We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
AU$320
Fully refundable before Sat, 4 May
No prepayment needed
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
shemmas
Sydney, Australia
Would not recommend unfortunately
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Jan 2024
You cannot fault the location of this property I grant it that right on the pier. But the downfall with that is the noise factor of an evening particularly on a Friday and Saturday evening from the pub in the close proximity up until 3am. We stayed 9 days and our bedding was not changed once in that time. They do not have housekeeping on a Sunday and leave you a note under the door advising this unfortunately to us we arrived back too late to organise. The apartment was booked for 4 people but there is only a lounge that will fit two people and one uncomfortable lounge chair. The dining only came with 2 chairs and the desk had a desk chair so we had to make do with that with is not comfortable when you come home from a long day out sightseeing. We also had our room totally miss housekeeping for one day and when we phoned reception to advise they said nothing they can do now and it will just have to done the next day. On another day our bins were not emptied and another day the bin garbage bag from the bathroom was left on our bed. There is only air conditioning in the downstairs area so the upstairs area gets extremely hot and uncomfortable. There is a fan is one of the bedroom areas. We were told when booking there was free parking upon availability of course well we could not utilise the free parking on any day we were there. There were only 4 spots from memory along the pier near the hotel and the other comp parking is 5 mins walk away in council area and you need to leave a pass on your windscreen (these spots are limited). I can say however that the bedding was very comfortable which was a blessing after a very busy day out and lots of walking. For my first trip to Hobart I will never stay here again nor recommend it to friends, family or work colleagues.
I did however have a fabulous time in Hobart and will review places in other posts.
Date of stay: December 2023
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$320
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$320
  • Agoda.com
    AU$256
  • Expedia.com
    AU$320
0.3 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$219
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$198
  • Vio.com
0.3 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$239
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$243
  • Agoda.com
    AU$193
  • Hotels.com
    AU$233
0.3 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Booking.com
AU$220
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$216
  • Agoda.com
    AU$188
  • Hotels.com
    AU$190
0.4 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$203
  • Movenpick
    AU$203
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$192
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
HIGH RES Room bedroom bath and tulips
Booking.com
AU$257
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$251
  • Agoda.com
    AU$219
  • Hotels.com
    AU$227
0.4 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$179
  • Agoda.com
    AU$156
  • Hotels.com
    AU$179
0.5 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$159
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$159
  • Agoda.com
    AU$127
  • Hotels.com
    AU$159
2.1 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$149
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$149
  • Hotels.com
    AU$149
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$149
0.6 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
AU$145
  • ibis Styles
    AU$145
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$145
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Hobart
Reviews (1,382)
Filter reviews
1,382 results
Traveller rating
550
516
183
90
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
550
516
183
90
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loft style great location washing machine and dryer balcony room salamanca markets restaurants and bars second bedroom air conditioner battery point easy walk city centre upstairs noise apartment parking accommodation kitchenette
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,382 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2023

Great location, awesome staff. Very spacious rooms, right on the water with spectacular views across the harbour and piers. Easy walk to Salamanca and all the restaurants and pubs on the harbour. Rooms have all the modern amenities.

Room tip: Parking is easy. If not available at the Apartments there is complimentary parking nearby.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 96JAMNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanna Sweeney, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2024

Dear 96Jamnc,
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience at Somerset on the Pier Hobart!

It is very encouraging for us to know that you had several delightful moments during your stay and most importantly, that you felt home-away-from-home!

We are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards and receiving such positive feedback from our guests motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

We thank you again for your valued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back at any one of our serviced residences.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2023 via mobile

For location and views this is an amazing place, right on the waterfront and central to everything. Salamanca markets next door, as is the MONA ferry.
Staff were super professional and warm, particularly the young English lady who checked us in and happily informed us the room was ready early.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanna Sweeney, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2023

Dear Philip W,

Thank you for your kind review!

It brings us great joy to learn that you had a wonderful stay experience with us, and we appreciate the time you took to compliment our colleagues for their dedicated services.

All of us here look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Somerset on the Pier Hobart!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2023

The location and views are the best! Very central to everything and the views are beautiful. Staff are super friendly and helpful; nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are beautiful and super clean. Absolutely recommend a stay here.

Room tip: There are several communal spaces to enjoy.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pyeodyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanna Sweeney, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2023

Dear Pyeodyssey,
Thank you for sharing your positive stay experience with us!


We are delighted to read that you were well looked after by our team at Somerset on the Pier Hobart! Your kind words will be shared with our team as receiving such feedback from residents like yourself inspire us to continually improve our service delivery.


We thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to having you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2023

We have stayed at Somerset on the Pier at least 3 times previously and have always throughly enjoyed our stay. This trip to Tasmania we were travelling with 3 other family members, On our high recommendation we booked 3 rooms. Unfortunately we were all disappointed with the accomodation. Rooms are very tired and in need of update, understand improvements are to commence next year. However the room rates do not match the current quality of the rooms. Feel could have got better value in other accomodation.

We did have an issue with our room, spoke front of house staff, we were advised a manager would contact re this…still waiting.

Location is perfect.

Sadly our stay was nothing like previous stays.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank slnkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanna Sweeney, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2023

Dear Slnkelly

I am sorry to hear about your disappointment with your recent stay with us. We are indeed pleased to share that Somerset on the Pier Hobart is to undergo a full refurbishment to both apartments and public areas in 2024. During the renovations, we will be addressing most of the issues you shared with us. 

Once again, we are very sorry for the inconveniences caused and that I was not made aware to contact you. I hope that you would consider staying with us again in the future, once the refurbishment of this residence is complete, giving us another opportunity to be of service to you.

Should you wish to discuss further please do reach out and I will be happy to make contact.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2023

We returned from Hobart today, after a 6 nights stay at Somerset on The Pier. Prompt check-in by Dennis, given parking voucher to put on dash and if you cant park on the wharf itself, only 3 mins walk to alternative parking. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a Premier 1 bedroom apartment facing Henry Jones IXL and with a balcony, perfect to enjoy the sun and the view of the docks. The Family Premier rooms are slightly larger, extra room with twins beds, also with balcony and additional bathroom upstairs. The images on this page and the official website are just as our apartment was, so I haven't added mine. Position cannot be beat IMO, with tons of restaurants, bars and historic hotels within 2-10 minutes walk. I spent so much time researching before booking, next time we will just book the same room type at the Somerset.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KimboCronulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanna Sweeney, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2023

Dear KimboCronulla

Thank you for your kind review!

It brings us great joy to learn that you had a wonderful stay experience with us, and we appreciate the time you took to compliment our colleagues for their dedicated services.

All of us here look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Somerset on the Pier Hobart!

Warm Regards
Shanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews