We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large impersonal hotel with million dollar views.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2009

This was my second stay this year at the Grand Chancellor, and the reason was purely its location across from the vibrant Docks area. I think it would be possible to stay in this hotel and only speak to the staff at check in and check out. It is impersonal, but then again it is a big chain hotel with lots of guests. I booked a Harbourview room as the always changing moods of the Derwent and the activities on the docks make fascinating viewing. Located close to all the restaurants, boat trips, boutique shops and nearby Salamanca market this hotel is a great base for a holiday in Hobart. What is disappointing is the parking under the hotel, during the working week the parking is open to the public and finding a free parking spot can be challenging, and abit annoying when you are paying $15 a day on top of the room rate to park there.The central Hobart shopping area is a easy 10 minute walk from the hotel. I would stay at the Grand Chancellor again if I came to Hobart but it wouldn't be for the ambience of the hotel but rather the fact they have one of the finest views I have ever looked upon in my travels around the world. Worth staying for a night just to see it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussiesX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,567 - 4,571 of 4,680 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2009

location is great but service, quality of beds, and outragious charges for intranet makes it very poor value

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TasmaniaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

My wife and I stayed in htis hotel during a 3 night trip to Hobart. The hotel for me was in hte best location for checking out all Hobart has to offer in terms of sights, culture, food and drink. Be sure to get a hoarbour view room - it's beautiful and you won't be disappointed. The hotel restaurant was good, but there is so many great restaurants in and around the harbour down to battery point it would be a shame not to venture out and enjoy the wonderful and varied cuisine on offer - seafood lovers will be spoilt for choice. The hotels gym was nothing special but satisfactory. Other than that, the staff were friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeTrotter761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Myself, my wife and our teenage daughter booked to stay at this hotel in September 2009 at a room rate of $300 per night. On arrival, the foyer suggested the hotel was 5 star. However, our room (despite the glourious view) was 3 star. Apart from new carpets, decor was outdated (1970s) and the beds drooped in the middle. The only time I had seen a hotel with beds like these was when I onced stayed in a $50 a night country hotel (the only accomodation available). After raising our concerns we were shown to a "refurbished" room that was no different to the one we were booked to stay in (beds also drooped in the middle). While most staff were helpful and acknowledged our concerns (it appears they are quite used to this sort of complaint) the duty manager was impolite and unconcerned. We cancelled our booking and despite loosing one nights room rate ($300) stayed at a much better hotel just around the corner (whose staff said they get quite a few guests with a similar story).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank millmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

The hotel is directly across the street from the docks, where small boats are moored. Not all the rooms have a harbor view (I had a room with more of a mountain view) but there is a lounge on each floor with armchairs and a view of the docks. There are several restaurants right at the docks. My room was large and the furnishings were beautiful, with blond wood that made it look lighter.

The hotel gym is the best I have ever seen when it comes to weights, but cardio machines need some upgrading.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Out_of_valley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.3 km away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,325 reviews
0.3 km away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 km away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 km away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Address: 1 Davey St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hobart
#2 Business Hotel in Hobart
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $161 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to staying in Hobart the only place to be is on the waterfront at Hotel Grand Chancellor Hobart, featuring some of the best views in the city. Overlooking the River Derwent and Constitution Dock, this Tasmanian hotel is just minutes away from popular attractions like Salamanca Place, Battery Point and the Central Business District, but intimate enough to ensure a perfectly relaxing experience. Enjoy the comfort, space and facilities of one of Hobart’s largest hotels. Work out in our state-of-the-art fitness centre or enjoy a rejuvenating swim in the heated indoor pool. Meet for drinks in The Atrium Lounge or reserve a table at the popular Restaurant Tasman, where magnificent harbour views meet contemporary cuisine. For meetings and special events, the hotel offers a range of meeting rooms from intimate boardrooms and meeting spaces right up to major convention facilities. Uncover the best of Hobart at Hotel Grand Chancellor, which brings the perfect measure of style and substance to accommodation on the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Grand Chancellor
Grand Chancellor Hobart
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing