We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Large impersonal hotel with million dollar views.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Large impersonal hotel with million dollar views.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

This was my second stay this year at the Grand Chancellor, and the reason was purely its location across from the vibrant Docks area. I think it would be possible to stay in this hotel and only speak to the staff at check in and check out. It is impersonal, but then again it is a big chain hotel with lots of guests. I booked a Harbourview room as the always changing moods of the Derwent and the activities on the docks make fascinating viewing. Located close to all the restaurants, boat trips, boutique shops and nearby Salamanca market this hotel is a great base for a holiday in Hobart. What is disappointing is the parking under the hotel, during the working week the parking is open to the public and finding a free parking spot can be challenging, and abit annoying when you are paying $15 a day on top of the room rate to park there.The central Hobart shopping area is a easy 10 minute walk from the hotel. I would stay at the Grand Chancellor again if I came to Hobart but it wouldn't be for the ambience of the hotel but rather the fact they have one of the finest views I have ever looked upon in my travels around the world. Worth staying for a night just to see it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussiesX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,674
    1,179
    241
    60
    31
See reviews for
544
1,172
151
932
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

location is great but service, quality of beds, and outragious charges for intranet makes it very poor value

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TasmaniaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2009

My wife and I stayed in htis hotel during a 3 night trip to Hobart. The hotel for me was in hte best location for checking out all Hobart has to offer in terms of sights, culture, food and drink. Be sure to get a hoarbour view room - it's beautiful and you won't be disappointed. The hotel restaurant was good, but there is so many great restaurants in and around the harbour down to battery point it would be a shame not to venture out and enjoy the wonderful and varied cuisine on offer - seafood lovers will be spoilt for choice. The hotels gym was nothing special but satisfactory. Other than that, the staff were friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotter761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

Myself, my wife and our teenage daughter booked to stay at this hotel in September 2009 at a room rate of $300 per night. On arrival, the foyer suggested the hotel was 5 star. However, our room (despite the glourious view) was 3 star. Apart from new carpets, decor was outdated (1970s) and the beds drooped in the middle. The only time I had seen a hotel with beds like these was when I onced stayed in a $50 a night country hotel (the only accomodation available). After raising our concerns we were shown to a "refurbished" room that was no different to the one we were booked to stay in (beds also drooped in the middle). While most staff were helpful and acknowledged our concerns (it appears they are quite used to this sort of complaint) the duty manager was impolite and unconcerned. We cancelled our booking and despite loosing one nights room rate ($300) stayed at a much better hotel just around the corner (whose staff said they get quite a few guests with a similar story).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank millmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canoga Park CA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

The hotel is directly across the street from the docks, where small boats are moored. Not all the rooms have a harbor view (I had a room with more of a mountain view) but there is a lounge on each floor with armchairs and a view of the docks. There are several restaurants right at the docks. My room was large and the furnishings were beautiful, with blond wood that made it look lighter.

The hotel gym is the best I have ever seen when it comes to weights, but cardio machines need some upgrading.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Out_of_valley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.6 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 km away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 45 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.7 km away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#1 of 45 in Hobart
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.4 km away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Property: Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Address: 1 Davey St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hobart
#3 Family Hotel in Hobart
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price range (per night): $189 - $357
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the waterfront in central Hobart, Hotel Grand Chancellor provides you with the ultimate in accommodation with majestic views over the Derwent River, Mt Wellington and the city.Just a stone's throw from the city as well as all of Hobart's many tourist attractions, Hotel Grand Chancellor is the ideal base for your Tasmanian holiday or business trip.All rooms are 32 Sq m in floor space and furnished with a king or two double beds and completed with a MODERN contemporary décor to suit all traveller alike. Ensuite marble bathrooms are spacious and include a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Grand Chancellor
Grand Chancellor Hobart
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing