We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10/10 (with earplugs)”
Review of Fountainside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fountainside Hotel
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This has got to be the best value, if not the best overall, hotel in Hobart.

The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated, and well equipped. I had a "family" room, which comprised a Queen-sized bed and two singles, and there was still enough room on the floor to hold an old-fashioned barn dance.

The bathroom had a large shower area, and plenty of floor space around the basin and toilet. One small criticism is that the position of the shower head allows some spray outside the shower, but I don't think this was significant, and it could be easily fixed with a hinged door or shower curtain if necessary.

The room had a small corner dinette, and basic kitchen facilities, but they didn't really get used by me. You see, the hotel has a great little restaurant with excellent pricing, and I felt more comfortable eating there than in my room. Soup, salad buffet and main course was around $22; and full breakfasts were around $10. My employer will be happy, my meal expenses were a fraction of what I normally pay in other hotels.

Value is everywhere you look in this hotel. Another great feature is their mini-bar. Rather than a source of rip-off revenue, their mini-bar is priced the same as a typical convenience store. Soft drink $1.50, chocolate $2.00 (I think) and alcohol at very low prices. There was also a good supply of complimentary tea and coffee, from reasonable brands.

The only thing you can fault with Fountainside is road noise. It is right next to a major traffic intersection in Hobart. Since I knew this when I booked I took my own earplugs, I noticed that they are also available from the reception desk. If you're a light sleeper, you'll need them. My room (47) was at the end of the building, and not immediately adjacent to the road, it was much quieter than the room I had during my previous stay. Maybe double-glazing would be a good idea for this hotel. That, or a roof-mounted laser to zap any passing truck or loud car.

Even with this criticism, I don't think you can beat the value of this hotel. I'll definitely be coming back here on future visits to Hobart.

Room Tip: Room 47 is in a good corner location, a little distance from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

870 - 874 of 1,233 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

Believe the other reviewers, it is good. They make great use of windows with some rooms having lovely corner windows with a great view of the city. Hallways are filled with light as massive windows give large panoramic views of the city center as you make your way to and fro the room. A cruise ship was in town when we stayed and could see the large cinema onboard the top deck of the ship playing a movie, was a good site to see on the way to the room.

Large tv in room and very comfortable bed etc. Only criticism is nil lamps and the bed lights are two downlights which the switches are hard to find (on side of bedside tables). Friendly service downstairs. Good parking too and not overpriced. Far far greater than the chain hotels like Mercure.

Would stay again.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steelindustries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Booked myself, elderly Mum and 2 sisters into this hotel for a quick nights stay. Was a bit nervous I may have got us a seedy hotel. Could not be further from the truth. Absolutely brillant. The view from corner window was fabulous. Parking was a breeze (straight outside the hotel for us). 2 course dinner for under $20 and it was great! Comfortable beds, clean, modern, tasteful decor. We had the $11 breakfast which was brilliant and cooked to perfection. I can honestly say this place is value for $$$. Would absolutely stay again. Service was great as well. Nothing was a bother.

Room Tip: We were in a corner room where there was no noise problem and a fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bettydog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Spent first 2 weeks of 2012 there. Great price, great room, great service and great location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We recently stayed here to attend a family wedding. The Hotel is well located with easy access by car to the Airport and the highway to the north as well as being in walking distance of the City Centre, waterfront and Salamanca.. There was never a problem getting a parking spot in the car park.

The room was well appointed, nicely furnished with a good size bathroom. There is some traffic noise but it did not bother us during the night. We did have a problem with drunk noisy neighbours who returned to their room at 2.45am but a call to reception resulted in the noise quickly ceasing. We were very grateful for the promptness our noise complaint was dealt with. Like all Hotel rooms better soundproofing would be beneficial Check the alarm clock in the room, ours went off at 6.30am and the off switch was difficult to locate..

The buffet breakfast was great value. Would not hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrise98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.7 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.0 km away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 47 in Hobart
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#12 of 47 in Hobart
1,264 reviews
0.7 km away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
689 reviews
0.5 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountainside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountainside Hotel

Address: 40 Brooker Ave, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hobart
#3 Business Hotel in Hobart
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#4 Best Value Hotel in Hobart
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $135 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountainside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal address in Hobart for both business and leisure. Walk to the CBD, Historic Waterfront and Salamanca and it's an easy drive to all main attractions in Southern Tasmania. Quiet 4 star rooms with luxurious beds, and air-conditioning for a great nights sleep. Broadband internet, Austar, offstreet parking, breakfast and dinner prices available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fountainside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountainside Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing