We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely place, and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge on Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lodge on Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place, and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Hobart was good and the lodge was a pleasant place to be while there. A little bit of a walk to town but not so far as to be a problem even with a bit of shopping. Garden is nice, room is spacious.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    55
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
133
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

I recently stayed in the Lodge on Elizabeth, a lovely old building turned into a B&B. The location is some 10-15 minutes downhill walk to the Marina. My room was small but very comfortable, the bathroom a bit on a small size (I guess this is the norm for single rooms) but overall the stay was very pleasant. Lynn and Graeme were nice hosts and very helpful when it came to tips for sightseeing or even organising/booking. There is laundry room available and internet in house for a one-off fee of $5 for the whole stay, an unbelievable price. This came very handy as it was during the Qantas strike so I used the internet often to check on the flight situation.
The living room is beautiful, guests can help themselves to coffee/tea and cakes in the afternoon and port in the evening.
There is a lovely garden in the courtyard.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

I left it a little late to book some accommodation in Hobart and although choices were limited I was a little hesitant about this place as I had the idea it was a sort of large B&B - but it isn't, it is more of a personalised boutique hotel. In the end it turned out to be perfect.

The location is great - look, everything in Hobart is in walking distance so really this is ideal. It's between the Elizabeth Street Mall (easy to find - just head downhill towards the harbour and you'll go right through it!) and the Elizabeth Street restaurant strip (also easy to find - just head uphill towards North Hobart!). Just past Elizabeth St Mall is the harbour (eateries, MONA ferry, whisky cellar door etc) and Salamanca Place markets - all under 15 mins walk. (HINT - Hobart is very hilly so be prepared for a bit of uphill and down dale walking around town). Very conveniently there is a Hungry Jacks about two doors up and a 24 hour fast food joint (greasies) right next door which was pretty handy for a late night juice or hot chip fix. And it had Farmers Union Iced Coffee!

Our room was comfortable and also had a couch and coffee table. The bathroom was enormous and very clean, with corner spa and separate shower. The shower is fantastic, huge amounts of gushing hot water, and although I don't like a spa I did enjoy a soak in the bath tub. There is a good heater lamp in the bathroom and a heater in the room - plus electric blankets on every bed - so you don't need to worry about being cold, regardless of what the unpredictable Hobart weather throws up.

The breakfast was excellent. It is only available 8 - 9.30 which is obviously less than a big hotel but for a continental breakfast offers a great choice of fruit toast and bread, cereals, yoghurts, fruit and fruit juice, tea by the bag or pot, and actually pretty good dripolater coffee. The breakfast room is quite charming as the property sits on the side of a hill so while looking down past the garden onto the street, also gives you a view out over rooftops on the opposite side of the hill.

In addition to the breakfast room there is a common sitting room at the front of the house where you can chill out on old fashioned leather sofas and sip a glass of port. The whole place was heated quite nicely as it was a bit cold and wet when I was there. Along with your room key you get a key to enter by the front or back door and we were out till quite late some nights but it was no problem coming in at 1 am or later, we just let ourselves in and went to our room. (There are a few creaks in the floor and doors but that is to be expected with such a historic property!). The reception is often not attended but there is a phone at the front door and reception desk and if you need Graeme or Lynette they are never far away and were exceedingly helpful, and understanding of various delays.

My only complaints - I prefer a firmer mattress for my back, and there is a kettle, bar fridge, and hot drink makings in the room but I don't consider International Roast to be any sort of excuse for coffee... but there is great coffee in the breakfast room and overall I was very comfortable and happy staying here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Henry_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ourimbah, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

We had booked to stay there for 3 nights but our flight was cancelled due to ash cloud and we ended up staying 7 nights. Graeme and Lynette were very friendly and helpful. The spa room was very clean, the continental breakfast excellent (even providing gluten free cereal and bread). Guests can meet on a casual basis in the drawing room with free port and exchange stories. Restaurants are just up the road and a wide variety can be found. A very enjoyable stay and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissOzGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
246 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

stayed here 2 nights in Jan. 2011, all went quite well. Staff is exceedingly helpful! location is about 1 mile from the center of things downtown but it is a pleasant walk. easy car parking for free. not real fancy but quite adequate and very clean with nice plantings.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.9 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.0 km away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 45 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
1.2 km away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.4 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
1.0 km away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 45 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Elizabeth

Property: The Lodge on Elizabeth
Address: 249 Elizabeth St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Price range (per night): $147 - $259
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge on Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the grace and grandeur of this Stately Georgian Mansion. The Lodge on Elizabeth is elegant heritage accommodation, located just a short stroll to the Hobart CBD. All rooms have their own ensuite with the larger more luxurious rooms featuring spas, four-poster, half-tester or antique beds. Sit in the drawing room and enjoy complimentary port. Rejuvenate in our courtyard garden, so close but far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the Hobart city. Previously the home of many Tasmanian notables including one premier, The Lodge on Elizabeth bed and breakfast accommodation was built by convicts in 1829 and is listed by the National Trust. We are conveniently situated within minutes walk to approximately 20 North Hobart restaurants with a wide variety of cuisine. There are many tourist attractions within close proximity for both the adventurous and those looking for something a little more tranquil. The Lodge on Elizabeth in Hobart, Tasmania is an affordable indulgence with personalised service and the warm hospitality that you would expect from a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Odigeo so you can book your The Lodge on Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Elizabeth Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing