking before you come to this hotel.

Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank GJT78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 November 2022

The hotel is centrally located in Hobart and was easy to get in and out of by car. It is also within eaay walking distance of various attractions and restaurants. Rooms are basic but clean and tidy and the staff are friendly and accommodating.

Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Manni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 November 2022

We spent 4 nights at this hotel in October. Great location to downtown Hobart. The docks and Salamanca Place are within walking distance otherwise it’s a short taxi ride away. We had a superior room on the 5th floor which I would recommend. Room was very clean and king bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly. I didn’t eat at the restaurant. It represented good value for money. I would recommend this hotel although parking was expensive at $15 per night.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank MelindaB102022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 November 2022

Great bed, clean and nice staff. Very noisy on Friday & Saturday nights due to nightclub or something near by. Can hear adjoining rooms also. We were watching telly before. 10pm and the guest in an adjoining room kept thumping on our wall to turn it down (it wasn’t loud!). We wished we’d booked closer to the water front,

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kiwisonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews