We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
AU$320
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 June
Priceline
AU$360
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 June
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
AU$320
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 June
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Nicole C
Brisbane, Australia

Easter Long Weekend in heart of Hobart waterfront

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Apr 2024
Great spot for easy walking access to Hobart pier, city, historic sites, restaurants and cafes. Perfect view over harbour from balcony, good size family room that easily fitted 4 adults. Two bathrooms, one is huge and the other is good sized with complimentary toiletries. One queen size bed and 2 singles in 2 separate bedrooms.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: The bedrooms are upstairs and can get stuffy but there is a pedestal fan in the cupboard and you...
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanna Sweeney, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear NicoleG8558Y

Taking the time to provide this kind of feedback is very appreciate by the team, it allows us to grow and enhance our offerings.

The family rooms are a unique style and we are thrilled they met your needs.

We do hope to welcome you back to Hobart soon.


Warm Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$335
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$335
  • Agoda.com
    AU$268
  • Priceline
    AU$305
0.3 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$219
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$219
  • Hotels.com
    AU$219
  • Expedia.com
    AU$219
0.3 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$232
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$211
  • Agoda.com
    AU$195
  • The Henry Jones
    AU$232
0.3 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$239
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$260
  • Expedia.com
    AU$260
  • Hotels.com
    AU$237
0.3 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Booking.com
AU$195
  • Movenpick
    AU$195
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$179
  • Priceline
    AU$195
0.4 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$169
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$169
  • Agoda.com
    AU$149
  • Hotels.com
    AU$169
0.5 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Executive Twin Studio photo 1
Booking.com
AU$165
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$165
  • Agoda.com
    AU$133
  • Hotels.com
    AU$165
1.2 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$139
Fully refundable
  • Travelodge.com.au
    AU$123
  • Vio.com
    AU$133
  • Priceline
    AU$139
0.6 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$159
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$145
  • Agoda.com
    AU$127
  • Expedia.com
    AU$159
2.1 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$155
  • ibis Styles
    AU$155
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$149
  • Priceline
    AU$155
0.7 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Hobart
Reviews (1,383)
Filter reviews
1,383 results
Traveller rating
550
517
183
90
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
550
517
183
90
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loft style great location washing machine and dryer balcony room salamanca markets restaurants and bars second bedroom air conditioner battery point easy walk city centre upstairs noise apartment parking accommodation kitchenette
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,383 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2024 via mobile

Air conditioning is not effective it was on when I arrived at 1pm and I thought it would be ok when I returned night night.

The bedroom was like a sauna around 28 degrees at 10pm when I went to bed despite being 18 degrees in the lounge room downstairs which was like an icebox.

This is a known issue and have since found reviews with the same issue. If I had seen this previously I would not have booked.

Comments about an upgrade that is a long overdue since last year and due early this year seem to be a throw away comment.

Rooms should not be sold and for the same price I could have stayed at the Chancellor or Vibe which I will do as I will not be back.

Shame everything else was perfect from an early checkin to a room upgrade.

Room tip: Avoid in summer.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank jacksal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanna Sweeney, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

Dear Jacksal,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience with us.


My team and I regret to learn about the various service shortfalls that you encountered as these are certainly not the level of standards that we are known for. We take the delivery of exceptional guest experience very seriously and will continue to improve in this.

Renovations have been postponed due to approval time frames however we can assure you that they will be occurring as soon as possible.

In the meantime if you would like to chat further, please do reach out, 03 6220 6600.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2024

Check in was a breeze and we were greeted with a smile (always important in my books). Our room was great, two bedrooms with 2 single beds in each (we are old high school friends from 50+ years ago). Upstairs bathroom has a walk in shower, downstairs bathroom has a shower over the bath and loo for convenience when lounging around. Good little kitchen with excellent size fridge to accommodate food items and locally acquired wines. Great location, right on the waterfront, nice balcony, extremely handy to Skybus pick up/drop off, ferry to Mona, Salamanca Markets, Tassie Tourist and Info Centre (where many tours depart from as well as Hop On/Hop Off bus stop) and excellent surrounding watering holes and restaurants. Apartment was serviced daily with fresh towels etc. The only fault I found was several of the mugs in the cupboard had not been washed properly and were very dirty upon arrival.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank taronga57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanna Sweeney, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

Dear Taronga57,
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience at Somerset on the Pier Hobart!


It is very encouraging for us to know that you had several delightful moments during your stay and, most importantly, that you felt at home-away-from-home!


We are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our residents motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.


We thank you again for your valued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back at any one of our serviced residences.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2024 via mobile

Staff are great and friendly the rooms are nice and it’s a great spot. But if you are a light sleeper don’t stay here because there’s a humming noise that kept waking me up all night. One of my worst sleeps I have ever had in saying all of this my wife slept like a log.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Pav-Chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanna Sweeney, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

Dear Pav-Chi
It was a great pleasure having you stay at Somerset on the Pier Hobart  Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay experience with us.

While we strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standards, monitoring our effectiveness can be a challenge at times.  We welcome suggestions such as yours as they indicate the areas where we can further improve. 


I have noted your observations and swill investigate what this noise could have been. We will certainly take them into account when we review with the respective team members.  


We take our guest experience seriously, and we will continue in our improvement efforts to provide excellent service and product to our guests. 

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2024

You cannot fault the location of this property I grant it that right on the pier. But the downfall with that is the noise factor of an evening particularly on a Friday and Saturday evening from the pub in the close proximity up until 3am. We stayed 9 days and our bedding was not changed once in that time. They do not have housekeeping on a Sunday and leave you a note under the door advising this unfortunately to us we arrived back too late to organise. The apartment was booked for 4 people but there is only a lounge that will fit two people and one uncomfortable lounge chair. The dining only came with 2 chairs and the desk had a desk chair so we had to make do with that with is not comfortable when you come home from a long day out sightseeing. We also had our room totally miss housekeeping for one day and when we phoned reception to advise they said nothing they can do now and it will just have to done the next day. On another day our bins were not emptied and another day the bin garbage bag from the bathroom was left on our bed. There is only air conditioning in the downstairs area so the upstairs area gets extremely hot and uncomfortable. There is a fan is one of the bedroom areas. We were told when booking there was free parking upon availability of course well we could not utilise the free parking on any day we were there. There were only 4 spots from memory along the pier near the hotel and the other comp parking is 5 mins walk away in council area and you need to leave a pass on your windscreen (these spots are limited). I can say however that the bedding was very comfortable which was a blessing after a very busy day out and lots of walking. For my first trip to Hobart I will never stay here again nor recommend it to friends, family or work colleagues.
I did however have a fabulous time in Hobart and will review places in other posts.

Room tip: Great location but poorly furnished (dated) and unsatisfactory service from housekeeping.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank shemmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanna Sweeney, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2024

Dear Shemmas,

Thank you for taking the time to complete online feedback.


I noted that we failed to meet your expectations in certain aspects of your recent stay with us.  I have carefully reviewed your concerns and I am very sorry for having failed to give you the service all our guests expect.  


We are constantly looking at ways to improve our services, and, following your feedback, I will focus my efforts to drive improvements in these areas:

I would like to assure you that isolated case and not indicative of our usual service standards. We hope you will give us another opportunity to improve the impression you have of us. 


Please feel free to contact me directly for your future bookings so that I may personally look after your stay.


Once again, thank you for your valued feedback. From all of us at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, we look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our serviced residences.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2023

Great location, awesome staff. Very spacious rooms, right on the water with spectacular views across the harbour and piers. Easy walk to Salamanca and all the restaurants and pubs on the harbour. Rooms have all the modern amenities.

Room tip: Parking is easy. If not available at the Apartments there is complimentary parking nearby.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 96JAMNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanna Sweeney, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2024

Dear 96Jamnc,
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience at Somerset on the Pier Hobart!

It is very encouraging for us to know that you had several delightful moments during your stay and most importantly, that you felt home-away-from-home!

We are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards and receiving such positive feedback from our guests motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

We thank you again for your valued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back at any one of our serviced residences.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews