We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a wander ”

Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 25.84*
and up
Hobart Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour
Ranked #14 of 171 things to do in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Art that inspires you. Cultures that connect you. Stories that move you. The Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery is a Tasmanian Government organisation.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We made a quick pit stop before hearing back to Melbourne and it was well worth it.

Museum entry is free and there’s plenty to explore. Give yourself an hour or so to wander around and learn something new.

It won’t blow you away, but it will kill some time and you’ll enjoy it!

1  Thank Janelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of TMAG. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit, and we look hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bond store"
in 37 reviews
"natural history"
in 33 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 22 reviews
"special exhibition"
in 12 reviews
"stuffed animals"
in 11 reviews
"free entry"
in 41 reviews
"antarctic display"
in 19 reviews
"great displays"
in 12 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 62 reviews
"few hours"
in 53 reviews
"rainy day"
in 31 reviews
"native animals"
in 12 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 41 reviews
"tiger"
in 37 reviews
"tasmania"
in 320 reviews
"donation"
in 50 reviews
"glover"
in 13 reviews
Filter

57 - 61 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Very good esp. for a wet, or cold day, right in the heart of Hobart, close to the waterfront.
Good signs, nice place and people, clear visit rules.

Thank Pepperjackm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of TMAG. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit, and we hope your stay in Tasmania was a happy one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Despite all the deserved hype over MONA, don’t miss visiting TMAG if you want to learn everything about the history and distinctiveness of Tasmania. We loved our more than four hours spent learning about the history, art and aboriginal culture of Tasmania. It is a completely different experience than MONA but really informative and fascinating about intriguing Tasmania and its evolution. A must visit for anyone visiting Tassie.

Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of TMAG. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever you're next in Hobart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Loved our visit here, among the best museums we've been to anywhere in the world. The story and display of Aboriginal culture and artefacts was respectful and informative, and displays about the Black Wars and eradication of the Tasmanian Tiger were honest in their acknowledgement of mistakes made in the past. We could easily have spent many more hours here.

Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of TMAG. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever you're next in Hobart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018

The Tassie Devil exhibit is great. It's a lovely way to spend an hour or two learning about Hobart and Tasmania and it's free!

Thank MelissaPeery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review TMAG. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us, in particular our temporary exhibition The Remarkable Tasmanian Devil. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Tasmania!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing