We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$320
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Expedia.com
AU$320
Fully refundable before Sat, 4 May
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
AU$320
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
DebHavet
Sydney, Australia
Great but rooms needs updating
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Apr 2023
Excellent location, can walk to restaurants and bars. Rooms have great views although need a bit of an update , a bit old and tired - website pics look amazing. Beware of the heater, make sure you have noise cancelling head phones as they are ridiculously LOUD. Maybe they should invest in some air conditioning? Thank goodness it wasn’t too cold for us.
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$470
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$470
  • Agoda.com
    AU$376
  • Expedia.com
    AU$470
0.3 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$219
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$219
  • Agoda.com
    AU$198
  • Expedia.com
    AU$219
0.3 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$239
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$260
  • Agoda.com
    AU$193
  • Priceline
    AU$260
0.3 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Booking.com
AU$220
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$245
  • Agoda.com
    AU$188
  • Expedia.com
    AU$216
0.4 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$203
  • Movenpick
    AU$203
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$189
  • Priceline
    AU$203
0.4 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
HIGH RES Room bedroom bath and tulips
Booking.com
AU$257
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$251
  • Agoda.com
    AU$218
  • Priceline
    AU$279
0.4 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$179
  • Agoda.com
    AU$158
  • Expedia.com
    AU$179
0.5 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$159
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$159
  • Agoda.com
    AU$127
  • Priceline
    AU$159
2.1 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$149
  • Expedia.com
    AU$149
  • Hotels.com
    AU$149
0.6 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
AU$145
  • ibis Styles
    AU$145
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$141
  • Priceline
    AU$145
0.7 km from Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Hobart
Reviews (1,382)
Filter reviews
1,382 results
Traveller rating
550
516
183
90
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
550
516
183
90
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loft style great location washing machine and dryer balcony room salamanca markets restaurants and bars second bedroom air conditioner battery point easy walk city centre upstairs noise apartment parking accommodation kitchenette
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,382 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2023 via mobile

Great location, right on the Pier and marina.
We stayed in a family room- across 2 levels. Master bedroom , with Tv and ceiling fan, second bedroom also upstairs though open mezzanine layout with 2 single beds. 2 way bathroom with shower.
Downstairs- kitchenette with fridge, kettle, microwave and dishwasher, a lounge room with TV on wall, bathroom with shower over bath as well as washing machine and dryer. Small round dining table , couch and coffee table. Couch though not very comfortable.Small minibar but very very limited and nothing healthy.
Heating and cooling unit.
The main negative is that we could hear noise etc from adjoining units.
Parking is available along marina and requires a permit- open and on the street , not protected or secure.

Views sideways across the water however only a window view so unable to see water when sitting.
Location is great and so many shops, cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance , as us Salamanca.
A nice place to stay though more expensive than local hotels .

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mitcham20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanna Sweeney, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2023

Dear Mitcham20,

I would like to apologise for the disappointing stay you had with us.  We always do our best to meet the expectations of all our guests and deliver a good stay experience.  Unfortunately, in this instance, we acknowledge that we have failed to meet your expectations.  We would like to share that Somerset on the Pier Hobart will be undergoing a renovation program at the beginning of next year.


Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2023

Stayed here 3-4 times before. This time we stayed on opposite side of building not so good. We preferred the rooms facing the old jam factory. Very clean, staff helpful.

The noise coming from a venue next door or opposite pier was horrendous. Went from about 4pm until about 10.45.

Sadly my husband and brother in law had a stomach bug so we stayed in and heard every note of loud retro music.

Check before you book on a Saturday night that there are no big events happening.

We also found that it wasn’t as quiet as it used to be generally. Heard room next door quite clearly.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank angela g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanna Sweeney, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2023

Dear angelagF4872XW,

We are so sorry that your companions fell ill during our visit, we do hope you all went on to enjoy the rest of your travels.

We note the above and assure you we are working closely with local bodies and neighboring venues to try and control the outside noise issues.

We would like to invite you to become and Ascott Star Rewards member; membership is free and simple to join and guarantees you access to the lowest rates, exclusive discounts and perks all year round. Next time you stay with us, be sure to join our new loyalty program ‘Ascott Star Rewards’ – it is free and simple to join – and the best part you automatically earn 3,000 bonus points straight away on sign up!

Take care and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2023

Great location with easy access to dining and tourist locations. FYI - if mobility is an issue then the bath over the shower and the stairs up to the bedroom may need a rethink. Stayed a week so the washing machine and dryer were a bonus. Reception staff were friendly and very accommodating.

Room tip: We were in a room at the. Wry end so it got a bit noisy with guests congregating on the steps watching the cruise ships come and go.
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank leannegH4019LG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanna Sweeney, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2023

Dear leannegH4019LG

Greetings from Hobart!

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, they truly are appreciated and allow us to acknowledge our staff as well for the wonderful service they provide.

Should you require a mobility room please do let us know when booking and we can certainly accommodate this with a downstairs bathroom, bed and walk in shower.

We would like to invite you to join our new loyalty programme, by becoming an Ascott Star Rewards member you will enjoy exclusive access to yearlong discounts, promotional offers as well as receive 3,000 bonus points upon sign-up!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2023

Superb location and very clean. Unusual layout with great views. Bed comfortable and staff were very friendly. Whilst location is great for activities etc, it can get a bit noisy at night. Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby and easy access to Salamanca Markets etc. Would stay here again

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 659karynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanna Sweeney, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2023

Dear 659karynm

It is our privilege to be part of your memory making and enjoyment during your Hobart travels, we are delighted you had a great visit.

We would like to invite you to join our new loyalty programme, by becoming an Ascott Star Rewards member you will enjoy exclusive access to yearlong discounts, promotional offers as well as receive 3,000 bonus points upon sign-up!

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2023

We booked this hotel because we wanted to watch the yachts arrive from the Sydney To Hobart yacht race. After a big day of travelling from QLD, and a bit of exploring the city, we had an early night and set the alarm for 12am. We were able to stroll out of the hotel, down the dock and watch Comanchee cross the finishing line. The next day the yachts were moored right out the front door! Unfortunately, because we visited in peak time we didn't get a balcony but the room was still very comfortable and the location is excellent. I will say that the air conditioner needs attention and maybe an overhaul but that was my only complaint. There are lots of pubs and cafes within walking distance and also very close to shops and amenities. We would certainly recommend staying here and will choose the Somerset on the Pier next time we are in Hobart.

Date of stay: December 2022
Thank Jacobcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanna Sweeney, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2023

Dear Jacobcrew

We are thrilled that not only were you able to enjoy Hobart at its peak time but also that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We would like to invite you to join our new loyalty programme, by becoming an Ascott Star Rewards member you will enjoy exclusive access to yearlong discounts, promotional offers as well as receive 3,000 bonus points upon sign-up!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews