We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$360
Fully refundable before Fri, 1 Mar
Expedia.com
AU$360
Fully refundable before Sat, 2 Mar
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
AU$360
Fully refundable before Sat, 2 Mar
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,378)
Filter reviews
1,378 results
Traveller rating
549
515
182
89
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
549
515
182
89
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loft style great location washing machine and dryer balcony room salamanca markets restaurants and bars second bedroom air conditioner battery point easy walk city centre upstairs noise apartment parking accommodation kitchenette
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,378 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2023

We are glad to share our positive stay experience with you. The Somerset staff was very friendly and welcoming, and they made us feel right at home. Our apartment was clean and spacious with all the necessary amenities such as comfortable beds, clean towels, and toiletries.

The hotel provided excellent customer service, and they were always ready to assist us with anything we needed. The hotel's location was also perfect, as it was close to all the major attractions we wanted to visit.

Overall, we had a fantastic stay at the Somerset, and we highly recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable, enjoyable, and extended stay - We're here for 6 nights and each night was memorable. Thank you for making our stay a memorable one!

Room tip: Parking can be limited in the hotel and nearby council during peak season. To avoid any issues, we suggest visiting during the off-season.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hemanta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanna Sweeney, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2023

Dear 178hemantas

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience at Somerset on the Pier Hobart!

It is very encouraging for us to know that you had several delightful moments during your stay and most importantly, that you felt home-away-from-home!

We are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards and receiving such positive feedback from our residents motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

We thank you again for your valued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back at any one of our serviced residences.

Kind Regards
Shanna Sweeney
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2023

Perfect location, we love the room with great harbour view. Loft style bedroom, the bathroom downstairs, inconvenient. Staffs very friendly & helpful. The weather was stormy & windy but inside was quite. Will definitely come back.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank msgt97
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanna Sweeney, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2023

Dear msgt97

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience at Somerset on the Pier Hobart!


It is very encouraging for us to know that you had several delightful moments during your stay and, most importantly, that you felt at home-away-from-home!


We are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our residents motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

Warm Regards
Shanna Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2023

Great location, right on the waterfront. So, great views and good base for Dark Mofo. But, a bit dated, needs a refresh. Overpriced for what you get. Better options close by. So, other than location and view, not worth it.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank itsBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanna Sweeney, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2023

Dear itsBG,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience with us at Somerset on the Pier Hobart.

I would like to apologise for the disappointing stay you had with us.  We always do our best to meet the expectations of all our guests and deliver a good stay experience.  Unfortunately, in this instance, we acknowledge that we have failed to meet your expectations.  We would like to share that Somerset on the Pier Hobart will be undergoing a renovation program at the beginning of next year.

We look forward to welcoming you again and with hope exceeding your expectations.
Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2023

Booked the sommerset for a quick weekend getaway never been there before was given easy directions to get there once we arrived were greeted by a very efficient receptionist georgie our check in seemless exept card only the apartment was not 5 start but the veiw and service were very neat and clean room balcony with water views loft style accommodation but fully self contained nothing was a bother for georgie to help us get around I would recommend this hotel highly just one warning avoid outside room service but otherwise perfect

Room tip: Don’t get outside room service and be aware card only
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gjbrennan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanna Sweeney, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2023

Dear gjbrennan58,

Thank you for sharing your positive stay experience with us!


We are delighted to read that you were well looked after by our team at Somerset on the Pier Hobart! Your kind words will be shared with our team as receiving such feedback from residents like yourself inspire us to continually improve our service delivery.

We would like to invite you to join our new loyalty programme, by becoming an Ascott Star Rewards member you will enjoy exclusive access to yearlong discounts, promotional offers as well as receive 3,000 bonus points upon sign-up!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2023

Excellent location, can walk to restaurants and bars. Rooms have great views although need a bit of an update , a bit old and tired - website pics look amazing. Beware of the heater, make sure you have noise cancelling head phones as they are ridiculously LOUD. Maybe they should invest in some air conditioning? Thank goodness it wasn’t too cold for us.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DebHavet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanna Sweeney, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2023

Dear DebHavet,

I am sorry to hear about your disappointment with your recent stay with us. We are pleased to share that Somerset on the Pier Hobart is to undergo a full refurbishment to both apartments and public areas

We would like to invite you to join our new loyalty programme, by becoming an Ascott Star Rewards member you will enjoy exclusive access to yearlong discounts, promotional offers as well as receive 3,000 bonus points upon sign-up! . During the renovations, we will be addressing most of the issues you shared with us. 

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews