We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jon G
Gisborne, Australia

Old world charm

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Mar 2021via mobile
One of our first trips away post Covid did not disappoint. A beautiful old home made for a relaxing stay on the edge of the restaurant district in Hobart. The water front is a 15 minute stroll down the street with its histrionic buildings and activities.

Our room looked out the back into the garden and was so peaceful and quiet for such a busy area. Jeff the owner was very welcoming and informative on the house and what to do in the town.
Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$209
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$209
  • Hotels.com
    AU$209
  • Vio.com
    AU$209
1.2 km from The Lodge on Elizabeth
Pool
Restaurant
AU$200
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$200
  • Agoda.com
    AU$171
  • Vio.com
    AU$200
1.4 km from The Lodge on Elizabeth
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$175
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$175
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$169
  • Hotels.com
    AU$175
0.9 km from The Lodge on Elizabeth
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$252
  • Expedia.com
    AU$300
  • Agoda.com
    AU$229
  • Hotels.com
    AU$300
1.5 km from The Lodge on Elizabeth
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$169
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$169
  • Agoda.com
    AU$150
  • Hotels.com
    AU$169
1.2 km from The Lodge on Elizabeth
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$185
  • Movenpick
    AU$185
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$181
  • Expedia.com
    AU$185
1.0 km from The Lodge on Elizabeth
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$209
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$212
  • Hotels.com
    AU$187
  • Vio.com
    AU$187
1.7 km from The Lodge on Elizabeth
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Twin Studio photo 1
AU$129
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$129
  • Agoda.com
    AU$103
  • Hotels.com
    AU$129
1.8 km from The Lodge on Elizabeth
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$158
  • Expedia.com
    AU$179
  • Agoda.com
    AU$146
  • Hotels.com
    AU$179
3.1 km from The Lodge on Elizabeth
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$145
  • ibis Styles
    AU$145
  • Expedia.com
    AU$145
  • Priceline
    AU$145
1.1 km from The Lodge on Elizabeth
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Hobart
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
222
71
16
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
222
71
16
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews complimentary port north hobart continental breakfast drawing room restaurant strip spa bath old building free parking short stay jeff accommodation loungeroom waterfront eateries ensuite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2021

What a gem we found!
Lovely boutique lodge with exceptionally welcoming and lovely staff. We truly felt at home. Jeff was incredibly accomodating, allowing us to check in early and store our surf boards.

Great way to end our time in Hobart. Wish we could have stayed longer but we will be back :)

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lizzyp85156
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 December 2020

The Lodge on Elizabeth is one of the most relaxing places to stay in Hobart. The owners Jeff and Julie treated us with so much kindness. Our room was clean, warm and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious with so many choices to choose from. The front veranda was a nice pleasant place to sit early mornings or late evening to read or meditate. When it was time to leave, you could feel the sincerity of Love from Jeff and Julie. If we ever have an opportunity to visit Hobart again, we most definitely will stay at the Lodge on Elizabeth.

The visit was November 2014 not 2020.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank X2701IObrendaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 November 2020

Two years ago, we stayed at The Lodge on Elizabeth( in Dec. 2018), but then our comment on TripAdvisor hit a glitch and wasn't posted, hence a two-year delay in thanking the experience of staying at this lovely lodge. Owner Jeff's personal touch is heart-warming. Attentive and caring, he sought a doctor when my throat felt sore, he read out a breakfast menu every morning and looked after our overall wellbeing. The furnishings, a few weeks short of Christmas, had an old-world charm and homey feeling, particularly in its lovely breakfast lounge. The quaint lodge exterior, stemming from the mid-19th century, was a major draw for us, well worth the uphill walk every evening as we came back from day-tripping. Thank you both, Jeff and his wife Julie, for this special home away from home.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CarlosP7333
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2020

Stayed at this B&B for 4 nights. Mine Hosts Jeff & Julie made myself and my wife very welcome. The ambience of the old building is amazing. The room we had was very comfortable and the decor was old world. Serviced every day. The breakfasts were Continental but plentiful, many things to choose from. Overall ten out of ten. A must stay if you are visiting Hobart. Copius amounts of restaurants within walking distance. A short stroll to the city.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2020 via mobile

We can’t speak highly enough of The Lodge on Elizabeth. The building is beautiful, rooms very comfortable, lovely breakfast and so many nice touches - a lovely lounge which looks out to Mt Wellington, complimentary port and magazines, coffee, tea and biscuits. The service was amazing - Jeff is a wonderful host - above and beyond. As well as our delightful stay, a week later Jeff held our luggage for us for the whole day which made for a relaxing day in Hobart. Highly reccomend.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Passionatehawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews