We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
223
71
16
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
223
71
16
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews complimentary port north hobart continental breakfast drawing room restaurant strip spa bath old building free parking short stay jeff accommodation loungeroom waterfront eateries ensuite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at The Lodge. It had a very welcoming and homey environment. And it was located near the waterfront, the restaurant district that locals go to and St Mary Catholic Church. Lovely garden in the premises as well for relaxing afternoon.

Room 14 was spacious with a good size bathroom with a jacuzzi. Bed was a traditional 4-pillar bed and firm mattress. Room was bright and well insulated so very comfortable.

The big difference to our stay is Jeff who puts the customers convenience ahead of anything. On the last evening, the living room was being used by a group. So we asked Jeff if we can bring get a glass of Port from the living room and bring it to the room. He then offered to bring a carafe of the port and glasses to the room instead. This made the evening just perfect.

Beyond above, lots of restaurant nearby. My favourite is the Cyclo Vietnam Street Food just beside The Lodge.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank chinaren_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 December 2018 via mobile

We stayed at The Lodge on Elizabeth before and after our tour of Tasmania. We loved it. Low key, charming host, everything done for us, and more. The room was bright, the bathroom roomy, wifi fast, laundry facilities easy access, breakfast a cut above continental. Jeff stored some extra clothing for us while we were away, welcomed us home when we returned, provided fresh milk for our in-room tea service, and booked the cab for us to go to the airport. He provides tea, coffee, biscuits, and sherry in the lounge. We couldn’t have asked for more. Well, we could have, and Jeff would have provided it.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 286vickic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 November 2018

We enjoyed our stays at the Lodge. Our hosts Jeff & Julie were gracious, helpful and welcoming. The rooms were comfortable, and the breakfasts good. It was a pleasure to cosy up in the sitting room, enjoying a read, with coffee and a glass of port at night. Bonus was the tasteful music playing gently in the breakfast room each morning - a nice way to start the day.

Room tip: Stylish historic building with a homely, welcoming feel.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djwilkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2018

Nice host was quite polite
small room a tad bigger than a coffin
seriously majorly overpriced for the size of room
seen us coming a mile away like our $$$'s
worst street parking ever
continental breaky was good
free WiFi
wont be back

across the road from an antique joint

Room tip: free breaky was a bonus
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1313cb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

The hosts Julie and Jeff are gracious, welcoming and show love for their property and city. From our arrival to departure, our stay was beyond expectations. The appointed room, breakfast, the sitting room and property all deserve shouts. A well run, clean, comfortable property for anyone staying in the area. Markets, shopping, water front, restaurants are all very close by. Highly recommended to all.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Brandi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews