We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat historical hotel in Hobart”
Review of Macquarie Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Macquarie Manor
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend in Hobart. Great location, and walking distance from Salamanca Place. Neat historical building with a lot of character. The room we stayed in was outdated but very spacious. Interesting sitting and dining rooms on the main level and onsite parking available for $15 a day. A simple breakfast and coffee were included.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Katelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

The exterior of the building is lovely and the lounge areas appear quite stylish, but cold. Both aesthetically and temperature! We would have loved to linger for a pre dinner drink but the staff did not know how to turn on the gas fires, a shame. Staff were friendly but did not create a great impression. Rooms were comfortable but tired... windows very scrappy and several holes in the plaster and a broken toilet roll holder. The bed was very comfortable though and we slept very well in the huge room. The breaky was uninspiring , weak warm coffee and stale croissants didn't really do it for us. It's sad as this place could be totally awesome but just wasn't. Hope it improves as the building deserves it and so does Hobart!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kerryhouston123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

We really enjoyed our 3 day stay at this small, quirky and charming hotel.Our room was huge and the largely female staff was delightful and very helpful.It was particularly impressive considering that the hotel had changed ownership the week before our stay, yet it ran smoothly.The day that we left,one of the staff even helped us carry our bags across the street to meet the airport bus!
The location is great as well,a very short walk to the harbor.

Room Tip: There was construction going on across the street during our stay, rooms facing Macquarie Street wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cataratas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

We loved this 19th Century property with it's excellent decor, and the 'dumbwaiter' lift which took our luggage to the second floor! The hotel is so centrally located and is within easy walking distance to the shops, restaurant precinct, markets and the harbour. The rooms were spacious and spotless, the bed comfy and it was extremely quiet considering we were on a main street. The free WiFi was fantastic. But the huge winner is the staff - friendly, professional and courteous. Veronica and Sarah were so considerate and helpful - nothing was too much trouble and we felt welcomed like family!
Also, the free breakfast was a bonus and a great start to the day. We loved our stay here and will definitely recommend to all our friends. Can't wait to return for a longer visit!

Room Tip: We chose a king/queen suite which was absolutely huge. Well worth looking at the website for the siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

Great location and clean and comfortable for a short stay.

Main disappointment is that there were no windows in our room- except a small one in the bathroom. The windows in the main bedroom looked out onto the hallway so had to keep the curtains drawn for privacy as other guests on that floor walked past quite often! Only found this out when we got there.

It was a queen heritage twin room so can't say whether other room types had the same problem.

But the pros were great location- walking distance to the harbour! And the room was spacious, clean & comfortable.

Make sure you book parking before hand as there are very limited spaces.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Only_fair_and_honest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.4 km away
Clydesdale Manor
Clydesdale Manor
#26 of 47 in Hobart
279 reviews
0.3 km away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
726 reviews
0.8 km away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 47 in Hobart
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 km away
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
0.7 km away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macquarie Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macquarie Manor

Address: 172 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range: $148 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macquarie Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Hotel is situated in the middle of Hobart City. Close walking distance to major tourist city attractions including Salamanca Place. Limited Parking is available at $15.00 per day on a first in, first served basis. The guest lounge with its beautiful open fireplace and the breakfast restaurant is very contemporary in design. Rooms are large, air conditioned with modern bathrooms. Check in is between the hours of 2pm and 5pm. A convenient Late check in option, at no additional cost, is also available. Check out is 10am Free Luggage storage is available for those guest enjoying the last day in Hobart. A continental breakfast is free to all guests inclusive of Espresso Coffee freshly prepared by our team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Macquarie Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Macquarie Manor Hotel Hobart
Quality Macquarie Manor Hobart
Quality Inn Hobart
Macquarie Manor Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing